We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pasta in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Pasticcio

Il Pasticcio
Rue Marie de Bourgogne 3, Brussels 1050, Belgium
2 512 62 52
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 2,576 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best pasta in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Everything I want in an Italian restaurant - passionate staff, lively atmosphere, ballsy red wines and simple cooking with good quality ingredients. As such I have been many times in recent years. I am not a fan of over complicated Italian cuisine and Il Pasticcio doesn't fall into that trap. The pasta is absolutely outstanding. How many times have I been to supposedly good Italian joints that do not have freshly made pasta? I recommend ordering from the specials, perhaps even the trio, because these are the dishes that get an extra effort from the chef.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    52
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meggen, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent place for excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We go here regularly for lunch - for me the place defines what superb quality food can obtain when prepared with quality ingredients. Nothing is all too complicated, but you can count on the fact that the components are picked with knowledge, providing you a true heavenly treatment for one's taste buds.
Antipasti misto and tri di pasta are a regular for me.
Good wines also, we always take one on recommendation and it has never failed.
Busy place though, it may take a few minutes of waiting - but guaranteed worthwile!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Top Contributor
705 reviews 705 reviews
522 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 187 cities Reviews in 187 cities
1,361 helpful votes 1,361 helpful votes
“A bit messy but good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

I went for lunch and saw at least three tables that passed in front of me because they knew the owner... still the food is good Italian and the staff, once they seated me, were friendly.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

busy but worth it. Can only comment on the pastas which all were perfect, penne with salmon, ravioli with butter and sage, pasta bolonese, wines by the glass or various size carafes. Fabulous bread. Friendly staff, helpful with selections...open daily for lunch..dinner only on Wed/Fri. Would have eaten there every day if my husband had let me.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A great find for dinner in this area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I've been here several times and the waiters are always friendly, welcoming and helpful. I wish it was open more than 2 nights a week! It's popular and gets busy after 8pm so booking is recommended. Otherwise, it's possible to get a takeaway but if it's for more than 1-2, let them know.

We started with prosecco and a mixed antipasto. Some of our group had the 'trio de pates', three different pasta recipes on one plate. I almost wish I'd had the seared tuna, it was perfectly prepared, but homemade pasta is the house specialty and it was delicious.
Marche Rosso red was just light enough to suit everyone's food choices.
Really appreciated the birthday tiramisu and singing waiters :-)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pasticcio also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Il Pasticcio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Pasticcio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.