We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible greasy, cold food with little choice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of comocomo brussels

comocomo brussels
Antoine Dansaertstraat 19, Brussels 1000, Belgium
02 503 03 30
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
comocomo brussels is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #463 of 2,485 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Tapas, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Horrible greasy, cold food with little choice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Imagine greasy tepid leftovers plonked on some stale bread. That was unfortunately the impression we had from our visit. Towards the end of a lunchtime which could have been part of the problem. But not enjoyable and all left having hungry but not able or willing to face any more food here!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    64
    26
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

One of my favourite restaurants
Comocomo.... well, like I said, one of my favourites. Where shall I start? We've been going there for 10 or 11 years. Mainly, because of our - then, 5 or 6 years old - daughter. No waiting for menus, to order, etc. Then, she could eat with her fingers - which, of course, she found extremely interesting because that was a no-no everywhere else. In short: unlike many other restaurants, Comocomo is immensely children FRIENDLY. Kids are most welcome, and on sundays lunch is a family restaurant.
Then... the child grew up, but somehow we just kept going and going and going. Why?
The food is great. Tasty. Yummy. In fact, it's hard to stop eating. So many delicious tapas at the reach of your hand! Oh.... the "bacon and eggs"! Oh... the shrimps! Oh.... the duck breast....! So hard to make a choice! They cater for any taste: you hate garlic? No purple dish. Love garlic? Plenty of other options. Meat, fish, vegetables. You just chose what and when. You're starving, but your friend isn't? Where else can you both eat as much or as little as you both feel? There's no duck on the conveyor belt? Just ask. They'll cook it for you as soon as possible. Or the duck is a bit cold? They'll heat it.
And... aren't they lovely? We're clients from day one at Comocomo. We became friends. They are lovely. Welcoming. Not just to us. To everybody. They are warm, they do their best to please their clients. They try to accomodate everybody, even when it's full. They just don't make miracles....
An important plus to me: a Parking not far away, and 1hour free parking.
I would also adress the bad reviews I've read , as I find them soooo unfair.
1. expensive and bad temperature: well, each plate may be 3,5 euros. But they have menus:
3 pintxos, 9.50€, 6 pintxos 15.50€, etc, which makes it quite cheap. Actually, from what I've heard from friend's kids, Uni kids, it's one of their hang out places. They can eat for 12 euros or so.
Bad temperature? Don't whine about it. Just ask to reheat. Like I said, I've been going to Comocomo for 10 years, with family and friends, and no one ever fell ill.
2. The less polite young woman is no more, obiously. Didn't stay long. And yes, towards the end of lunch time, there are less plates on the conveyor belt. Sounds normal, to me. Again, just ask. They'll do their best to please you. But a client who doesn't like this and that and lots of foodies... well, that's not the restaurant's fault, is it?
3. Dishes are small? Well, I've never heard of big huge tapas. The concept is eat small. By the way... people who complain about it, would they also complain about minuscule portions at a posh nouvelle cuisine restaurants, where you DO have to eat "appetizer-entre-dessert" not to starve and pay 50 euros+?
4. People upsream the counter chose first. We know that, and we deal with it. Again, asking is the option. They will bring the dishes to you.
5. Don't forget: like people, restaurants also have bad days. Give them another chance with an open mind!
In short, all the allegedly negative things about Comocomo aren't that negative, as there's always a way to turn them into positive things.
And this is what keeps us - family and friends - going there whenever we can!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun restaurant in the boring capital”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Food was delicious. The way it is served is fun and also the messages coming back and forth on the tray. The service is great, the waiters are friendly. Sangrias are fabolous. Try it, you wont regret it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Football semifinal with fans from Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The wide variety of tapas or pintxos come to you on a mini-conveyor belt. Chose the dish(es) that you want as they pass by. Very delicious ! Great atmosphere. Very crowed in the weekend evenings.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Great tapas in a very interesting way. I had never had tapas in this way. A sushi conveyor belt used to pass out yummy tapas dictates that you sit in a strategic location. We were downhill from some big eaters and hence would miss out on most of the great tapas like the beef bruschetta and such. Their duck, seafood and beef tapas were excellent. Their vegetarian tapas were above average. The server was extremely friend and his ever present smile even when customers were complaining of not getting enough tapas was contagious. The food was very reasonably priced. €20 for 9 plates of tapas were satisfying but not overfilling. The children had a great time as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed comocomo brussels also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to comocomo brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage comocomo brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.