We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch, exquisite food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comme Chez Soi

Comme Chez Soi
place Rouppe 23, Brussels 1000, Belgium
+32 2 512 29 21
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 2,491 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $130 - $293
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“top notch, exquisite food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Mmmmm some of the most elegantly presented dishes I have experienced. Beautiful plates of delicious food, every morsel a culinary experience. Excellent service in a graceful dining room. First class sommelier who helped us choose our refined wines. Expensive? no, worth every penny and i would forgo months of eating out to save enough to come here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    84
    36
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Formal, yet relaxed dinning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We went there for my wife's birthday celebration. Although it is in a walking distance from old town, the restaurant is located in the area where one wouldn't expect it. But as you cross the door you enter into a different universe. We came early and were actually first guests but later almost all places were taken. And here is my probably the only reservation: the place is really small and doesn't give you any feeling of privacy, hence my "poor" rating for romance. Nevertheless the food was outstanding, interesting and inspiring. Ours was a la carte and we essentially sticked to sea food. And I don't regret it. I am a great fun of riesling and although there was a nice choice of French and German rieslings we followed the advice and took an Austrian one, and it was a good choice. The dinner was completed with a little gift for my wife and a framed picture of us, happy diners! Great experience! Price? For two Michelin star restaurant, decent. We had a memorable evening there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful As Ever (Except...)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

While the food was outstanding we found the service this time to be perfunctory. Imagine being asked to order quickly and talk later so the kitchen can fulfill its obligation! It wasn't as if we arrived late - it was 8 pm on a Saturday night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at Comme Chez Soi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were able to score a table for two at "chez soi" while on our trip to Brussels. It is a formal dining experience to be sure... there's very-very little levity in the folks serving/supporting your time in the restaurant. That said, the food is expensive and exquisite; we did opt for the 6-course tasting menu... WOW. Terrific presentation and lovely combinations of flavors and textures. 6-courses is A LOT of food, but we persevered... filled to the rim, enjoying every morsel. We were treated to a quick tour of the kitchen which is extremely impressive and had a quick chat with the chef... We'd certainly recommend and repeat our time at "chez soi" should we find ourselves in Brussels again (which I hope we do... wonderful city!)...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Despite a location in a dodgy area off Brussels center, the place deserves your evening!
We arrived too early and were taken for a tour of the wine cellar, which hosts esca 17000 bottles. That is impressive on its own!
In 10' minutes gastronomic performance has started... We went for a 'smaller' 5 course menu for smth like 150 Euro p.p. Mouth watering experience lasted for 2 hours with an excellent wine to compliment it.
On a practical side I would recommend to:
Come by taxi (hard to park and not really safe for a good car), don't come earlier than booked (no bar or lounge space is available, you risk not to be offered a cellar tour), reserve a private room (hosts 4-6 people).
Otherwise, just relax and enjoy the ride!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comme Chez Soi also viewed

 

Been to Comme Chez Soi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comme Chez Soi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.