We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great service, Modern design hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dominican

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Dominican to your Saves list
The Dominican
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great location, Great service, Modern design hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is in great location to the attractions in Brussels. The Grand Place is a short 5 minute walk.

The hotel is very well presented with helpful staff, fantastic comfy rooms (large comfy bed, rain shower, large bathroom, bathrobes, espresso machine) and a lovely atmosphere. We didn't eat in the restaurant as was quite expensive and wanted to see traditional Brussels restaurants but did look very nice. The hotel has a large seating area for a well-deserved drink after a day’s sightseeing. We also found the hotel to be very quiet which helps in getting that good night sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks a lot for your kindest writings!
Please, spread the word allllllll over Cyprus...
Greetings from The Dominican team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    393
    105
    35
    27
See reviews for
104
660
73
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I booked my room through a promotion, so the room price was somewhat lower than usual and there was no breakfast included. The hotel is located at the heart of Brussels, behind the Opera, and close to the central rail station, the metro, buses and the very popular square at the city center. The staff was very professional and helpfull. The room was nicely decorated and very well organized. The hotel is an excellent choice for business travel and the free wi-fi was significantly better to other (many) business hotels I have stayed in. The bed was not very confortable and the bathroom door did not close properly.
I did not take breakfast as it was extremely expensive (the price of the room would rise 50% if we had breakfast!). There was espresso machine, capsules and tea bags in the room, and several nice places around the hotel (I recomend chez Paul's) to grab a bite. I also recomend a drink at the hotel lounge outdoors.
Note that, tenants are required to provide guarranty for the (potential) use of hotel facilities, breakfast, room service etc. This is cleared at the checkout.

Room Tip: my room was facing the interior of the hotel longe and it was very nice, bright and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Your recommendations are highly appreciated by the entire team!
Many thanks for all tips & advices,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was a wonderful surprise. Fantastic price for a much higher tier hotel in a great location just outside all the wonders of Brussels ..walking distance to Grand Place but away from the noise and hustle which is wonderful
Big room with all the amenities you would expect to find from a 4 star hotel
The reception personnel were very helpful, spoke several languages fluently and generally sweet.
We did not try breakfast which seemed a bit too steep and opted to go out instead.
did not get a chance to try the spa but I guess it probably would have been good
Beds are comfortable, coffee machine and mini bar available, ice dispensers on every floor
Overall very satisfied

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dearest Yasmine,
Do not hesitate to spread the word all over Boston!
Nice to learn that you've really enjoyed our facilities & services...
Best regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely hotel but with a very strong sense of class and style that just didn't work for me - hard to describe but just too posh. The restaurant looked fabulous but breakfast was incredibly expensive so I didn't bother, and I didn't dare think about eating there in the evening (I don't think I was stylish enough to be let in, and I probably wouldn't understand the menu). I ended up buying snacks etc from a nearby convenience store and sneaking them back in... The other guests looked very wealthy.

The room was fine - the wifi was desperately slow. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

But the location - absolutely superb, both for work and for pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dearest reviewer,
I really feel sorry for your thoughts about not looking good enough for staying with us.
It never is within our intentions to provoke such bad feelings...
More over, we love diversity and we will always be delighted to welcome & serve whatever kind of guest, regardless color, income, style...
Warm regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I could not fault The Dominican!

The location is great...within walking distance of the heart of Brussels.
The staff very professional & courteous.
The room spacious and comfortable.

... and best of all - the central courtyard that most of the rooms overlook make you forget you are in the middle of a major European city.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for the short but lovely recommendation!
Please, never hesitate to come back...
Yours sincerely,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were delighted with our two-night stay at The Dominican. After an overnight international flight, we arrived at the hotel at 10am, hoping only to be able to check our bags. However, they had a room available and checked us in early, with no extra charge. The room was clean and well appointed, the bed was comfortable, and the location of the hotel is ideal for navigating around Brussels easily. The staff members we encountered were all friendly, exceptionally helpful and professional, giving us walking directions, train schedules, restaurant recommendations, advice about sightseeing, holding luggage (gratis) after our checkout and more. The building is a former monastery, and the chant playing in the elevator and in our room at check-in was a classy touch -- soothing and timeless. We would gladly stay here again, and have already recommended it to friends and associates.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Big thanks for all flowers!
Happy to learn that you have appreciated the early check-in.
Please, spread the word...
Sincere greetings from The Dominican team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in April and found it to be a great experience. The property is very contemporary and probably just went under a renovation recently. The room is super uber nice with good bedding which is necessity for travellers. Location is also top notched as it is conveniently near the main area of Grand Platz and the restaurant rows. However, because it is located on the private street...it is very quiet at night so you can get a good rest. Going to the train station is walkable but at the time, the sidewalk is under some construction and the weather is a bit cold, so we asked the hotel to arrange the cab to drop us and our luggages off the morning we departed. Overall, I woul definitely recommend this hotel. Make sure you get a good value for the price though.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedominican9, Director of Sales at The Dominican, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Poppy,
I particularly appreciate your kindest review.
Nice to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at The Dominican to the maximum!
Please, spread the message all over Bangkok...
Warm regards,
Gilles Devos.
Director of Sales - The Dominican
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dominican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dominican

Address: Leopoldstraat / Rue Leopold 9 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#11 Business Hotel in Brussels
#19 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dominican 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Dominican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Hotel Brussels
Dominican Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dominican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.