We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art

Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art
Zandstraat / Rue des Sables, 20, Brussels 1000 , Belgium
02 219 19 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 211 attractions in Brussels
Type: Specialty Museums, Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Smurfs and Tintin are just a few of the cartoon characters immortalized by Belgian cartoon artists, and kids of all ages can explore cartoon characters at the Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
144 attraction reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Brussels seems to be dedicated to the cartoon genre and I suppose this is the cathedral of Belgian comics.
Well presented and also quite educational - I don't think I'd ever actually thought how a graphic novel/comic progressed from concept to product - I now know!
A few surprises - a life size model of Porco Rosso and a temporary exhibition of American graphics.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    116
    85
    62
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Amazing, IF you are a big fan of comics and of course Tintin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great place to visit if you are a big fan o Tintin and etc. The place is big and they have a large collection, so make sure you have enough time.

Get there early, as it gets really busy.There is an 8 euros entry fee and they have free wifi.

Recommended!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“a great building + a huge collection of comics = hours of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I like to take foreign friends to this museum : either they are in awe of the building by Horta, either they are impressed by the amount of Belgian comics, often they are both! I have already been 3-4 times and everytime I spend hours enjoying a lot of my reading when a youngster, and discovering other comics I didn´t know yet. Definitely worth the entrance fee.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great building, but the comic strip is not comic (unless you're Belgian(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

They take their museums seriously here, and the Museum of the Comic strip is no exception. Any suggestion that this is light relief after art gallery visits is soon dispelled. It starts with an interesting history of the human race's use of art to convey stories, and moves into a depiction of the comic strip artist's craft. A special exhibition of Tintin (no surprise there!) is quite interesting too. But thereafter the entire exhibition is devoted to Belgian artists and comic characters, none of whom I had ever heard of. No doubt terribly interesting to Belgians, but very difficult to wade through otherwise! Don't get the idea that children will be amused by it, because there are no characters they will have heard of. It is the Belgian Centre for the Comic Strip after all, so there are no British or American popular characters at all. There's a passing reference to the Smurfs, but no mention even of Asterix. When were were there, there was a special exhibition of the American inventor of the Comic Strip novel. Will Eisener. Apparently he created a character called "The Spirit". Nothing interactive here for children or adults. I would only give it two stars, but for the building it's housed in, one of Victor Horta's greatest creations as a former shop; an extra star for Horta. Tip; you can see the inside of the building without seeing the museum, since the pay-desk is set well inside.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I thought there would be much more interaction at the centre. Additionally, hard to find any displays with Tin Tin, Smurfs, Asterix etc. Underwhelming given I had higher expectations. There was a whole section dedicated to Spirou, of which I found it hard to digest given, Tin tin and smurfs are global hits and they got less than 5% of the floor space. Hopefully, they will get funding for better displays in the future.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TineAnthoni, Guest Relations Manager at Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience, even if it is a negative one.

People from all over the world visit us with many different expectations, and it's good to know what they are!

As for your experience, I would like to add here that we are indeed planning a major renovation of our 'Belgian' exhibit. We will give more importance to international bestsellers such as The Smurfs and Tintin since we know that these series are really important for our international visitors.

On the other hand, signage in the museum will be modernized and made more visible. Apparently we didn't make clear enough the fact that the Spirou exhibition and the top floor are all temporary exhibits.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art also viewed

 

Been to Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art to your Saves list