We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Legende Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Legende Hotel to your Saves list
La Legende Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Lombard, 35, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Ipoh, Malaysia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Spent a day sightseeing in Brussels so chose La Legende Hotel for its location. The hotel is located about 10 minutes easy and straightforward walk from the train station, Gare Centrale. Very close to the Grand-Place and Manneken Pis. Walking distance too to Palais de Justice, Cathedrale St-Michel et Ste-Gudule, Palais Royal, Place du Grand Sablon, Notre Dame du Sablon and Brussels Park. Hence, its location was central and convenient ! We had the double executive room (without breakfast) for €70 - thought it was a little pricy. It's an extra €10 per person for breakfast. Overall, the room was very clean. Bathroom was ensuite; one thing though there was no shower curtain. Could hear noise from the streets at night even though the room's window faced the inner courtyard but I suppose that can't be avoided in city centre and thankfully, the noise lessened as it got later. All in all, a comfortable stay and would recommend the hotel for its location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    83
    26
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
48
21
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

La Legende Hotel was a quiet, affordable (it includes a good continental breakfast) and central choice in Brussels, close to the centre of town and the fantastic Grand Place - so close in fact that we were able to walk there quickly and easily from the main train station. The predominantly English-speaking staff were very friendly and helpful, and our room on the 3rd floor was perfectly adequate in a clean, business-like way, with a great shower and plenty of hot water. The hotel itself was pretty on the outside, especially its little courtyard, if this appeals to you. Twin beds as a 'double' the only real drawback (we prefer a real double) - though they were very comfortable.

It was also close to a lot of very good places to eat and drink. Our favourites were a nearby Ethiopian place called Kakob, which had spectacular food, and a bar called Fontaines which was very groovy, low-key and ambient (plus the bartender threw out a bloke who tried to rifle through my coat hanging on my chair - what service!).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

It's funny, but this hotel was once a home of a friend of mine. Obviously, it has been sold on, and now it's a respectable hotel. It's right in the centre of Brussels and on a main road, a minute from the Grande Place, but this hotel is exceptionally quite and cheap. The private entrance leads into the reception and onto a lift area that services each floor. This makes it feel very private. The rooms are spacious, after all each floor used to be a seperate apartment, but they feel a little sparce. Maybe it's me, as I remember it as someone's home, but there's a wardrobe, a dressing table and a bed, so it's all very funtional. There was also a very practical and inviting en suite. I enjoyed the stay in there. Breakfast was traditionally 'continental'. I enjoyed it, reliving my time in Belgium, but may not be to everyones taste. There was unlimited coffee and pain au raisan or cheese on toasted bread in a very germanic feeling, wooden breakfast room. I enjoyed my stay, and the hotel is so convenient for the centre, I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Huge room - very clean, staff really helpful and friendly, centrally located. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

A decent hotel, very central location but then Brussels city centre is so small that most hotels are central. Room was fine, basic but clean. A minor gripe was the provision of a kettle but only one cup in a three-person room, no tea and no milk, so the kettle was of very little use.
Overall, not much to complain about, not much to be amazed by. A typical two-star European hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Great location, hotel is near to Grand Place. Ideal for a short city break. Staff friendly, rooms clean, breakfast OK.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

Stayed at the La Legende in Nov 2009 for one night during our brief trip to Belgium.
We wanted a hotel near the center, yet were not overly impressed by the reviews of hotels near the Eurostar station. After looking for a hotel that would take a family of four, we decided on La Legende
Booking - Booked through the Booking.com- 155 Euros (all inclusive taxes etc) including breakfast.
Location - It's located very close to the Manneken Pis and the Grote Markt - we arrived at the central railway station which is an easy walk. We had small back packs and a stroller/buggy. The hotel is also located close to restaurants and shops.
Check-in - very efficient and friendly. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the apartment at the top of the hotel! It was large and airy as well as being fully equipped. It would be great for an extended stay in Brussels. The apartment was very clean. On check-in, the receptionist noticed our young child and suggested a baby cot - this was delivered to our room were quickly and efficiently (+ no charge!) As we were at the top of the hotel, we didn't get too much noise except for the tooting of car horns - apparently there was a football match and the local team won!
Breakfast - included in the price. Dining room was small, but there was a reasonable choice of cereals, fruit, cheese, cold meats Coffee was via an automated espresso machine
Check-out - very quick and all billed correctly.
It was about a 15 min walk to the Eurostar station and not too difficult at all - didn't need to take a taxi or subway.
we also saw that the hotel is probably going to be renovated at some point.
We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel (even with an upgrade) and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Legende Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Legende Hotel

Address: Rue du Lombard, 35, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Legende Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Legende Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Legende

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Legende Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.