We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah barry....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Barry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Barry to your Saves list
Hotel Barry
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Anneessens 25, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ah barry....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Well, staying at barry was an experience. We booked using hotelspecials.nl, don't do this! They took our credit card details, and said it had been confirmed. We assumed this meant we had paid. But when we arrived at barry, they asked us for payment. Both us and the staff at barry were very confused, but eventually we all figured it out and paid for the room.
This started us off on a bad note, and we were worried our weekend had been ruined. But on arrival in the rooms, the showers were great and the beds were comfy, what moré could you want from the price? The staff were actually really friendly and helpful too.
If you are fussy I wouldnt recomend staying here. If you just need a bed and a shower, then it's just fine.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    76
    80
    33
    40
See reviews for
27
44
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Brussels can be highly expensive during exhibition time and this place can be a relief. But do not expect any special amenities. It is like a hostel or bread and breakfast type place, but with a individual room and toilet. So in that case, it makes sense. Location is good, near a metro station. Rooms are small, service is not awesome but it is personalised. I called the reception to confirm booking and they welcomes me. Also gave special breakfast of indian cuisine. So if money is a constraint, this place can be worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I booked on line a singel room end of May 2012; I also called to make sure that the onlline reservation was ok. Surprisingly a clerk sounding jong and enthusiastic answered me in very good english, that it's ok and reassured me that the rooms are renovated!
Once there, the hotel entrance was a mess, many fully loaded containers rested waiting there right at the front door, exibiting a mix of construction materials and some food trash.
This time an older hotel employee was behind the desk. His French was very basic, so I switched to Dutch, but this was for him like Chinees, English was the language in which he roughly could expresses himself, he asked me which way I wanted to pay, before to get the keys: I reserved a none smoking quite and hopefully renovated room I remembered him. But I FIRST HAD TO PAY BEFORE HAVING ANY LOOK AT ANY ROOM. So he sent me to the second floor via the lift, which was obviously heavily used for construction work too, dirty floor and doors. The room was very dark 2,5m x 2 with a toilet /shower next, evrything was old missy, nothing renovated so as they claimed and showed on the internet, at my surprise the shower had no light Ooeps!
So I immediatly went down to that old man and tried to explain in a gentle manner what my problems were. He had a well tailored answer for me, tha's the category of hotels I checked in!!something which he couldn't mention before I paid and booked
(his English was at once much better to understand), he explained that all single rooms are not yet renovated. Ok, what about the light how am I gonna take my shower and shave before I leave tomorrow, his boss /the owner appeared from the back door leading to a kind of restaurant which was apparently rennovated to give a good filling to just arrived customers, I suppose, he anyway explained me, that there was an option if I paid more, I could get a renovated and suitable room at the top floor!
I was at once fed up, and asked for the light to be repaired, which they did after I returned from dinner.
The guy at the reception commented in a rude manner (obviously not happy with the fact that he had to change the lamp) that I must not be critical when coming to this kind of hotels, and just accept tha's the way it is. WHICH I REPLIED IN FRENCH THAT NEXT TIME I'D RATHER BE USING THE CAMPING NEXT, PACKING ALSO MY SURVIVAL KIT WITH ME BEFORE I LEAVE! but this is of course a joke he wouldn't understand, it was more intended to my self to have some fun before going to sleep.

Cheers Asrim, Netherlands.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amin L, Gérant at Hotel Barry, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
hi
please such a big lie, you booked on booking.com and your the booking policy
second thing the room was renovated and clean this is the reason we have 95% occupancy and stisfaction from our guest
but some guest, pay normal price and expect a 5 star for the same price,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located a minute away from a subway stop and walking distance from the city centre. The rooms are small but clean. No fantastic views - mostly windows towards walls nearby. The breakfast is croissant with juice/coffee/tee - so you might opt out of it and get something elsewhere. However for someone who needs a quiet convenient and inexpensive place this is a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is very much a case of what you see is what you get. It is close to one of the main railway stations (Gare de Midi), within walking distance if you feel energetic, but I took the metro which is two stops. The price was for a single room en suite, no breakfast and at under €50 for two nights, good value for money. The room was small but adequate, quite dark owing to the proximity of a nearby building, but since I only slept there, this was not a problem. The room was clean and all facilities, including free wifi worked. The lift had a problem on the first day but this was rectified within under an hour. The staff all seemed to be non Belgians (I heard Arabic but not sure from which country) and mainly unable to speak English although they tried.

The hotel is close to the city centre both for shopping and site seeing and has a metro station practically outside the front door.

If all you need is a relatively cheap and decent bed for the night with easy transport links, this one is for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Staff are rude and did not offer to help, they actted as if they where guest's of the hotel and where not proffesional. The stair case was full of dust and dirt, a building site would have been more cleaner. Cabinets where held up by door stops to stop them from falling over, how ever this did not work because i was a victum. The breakfast was poor ! When entiring the room it seemed you was in a horror movie scene due to the depressing room colour and out of date style sheets for the beds. How ever the positives are that the shower was supplied with hot water 24/7 and the bed sheets where always made!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Barry for three nights back in February. The hotel seemed to be in a poorer area of the city and there were some interesting looking characters in the local area. The hotel was clean and the rooms were basic, but nice. The hotel staff weren't very friendly, they didn't really say much but they cleaned the rooms well. I would only suggest using this hostel if you are looking for somewhere very cheap and basic.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Barry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barry

Address: Place Anneessens 25, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Barry 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Barry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barry Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Barry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.