We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, quality food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Bocconi

Ristorante Bocconi
Rue De L'Amigo 1-3, Brussels B-1000, Belgium
+32 25474715
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 2,309 restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $53 - $79
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In Restaurant Bocconi you will find authentic Italian cuisine enhanced with high quality products issued from the savoir faire of the best Italians producers. It is like being in Italy inside Brussels.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service, quality food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

We came to celebrate some exam results and weren't disappointed by our choice of restaurant. Service was excellent and some of the food was also fantastic, would recommend the Octopus starter (really tasty) and the Panzanella and Buffalo Mozzarella was also delicious. Main courses not quite top notch: the veal milanese was a bit tasteless to be honest, the sea bass was good but not stellar and the lasagne needed more Bechemel sauce. Desserts were great though and the staff had picked up on the celebration and we got 'Congratulations' spelt out in chocolate sauce on the desserts plate. Excellent wine list and attentive service made the evening special. Can't give them a 5 rating, main courses could be better, but a very good experience nevertheless.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    115
    79
    34
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 NEW

Beautiful dining room in the Hotel Amigo near the Grand Place. Pricey but good. We had the panzanella salad with bufalo mozarella ... excellent. The tagliatelle bolognese was also very good. The veal scallopine with parma ham in white wine sauce ... was okay ... the veal was a bit tough and the dish too salty and bitter from the excessive greens piled on the dish. The tramisu was delightful and the service impeccable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great choice for both dinner - and breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Excellent restaurant whether you stay at the hotel or not.
Advise inside not out - ambience far better.
Staff pleasant and not too attentive.
Ample dinner menu choices - all consistently good - some excellent. Desserts were O.K. also but not sure why the tiramisu gets rave reviews.
There 'are' wines by the glass even if they are not listed on the wine menu. Just ask.
Be prepared - the prix-fixe cost looks acceptable but add a modest bottle of wine and all the taxes, convert to dollars and you're looking at around $100 a person average.
Yes - I would definitely eat here again next visit.

As we stayed at this hotel can also comment on the breakfasts in this restaurant - choice of a la carte or buffet - which had more than adequate, well replenished, fresh and varied options for all tastes. If you are staying at this hotel definitely book the room with breakfast included in the rate. If you are not staying for business you may wish to eat here after 8:30 when all the business guests have let for their work. Suddenly is very much more peaceful!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food in excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Restorante Bocconi is located in the Amigo Hotel, just off Grand Place. Food and Service both were very good, and the Italian wine list extensive. Highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant Mana... J, Gérant at Ristorante Bocconi, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Brendan,

Thank you to post your review on our page. Your comment is very important for us and we hope we will be able to welcome you again at BoCConi.
Warm regards.

Jean-Francois Delaunay
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Surprisingly mediocre.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The appearance of this restaurant is very nice. The hostess was aware of our reservation and gave us the choice of a table or booth. Dinner went downhill from there. Our waiter came to the table about 60 seconds after we sat down with his order pad in hand and asked if we were ready to order. We hadn't even looked at the menu let alone try to pick a wine so we asked him for a few minutes to decide. 2 minutes he was back and asked "Are you ready yet?". This restaurant is not a mom and pop pizzeria place but a very upscale restaurant. At least they think they are and they price the Italian wine accordingly. I admit I'm not good at picking out an Italian wine and I'm much more comfortable with Bordeaux and California so we opted for beer. I think this must have really upset the waiter but that matters nothing to me since he wasn't buying our dinner. A different waiter brought our beers and then it was a major struggle to get anyone to come take our order. Not that we are in a hurry to eat but it is easy to tell when the wait staff is not interested in waiting on you. We were not rude or abrupt but just polite in asking for a few minutes to decide on what we wanted to eat. 70 Euros is on the high side for dinner for two with two beers so service should have been more reflective of the prices charged. The following night we found the mom and pop Italian place that actually had better food and a more reasonable wine menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Bocconi also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Ristorante Bocconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Bocconi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.