We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HENRI

HENRI
Vlaamse Steenweg 113-115, Brussels 1000, Belgium
+32 2 218 00 08
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 2,485 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $22 - $58
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We've been here for the second time now and it was even a greater experience than the first time! I tasted couple different starters, as we were with 8 persons and I like to taste as much as possible :-) , and they were all great. Also main courses were great, steak with chimichurri was delicious! Budget is a little higher than average, but quality is way higher than average! If you are reading this you should grab your phone and book a table :-) , reservation necessary for this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    50
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“traditional food ,trendy vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had the good value set lunch which was a hearty flemish pork stew with frites which was the only thing on offer - but we did arrive fairly late for lunch. Casual friendly set up by the bar with engaging service. We didnt get to see the the dining behind the red velvet curtain, but if visiting Brussels again would try certainly give it a go.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Henri = Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I went to this restaurant for the second time in January 2014. Terrific meal.

- Get reservations. They fill up.

- Short walk (10-15 mins) from the Grand Place (main townhall square) in Brussels.

- In warmer weather (last time I was here in September 2013) we ate outside and it was wonderful. This time it was cold weather, so inside seating only. Great interior.

- Well lit interior. Relaxed bar on one side.

- Appetizers: Ham and pate. A+ stunningly terrific.

- Normal "relaxed" Belgian service. So if you are in a hurry, you will get frustrated. Relax and enjoy. Slow down. :)

- Main dish of beef steak, pepper cream sauce on the side, and Belgian fries. A+ amazingly terrific. If you are an American you might want to 'up the cooking degree' to get what you want - if you are used to "medium rare" in USA then order "medium" in Belgium).

- Very good value for money - 60 Euros all-in person for appetizers, meal, drinks.

Will absolutely go back again the next time I am in Belgium. A+ meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I've been chez Henri a few times when I was living in Brussels in 2008/2009. Was very good in a nice setting. Recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flanders
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Cosy atmosphere, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Close to Place st Catherine, this resto is service honest and traditional food.
At luch time they serve a 2 course lunch at a very reasonable price. We enjoyed the well prepared a la carte dishes.The " biche" was very well prepared, and so was the tradional dessert dame blanche.
Service was great and so was the wine.
First time in this resto but will be back

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HENRI also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to HENRI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HENRI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.