We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty food outweighs poor presentation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shezan

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shezan
120 chee de wavre, Brussels 1050, Belgium
2 5129495
Improve this listing
Ranked #899 of 2,485 Restaurants in Brussels
Restaurant details
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“tasty food outweighs poor presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I've recently been here on a Saturday evening for dinner with a group of friends.
The restaurant offers pompadoms and tasty sauces (mango chutney & pickles) to keep you going until your meal arrives.

My partner ordered a prawn starter however when it arrived it was small shrimps and not prawns. They could improve on their plate presentation as some of the starters looked like something you'd expect from a fast food place. The taste and flavouring made up for the poor presentation. I enjoyed my meal of palak gosht (lamb with spinach) and since the food arrives on warmers the food stayed warm for a while.

Don't order coffee unless you enjoy instant.

Service was efficient and although friendly I found our waiter to be a bit bossy.
In general a clean restaurant I did notice food stains on the white tablecloth (which is a put off putting).

this place offers good value for money and I'd go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious chicken tikka masala”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I've been there twice with my partner. It's been very quiet for lunch on Saturdays. Big dishes are served on a warming tray, so you can take your time and slowly enjoy the food. The combination of lovely creamy chicken tikka masala and hypnotising Indian music makes you relax and lose a sense of time. The service is not overly polite, but discreet and efficient. The prices are not as cheap as you would expect in that neighbourhood, Rice is charged separately from the meat dish and tea is surprisingly expensive, but the food is worth the price!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good food but very small quantities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We found a groupon for this restaurant and decided to give it a try. They gave us a special groupon menu to choose from and all the dishes we chose were really good but the portions were REALLY small! My lamb dish with lentils (Dall Gosht) had a total of 3 small pieces of lamb! Now I don't know whether these are smaller portions due to our coming in with coupons, but I would never pay the menu price of 10€ per dish for such small amounts. The food was really good, but we won't return since the amounts aren't worth the price. We've had larger quantities elsewhere which are just as good. Service was good and the food came at a good, although not fast, pace.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jülich, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good , simple and Clean !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We loved it from decor to service and food. The place looks very clean and food is simple and tasty. Try the Veg samosas :) awesome and the starters with paid and a beautiful mango chutney and pickles :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, average service, decent prices, overall good experienceand would love another visit. Loved their chicken korma, and ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Great food, average service, decent prices, overall good experienceand would love another visit. Loved their chicken korma, and their lamb bhouna. A taste never found in any other indian retaurant in brussels....so far.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shezan also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Auderghem, Brussels
 

Been to Shezan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shezan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.