We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific host, lovely rooms, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brussels@Heart

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Brussels@Heart to your Saves list
Brussels@Heart
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   32 Rue des Commercants, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 185 Brussels B&B and Inns
Ottawa Hills, OH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrific host, lovely rooms, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Let's start with the host/owner, Carmelo. As others have mentioned, the man is wonderful. He is warm, personable, quick to respond to emails, and full of incredibly helpful tips on Brussels (be sure to ask him about the map put out by the locals). In addition, Carmelo went above and beyond the call of duty when he:
1) asked if we had given any thought to making New Year's Eve reservations (we had not)
2) offered several suggestions based on our preferences
3) not only made the reservation for us, but also put down the cash deposit required for the reservation! (we paid him back, of course)

Next, on to the accommodations: Our suite was spacious, warm, and well appointed. The bed was quite comfortable as well (something we always appreciate). Breakfast was served buffet-style and offered a nice variety of breads and rolls w/preserves, fresh fruit, cereal, and yogurt, along with juices, coffee and tea. Oh, and the wi-fi worked perfectly!

Now, here is something to consider: We knew when we booked our stay that the B&B was located in a red light district but did not think it would be a problem, based on the reviews that we had read. However, even though we never felt unsafe as we walked past the prostitutes and their clients several times each day, we had not considered the noise level on the street at night. Silly us! The shouting and laughing on the street below our rooms woke us several times the first night (Dec. 30th) until things calmed down around 2 or 3 AM. HOWEVER, on Dec. 31st (New Year's Eve) we barely slept a wink because the party outside our windows carried on 'till dawn - complete with shouting, laughing, brawling and fireworks. As we said, just something to consider....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    8
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
18
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mauerbach, Austria
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This guesthouse is a very nice place in Brussels with personal atmosphere and a committed owner. The rooms are huge and equipped with cooking facilities. There's free wlan, a nice breakfast with probably one of the best coffee you may find in Brussels.
There are no negative points to mention, however, the location is surrounded by some red light establishments. The house itself is a bit difficult to find, just watch out for the address. The metro station Yser/IJser is only 3 minutes away and there's a number of restaurants and small shops nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legnano, Italia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I was already resigned to having to spend a week in a hotel room made in series, when I found this place surfing the net.
I immediately sent an email asking for availability and prices, I was pleasantly impressed by the speed of response, but above all by the kindness of mr Carmelo, the owner.
As we arrived, Carmelo, greeted us as if we were part of his family and helped us carrying our bags in our apartment, equipped with all comforts.
Needless to say, that the little apartment quickly became our second home, or rather to tell the truth, the good taste of the furnishings and decorations have made me hate my own home that is so white and devoid of personality :-(
Many small things, many small kindnesses, have made us appreciate and love this place.
the scent of freshly laundered sheets and towels, the softness of pillows and duvet, the perfume of the coffee in the morning on the stairs, the chocolate on the bedside table, the breakfast room with its great attention to details …
We were in Brussels for an exhibition, we were always dead tired but Carmelo’s greetings at the door every morning and the scent of home when you open the door in the evening kept our spirits up!
excellent value for money, cleanliness, friendliness, kindness and the location (metro just around the corner, walking distance to shopping streets, place sainte Catherine, Grand Place…) make Brussels@heart the ideal and right place to stay in Brussels.
we left a part of our heart in Brussels!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here - Carmelo was an absolutely superb host and gave excellent recommendations for things to do and places to eat. The room was spacious and clean, almost like a little flat with its own kitchen, dining and seating area. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The B&B is within walking distance from central Brussels and also very near to the underground and the tram.

The location is in the red light district which definitely made for some interesting encounters but there wasn't any trouble. The area is very well policed. If I were travelling alone I might consider other options but as we were together I didn't find it a problem at all. Don't let it put you off this little gem!

Room Tip: Praline Room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I stayed in the apartment for several nights with my sister. It was our first time in Belgium. We felt the area was very secure and access to the city center and train station (to go to Bruges) was easy. Carmelo recommended excellent restaurants and museums. The apartment was well equipped and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011 via mobile

The only thing better than the location, rooms, and the breakfast was our host Carmelo. He made our stay special by going above and beyond to personalize our visit to his lovely city. Three nights were over too soon. We highly recommend Brussels@Heart.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

When planning our trip to Brussels, I looked at a number of different hotels and B&B's. One looked really excellent, but had only one-star reviews here on tripadvisor. As compared to this one, with all five-star reviews. I couldn't agree with them more. Carmelo is kind, friendly, responsive, helpful, and personable. When we had breakfast we sat chatting to him for an hour, hearing stories of Brussels and being told where to visit and laughing so hard we forgot what we were supposed to be doing that day. I'd stay here again in a minute. Very easy to get to the train station, Metro, Grand Place, market, anything you need. Very secure as well. We were told by our client in Belgium that some of the streets nearby were a bit 'iffy', but we never had any problems.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brussels@Heart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brussels@Heart

Address: 32 Rue des Commercants, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brussels@Heart 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice and comfortable guesthouse in the heart of Brussels with 3 suites with private bathroom, kitchenette, cable TV and DVD, free Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brussels@Heart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brussels@Heart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.