We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly, quelity and sevice have gone down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Millesime

Millesime
Rue Eugene Cattoir 5, Brussels 1050, Belgium
+32 (0) 2.649.82.62
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #770 of 2,219 restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $59 - $75
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Sadly, quelity and sevice have gone down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Went there a few times in the past and was generally happy, even if price-wise it has never been cheap. However, my wife and I went there to celebrate something a few weeks ago we were very disappointed. The quality of food has gown down (the stake, ordered rare was rather well-cooked), the other dishes were not impressive either. Service was slow and unattentive. We has called to reserve a "nice table" but, despite the restaurant being only half full (i.e. half empty), they put us at a table next to the sliding exit door that would be opened virtually every 30 seconds (people going to the loo, people getting in and out etc), it was a cold evening and thus it wasn't pleasant to seat there. The bill was, as usual, a bit pricey, but tis time this was not justified at all. I am not sure that we will go there again anytime soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    11
    31
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile


Once you've figured out parking (on Blvd General Jacques), you can make your way to the restaurant. I immediately like the fact that first thing you see as you enter is the kitchen to your right. It is always nice to get a glimpse of the chefs at work.

Inside is a lovely restaurant that extends over three floors. The layout is such that decent space is given between tables which is perfect to have a conversation without having to share with half the restaurant.

Now for the food. I've been twice and always thoroughly enjoyed my starter and main, but seem to have never been lucky with dessert.
This time round I had the risotto followed by the Irish beef with morilles mushrooms. My partner and friends mostly opted for fish, so I got to taste that too. All of it was great, though nothing that would warrant any greater superlatives. The produce is fresh, the cooking is good and the presentation is tidy.

As for dessert, I opted for the creme catalane but it simply didn't hit the spot. I remember having the same impression last I went (a fondant au chocolat that time round).

Overall a pleasant experience. Good for a night out with friends and above average food. Service is decent too.
A downside is a menu that doesn't change much (at all? I seemed to find the dishes incredibly similar to what i remembered having two years back).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good, yet a couple of steps away from Excellent...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here in early May as a couple, having seen the place in the RestoPass booklet.
The staff is really welcoming and service throughout the evening was very nice and attentive (although the wine was served out during and in between the courses at a rather fast pace).

The food (starter, mains and desert) is very good, but the starter "tartare royale" didn't live up to its expectations: despite its name the size is disappointing and it could do with some more seasoning (but that's personal). The combination of St. Jacques, salmon and foie gras is good though!

Overall we enjoyed the evening but the price is a bit steep to merit an "Excellent" review.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Maybe I'm very critical, but I do not understand how this restaurant gets good reviews”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had dinner yesterday evening in Millesime, it was the first time but also the last time.....

The website mentions a parking at 100 m of the restaurant.... They only forget to mention at what side it is located.

The restaurant itself is very nice, nice atmosphere, funny Kamasutra pictures in the bathroom. First impression was good.

The aperitif of the house is a prosecco with peaches or violet liquor. I took the violet version but the violet flavour was just too overpowering.

As an appetizer, I had scallops with chicory. The plate was very nice presented, the chicory was nicely flavoured, and the rest of plate however could have used some seasoning. Everything was a bit tasteless; some sea salt on the scallops would have been great....

Main course: risotto with mushrooms and tartufata.... Where to begin... You cannot really say it was a risotto; it was more some rice in broth with 2 slices of Parmigianino.... It was very watery, tasteless, and not creamy at all..... No truffle taste at all.... It is a shame that a restaurant in this price class serve this kind of food. My friend ordered a filet pure saignant.... It was however medium to well done....

Dessert: moelleux..... The first version was more like a chocolate cake and completely overdone.... The second version was ok

Price tag of this evening: 80€/pp, including an aperitif and half a bottle of wine pp....

Price/quality: completely overrated....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great modern restaurant in brussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My GF and I went yesterday for dinner. Nice atmosphere and beautiful restaurant. Service was very attentive and kind. Food was excellent, especially the broth of the meat ravioli, the daurade with vegetables and tomato water and the pinapple-mint dessert. Final check was 116 euros including 2 kirr royale, a bottle of italian wine and coffees. Will go back anytime!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millesime also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Millesime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millesime, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.