We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art

Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art
Zandstraat / Rue des Sables, 20, Brussels 1000 , Belgium
02 219 19 80
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art like an insider
Top Rated
$25*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #76 of 332 things to do in Brussels
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Smurfs and Tintin are just a few of the cartoon characters immortalized by Belgian cartoon artists, and kids of all ages can explore cartoon characters at the Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nothing special...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This center has 2 floors that tell us the story of the Belgian comic strip, which was very important in the 40 to 70. There are some comic book figures on naturally size, historical objects, a large bookstore on the ground floor and a room for free reading. The modern comic or "manga" is forgotten in this center. In my point of view, this center has not anything special and I would not return.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    215
    150
    88
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucuresti
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Only if you are into it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Didn't like the museum, maybe because I'm not into comics. I think is more for the connoisseurs, but they might not be that excited either. I liked the Horta building that hosts the museum and the small Horta restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't go if you love TinTin”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Although the museum had some TinTin statues and busts out front to draw you in, it was ultimately a bait and switch. It was simply not worth the price and a better deal was to visit the nearby TinTin Boutique for better photo ops and souvenirs.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruxelles
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

but very much addressed to a belgian public as a lot of the comics are not so popular over the borders;
NOT suitable for very young kids

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“only go if you are a real comic strip fan”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

i am sad that i didn't like this museum more. i don't dislike comic strips but i don't usually pay that much attention to them. even so, i thought i would check this place out. as others have said, the horta designed building is just beautiful. but architecture aside, 8 euros seemed a bit steep to pay. i had kind of expected larger exhibits on the smurfs and tintin -- the tintin one was great (with english explanations, even!) but still rather small given the huge impact of tintin on the comic world. they do a good job highlighting other comic strip artists but i found after a while that i didn't really care. i feel very guilty about not liking this more. perhaps i should have just gone to the herge museum, which i believe is a ways out of town. anyway, if you are a comic strip fan, go here. or a horta fan, go and look at the building. for me, i guess my expectations were off, and i would have happily saved my 8 euros and just browsed through their huge gift shop instead.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art also viewed

 

Been to Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belgian Centre of Comic Strip Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.