We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid this place! terrible service!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Il Cavallino

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Il Cavallino
rue Franklin, 3-5, Brussels 1000, Belgium
+32 2 736 38 00
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,192 of 2,506 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“avoid this place! terrible service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I went to this place for few times but every time coming out more and more disappointed. So i am done with this place. Pizzas are relativelly ok. Depends on how crowdy it is. But the service is really terrible. In particular there is a black hair waitress who is awful.
There are many other good reastaurants near Schuman, so if you can avoid this one, I would recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    4
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awful service and no atmosphere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The pizza is not so bad but the service is terrible, pizza supposedly with pecorino cheese, did not have it and we were not told they did not have this ingredient, but replaved it with mozzarella di bufala, which was not requested. The owner was not in the least apologetic and said if we wanted 2 euros back...I suppose that says it all.
The decor is very eighties and looks like some mafia boss could come in any time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good pizza in a nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Very good, authentic pizza in a very pleasant setting. Good location right next to the European Commission. Service was a bit slow at times.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good pizza, pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012 via mobile

We ate here on a Saturday night in February and it was quite quiet but the food was really tasty. We had a toddler with us and not only did they make something off-menu for him, the brought it before our meals - a parents delight! Pizza was very light, freshly cooked in a wood oven and the pasta was very flavoursome. All in all a very enjoyable meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good restaurant next to the EU offices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Italian restaurant in the Schuman EU area. Good food and wines, a bit pricey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cavallino also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Auderghem, Brussels
 

Been to Il Cavallino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Cavallino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.