We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowded freindly and great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Achepot

L'Achepot
1 place Ste Catherine, Brussels 1000, Belgium
2-511 62 21
Improve this listing
Ranked #949 of 2,306 restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Crowded freindly and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

They cram a lot of people into this small dinig room butso what it was great

We had a comedic aussie near us whose humour was smart but not as quick as ours and then a Belgian and his lovely girlfriend also sharing today as a birthday with Alex our 25 year old daughter.

Food very well put together, clam croquettes were divine , the rillettes salty but tasty, and the shrip with onion and a cream were subly excellent.

Mains followed, with Black pudding but this is Boudin Noire and was really very flavour full. The veal with mushrooms was tender and melting as was the steak, one of us had chicken (not me) and it was OK.

Desserts were fine, Dame Blanche was good and the chocolate sauce was not too rich, Waffles with chocolate and caramel sauces were very good and freshly made.

Wine pricey uneccessarily but you have a choice

Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    9
    27
    10
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great location, delicious food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I ate alone here one of my first night's in Belgium on business, and had a great experience! I got a table outside on a rare nice night, and had a clear view of the church right in the Place. The waitress was very good about explaining the menu of the day to me (which was only in French) and I ended up ordering an appetizer and entree from that menu. I was disappointed that they were out of the fish (I ate pretty late for Belgium) but when my chicken came, I decided it was fate that they were out of fish...the dish was SOOO good. They served a half chicken cooked in a pot with juices and mushrooms, with a side of crusty bread to dip into the delicious sauce. Half-way through, I was full (since the appetizer had been so amazing as well) but I really didn't want to stop eating because I didn't want any tasty morsel to go to waste! They had a short selection of house wine by the glass, but I got a good full-bodied red that served its purpose. The atmosphere was relaxing, the food was amazing, and I would have gone back at least one more time, except I think they went on vacation because it was closed the whole next week I was there :(

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

We decided to go to this restaurant because our book guide suggested it. It also had it marked with two $$ which is what we could afford. After checking the prices they were not average but would say quite high. The food was good, but did not worth the money.
Waitress could speak english and she happily translated the french dishes for us.
Overall experience, was very good but pricey.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardinia, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“pricey, but service was bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I was served by two rather inexperienced waitresses who were slow and not professional. Cookding technique was standard (so, not particularly amazing). The kitchen did not coordinate with the waitresses so when they brought my food it was already cold. I can't believe that it was a slow food place as I felt rather stressful dining over there despite the nice jazzy music in the background. The toilet was not clean either. I would not recommend this place to any foodie, especially if you have little money in your pocket at the moment.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
“Cosy and atmospheric”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Good food, nice decor, friendly service. Not touristy. A bit expensive. They need to sort out the smell from the plumbing.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Achepot also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to L'Achepot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Achepot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.