We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Dominican to your Saves list
The Dominican
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
leicester
1 review
“Fantastic find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

Located on a quiet street a few minutes walk from the Grand Place. It turned out to be a fantastically clean hotel. The staff were more then helpful.
Don't opt for breakfast though. At £27 pp you are better off going to a local bakery or supermarket.

  • Liked — quality and cleanliness of the room
  • Disliked — price charged per person for breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    391
    103
    35
    27
See reviews for
104
657
73
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

Just got back from a one night weekend stay at the dominican. This hotel was fantastic. Very modern designs and lovely rooms. The beds were so comfortable and the bathrooms were lovely. The location is excellent. As we were only in Brussels for one night, we got a taxi from the eurostar station which cost EURO 9. This was a quick and easy way to get straight to the hotel to check in and get out sightseeing. Apart from this, we spent the rest of the time exploring brussels on foot. We were able to check in early which was fantastic. We had a drink in the hotel bar in the evening and it had a great atmosphere. We didnt eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food. We chose to have breakfast in a local cafe which was much cheaper than what the hotel was charging.We found the hotel staff friendly and helpful. Overall I would definately recommend this hotel and will be staying here on my next visit to Brussels.

  • Liked — modern design/ bedrooms
  • Disliked — cost of breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Trendy design is no excuse for lousy service and bad management. Booked a 3-night stay, which was to be a romantic getaway with my wife while attending a wedding. Great location, room (Executive Loft) was interestingly designed and all fixtures very modern (including extremely comfortable bed). But then the fun began. Went out Friday night for dinner and came back to an unmade room (evidently no turn-down service at this supposedly top-end hotel). Looking forward to a lie-in Saturday morning, we were woken by the front desk asking when they could make up the room as the cleaners wanted to go home. Called room service to have some coffee and toast sent up – they said breakfast was over already but grudgingly agreed to send up coffee. It took 5 calls, and nearly 2 hours, to finally get the coffee in our room. Later went up to the “gym” (4 machines) to use the sauna and steam room (both which were switched off and when turned on according to their instructions would barely give any heat/steam at all). Thought I’d take a shower in the gym but of course all soap dispensers empty. Before going out to dinner Saturday night asked the guy at the front desk (who didn’t speak French – how strange is that in Brussels?) to make sure the room was made up while we were out – he said all the maids had left for the day (!). Left on Monday morning after paying the bill which included a €23 charge for 2 small bottles of still water (that’s €9 each, plus a €5 charge to have them brought up to the room). We love design hotels, but are wary that such places seem to frequently rely on their modern/trendy décor rather than the solid service and client-friendliness found in more traditional hotels. This was just such the case – I wouldn’t go back.

  • Liked — Location, the bed
  • Disliked — Service (lack of)
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

I can't say I'm surprised of finding this hotel nice after paying 125e per night, but it was a good experience in any case.
Very comfortable beds and great showers, you won't be disappointed.

In a quite street but close to all amenities.

  • Liked — Design hotels are always nice
  • Disliked — The restaurant wasn't the best, especially if you have special needs
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

Modern and chic hotel - from the foyer to the rooms to the corridors. The photos on their website are VERY representative. It's all cool, and we paid only €125 a night (3 nights).

Clean, stylish rooms and very comfortable beds not to mention gleaming bathrooms. Great choice of TV channels (including several BBC channels). Limited room service menu, and (like all the food in the hotel) quite pricey. But there's a fantastic coffee machine right by the bed.

Great location, right by the centre of everything - including more restaurants than you can count, a small but good supermarket and lots of tourist stuff. Also two public parking garages within 1 minute walk (€14 for 24 hours).

Highly recommended!

  • Liked — cool and stylish rooms, with very comfortable beds!
  • Disliked — limited room service menu, and all the food in the hotel is quite expensive
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

We were slightly disappointed, having read the rave reviews on Tripadvisor. This is a nicely designed hotel, the beds are very comfortable, the bathrooms are well fitted and the plumbing works well, powerful shower, nice hot bath. The bar is pleasant though not well used by residents or locals. On the downside, our room was very dark and was overlooked by an office block so that we were visible to staff there unless we let the blind down and obliterated the little natural light that there was. Room service was a bit hit and miss, one flannel between 2 people seems a bit mean and only the most soaking wet towels were actually changed. The smoke detector flashed red light all night. Mostly, though, our disappointment was that the place had no soul. There was no warmth in the perfectly businesslike welcome, no sense of greeting in the room and no atmosphere at all ... a business hotel rather than a respite for a holiday perhaps. For the price we'd have expected a little more character and warmth.

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

The Dominican is in an excellent location close to the Grand Place, yet on a quiet street away from heavy traffic.

Our room was quite large with a wonderfully large and comfortable bed. We were never aware of noise from other rooms or the corridor.

Staff were always polite and helpful.

The only slight criticism was the price of the breakfast (27 Euro) but as we were on a prepaid deal this didn't concern us particularly.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#11 Business Hotel in Brussels
#19 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dominican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.