We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it thinks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le monde est petit

Le monde est petit
Rue des Bataves 65, Brussels 1040, Belgium
+32 2 732 44 34
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #187 of 2,570 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $28 - $112
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not as good as it thinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Eaten here several times over the past year, usually on business lunches. The quality of the food is reasonable but the portions small and far from cheap. The staff are a mixed bag, some charming, others downright rude.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    47
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant outside the tourist zone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

One of the better restaurants in Brussels that has normal prices and where you can go for any ocasion. From a romantic dinner with your sweethart to a mor formal lunch with a business partner.
Very casual and stressless service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“A neighborhood gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Our evening at Le Monde Est Petit was really terrific. Words that jump to mind are intimate, cozy, classy, atmospheric. It's the kind of place where a small group of friends can pass an evening of laughs and at the next table a couple can have a nice, romantic evening out. I like the choice of lighting, somewhat dim but without creating a somber mood. The service is excellent and upbeat, and all the dishes we had were very good. It has a local character to it (fits right in with its neighborhood), yet is well worth a drive across town to experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent quality french cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I live in Brussels and dine out regularly.

Le Monde est Petit is a very nice French restaurant near Mongomery Circle easily accessable by metro or tram. The restaurant has a very modern but cozy atmosphere. Service is very good and professional. The restaurant has a very extensive wine list. All dishes are prepared with the freshest of ingredients and can be quite innovative. People go to this restaurant to have a fine meal. As with most restaurants in Brussels, reservations are recommended.

There is a standard menu and a special menu which they will bring to your table on a chalkboard. There are usually 3-4 appetizers, entrees, and deserts on the specials menu, which change according to the seasons. The menu is in French, but they usually have a waiter or two who speak English and can explain all the dishes. The menu choices are somewhat limited, but this is offset by the top quality of the dishes. I've never had a problem finding something wonderful, but a finicky diner might. The cuisine is mainly modern French with fine meat, fish, and vegetarian dishes.

All this quality does come at a price. Appetizers cost 12-15 euros, entrees cost 18-25 euros, and deserts 8-10 euros. So, a typical dinner for 2 with wine could easily cost 125 euros. However, because of the fresh ingredients, the innovative and seasonal menu, the great atmosphere, and professional service, it's still good value for the money.

So if you have a special occasion to celebrate, or want a nice romatic dinner, or just want to treat yourself to something special, then Le Monde est Petit is a nice choice.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cute, cosy restaurant with quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I have been to Le Monde est Petit on several occasions during our short tenure in Brussels. Located conveniently between Merode and Montgomery (and therefore not so touristy!), this restaurant is small, quaint, and cosy. A fairly limited menu, but always a nice variety. We've not ever had any problems finding something to eat. I would consider the service to be quite good, but not great (which is still better than most of Brussels). Not a cheap meal, but I expect a very lovely experience based on our few visits. Also included in the RestoPass book for the locals.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le monde est petit also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Le monde est petit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le monde est petit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.