We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skievelat

Skievelat
16-18 rue J. Stevens, Sablon | Numero de la Suite, Intersection, Place, Brussels 1000, Belgium
2 502 25 12
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #467 of 2,506 Restaurants in Brussels
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

During our vacation in Brussels we were advised to have dinner in Skievelat by our receptionist.
And she was right about the place: located within short walking distance from our hotel in Grote Markt having great dishes served by very friendly staff in a relaxed environment with very good music!
What more to hope after a tiring day of sightseeing in beautiful Brussels!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    65
    19
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pristina, Kosovo
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Brilliant place for Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Sometimes you just get lucky. Stopped in accidentally here for Sunday lunch not knowing what to expect. The place was full so it must be good...and it was great! We had two very nice large salads but I think we should have gone for one of the meat dishes; they looked outstanding. Buzzing place with lots of energy, attentive service and outstanding food.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Relaxed & atmospheric Skievalat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My friend & I had a great evening here last weekend.

We arrived quite late for dinner in Brussels 9.30pm but they were still happily accepting customers even though it was rammed. Relaxed yet quite bustling atmosphere.

I had rack of ribs and my friend had pave de boeuf. She asked for it medium rare hoping it would arrive rare but in fact it was charred on the outside, and blue/ not at all hot on the inside. She didn't mind too much but be aware if you don't like rare! My ribs were enormous & really tasty.

We had house cocktails after - extremely strong but delicious!

Took a while to get attention of staff as it was so busy. Part of this is probably cultural attitude to being left to relax after your meal.

Sablon is a great area generally for restaurants - would recommend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and massive portions!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We visited on a mid Sunday afternoon and the atmosphere was buzzing. We couldn't get a table straight away but the staff gave us menu's and we sat for a matter of minutes before we got a little table with a view of the whole bar. The services was speedy and efficient. We ordered the Flemish stew and the Brussels plate around €15 each. The stew was massive, filled with delicious chunks of tender beef coated in a thick flavoursome gravy served with chips. The Brussels plate was 3 of the dishes from the menu, the stew, a large meatball cooked in tomato sauce and a meatball cooked in beer. It came with chips and a very nice mayo. It was amazing. We left feeling truly satisfied. It was nice to find somewhere that served hearty well cooked food at a reasonable price. We had 2 mains and 4 beers and the bill came to €40 which we thought was fantastic. We have found some of the places we have eaten at to be hit and miss on our stay but this was definitely a hit! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Young laid-back spot in Sablon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I love the great quality of the food, the generous quantities, the awesome location and the cool vibe of the place. The salads in particular are to-die-for. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skievelat also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Skievelat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skievelat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.