We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place in Downtown Brussels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Dominican to your Saves list
The Dominican
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Freising, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place in Downtown Brussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed there one night during an EU conference - excellent location, very nice room & bathroom, slept very well in the bed. Breakfast with many different local meat-pies - my favorite. The bar offers a great variety of drinks: beers, wines, cocktails, gins. Hearing the monk's song in the elevator reminds of the place's history.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for the beautiful recommendation.
Please, let Germany know all about The Dominican...
Herzlichen Dank, und... auf Wiedersehen!
Greetings,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    390
    103
    34
    27
See reviews for
103
655
73
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Went for a long weekend with my mother, aunt and sister, Friday 10th to Sunday in January. Was pleasantly surprised by the grand look of the hotel from the outside, having passed a few hotels on the way from the station. Inside the décor is stunning, modern and has a boutiquey feel to it. Staff at the reception were all very attentive, saying hello and goodbye as we came in and out of the hotel. When we first arrived, the woman at the desk (sorry i don't her name) was very helpful, gave us a map, circled some of the sights and answered our questions.

The rooms were very nice but I have to agree with what was written below about it being too hot and stuffy at night..but seeing as we only stayed two nights, it wasn't such a big deal. One other small problem was the lighting in the room..even with all the lights on, including the bathroom, the room still felt a bit dingy. We didn't use the sauna or steam bath so cant comment on that, neither did we have breakfast in the hotel. For a few euros outside we picked up some coffee and some pastries, which we were happy to wander around with.

Nevertheless the hotel is in a great location, only a few minutes walking distance to the Grand Place, and even closer to De Brouckere metro station which was very handy to get to the Atomium out of town.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone travelling to Brussels for a long weekend, and would probably stay here again myself.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dearest Anisha,
A million thanks for your enthusiasm!
It feels really awesome to read about your happiness...
Please, share your wonderful story with everyone crossing your path.
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stylish modern deco that felt five-star. Booked for a special girlfriends reunion so wanted something swish. Excellent location and service was good.
On getting into bed at 11pm, discovered that duvet had spattered blood stains - had been washed but stains were set in. Phone wasn't working properly so walked down to reception. They immediately sent someone up to change the duvet, so good customer service response. But luxurious mood was spoiled with this bit of "ick". Room was really hot at night, woke up sweating. Could not turn down heat (inadvertantly turned down the water heater, which is next to the fan (not heating) control, so water was cold in the morning, and we had to figure out why, then wait for it to heat up again. Why I would want to adjust the water temperature and not the air temperature doesn't really make sense to me. The hallways smelled a bit dank - not a big deal, just took away from the swish experience. Not terrible things, but for the price and reviews, I was expecting more swish. For value and experience, I wish I'd booked Chez Dominique B&B instead, where I'd stayed earlier in the week.
Resto was ok, was hoping for memorable. Cocktails were really good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dearest Sara,
It is with my deepest concerns that I've gone through your words.
Not that I dislike your comments, but I am somehow sad as you were so close to... total satisfaction!
I'm always sobbing when all goes smoothly except for...
I sincerely apologize for the stains on your bed sheets, this simply should not happen!
Please, accept my sincere understanding,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were so happy we selected this hotel. It's what you imagine Philipe Stark being inspired by. An old Dominican Monistary converted to a luxury hotel. Absolutely flawless - rooms were gorgeous with every amenity. The bar was great and the service was outstanding. Great location too - just a couple of blocks to walk to the square and a host of shops, restaurants and sites. It was close to everything but was far enough away to be quiet - across from the opera house.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Kerry,
I feel really flattered by such compliments!
Thank you very much for these kind words...
Please, spread the message all over Boston.
Warm regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

It's Saturday morning, there is no hot water, no one is answering the phone in reception and I don't have a bath robe, I'm trapped, help meeeeeeee! 508 by the way, this gets 2stars because until then I though the place was lovely.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Brendan,
Your story seems 'live'; sorry for being late and unable to help you 'live'!
I sincerely hope you still somehow have enjoyed your stay at The Dominican...
Warmest regards,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spent one night at this hotel before returning back to the States from our Christmas trip. Booked off the internet we weren't sure what to expect. Access to the hotel by car was a bit difficult as it it located in a walking zone off of a one-way street. Once we figured out how to get there we were delighted to find a very classy and modern hotel. Staff was extremely busy as we arrived early at peak check-out time but was still extremely friendly and helpful. They took our bags, we went to the beautiful bar for an early drink and told them we would check-in later. The hotel is conveniently located to all the major attractions so we just started walking. We came back later to complete our check-in. Our room was very small but well equipped. The shower was a bit strange with just a glass partition and no door which resultfed in water spilling all over when using the rain shower... Breakfast the next morning was wonderful with fresh croissants, wonderful breads and charcuterie, cheeses, etc.
We enjoyed our short stay and can only recommend this hotel to our fellow travelers

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear,
I really enjoyed reading your great review!
You should see the smile on my face...
Many thanks for having taken the time to write things down,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed for three nights in this lovely hotel in mid December. The location of this stylish hotel was just perfect for us - we were really pleased with the quality of the staff at the hotel. Reception were friendly and the bar staff were great. We did want to book breakfast but the cost was just too much for our budget - such a shame. Our room overlooked the hotel courtyard and it was fine. Lovely dressing gowns and big fluffy white towels. The hotel had a relaxed feel to it and all the candles dotted around reception and in the bar made it look beautiful in the evening. We did not eat in the restaurant but it was always busy when we went out to eat in the evening. We loved the Christmas market at Pl. St. Catherine. We had some great food at Cafe Georgette, Rue de la Fourche - relaxed and friendly place. All in all a great weekend break in Brussels and we loved trying out the different cocktails in the bar in the evenings after we had our meal in town. Perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, General Manager at The Dominican, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear,
When you write 'perfect', you grant me the biggest possible compliment!
Many thanks for your kind words.
Nice to read about your happiness...
Hoping to welcome you again next X-mas or even sooner,
Ellen de Boer.
General Manager - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#11 Business Hotel in Brussels
#19 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dominican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.