We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, interesting decor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown-BXL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Downtown-BXL to your Saves list
Downtown-BXL
118, rue du marche au charbon, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 194 Brussels B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great location, interesting decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This B & B is in a great location, near the main square, not far from the station, down a quiet side street but near main roads, with restaurants nearby.

As other reviewers have said, the stairs are particularly narrow and quite difficult to walk down. People need to be aware of this, but it doesn't detract from the place, in fact it adds to the charm. We were given a room on the first floor, which was very big, with dark green walls and a large fireplace and two windows overlooking the Rue du Marche au Charbon. The windows have been very well soundproofed, so very little traffic or other noise enters the room once the windows are shut. The room and bathroom were both very comfortable.

The owner was very pleasant and helpful. He speaks good English and Spanish and he serves the breakfast in the language of the guest. The breakfasts, by the way, were very good, with plenty of choice.

Another reviewer mentions a common room further up the stairs but we don't remember being told about it, so never discovered it. We were only there for two nights, so it didn't matter.

We would definitely recommend this B & B and will stay there again if we return to Brussels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    43
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
98
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Nice bed and breakfast in a great part of Brussels. Stayed here for 2 nights. Shown to room which was very interesting with a circular bed! Large room and good breakfast. Only downsides were that the shower was very small (difficult to move without hitting the temperature control!) and the Internet did not work at all in the time we were there. For a central bed and breakfast in a city, we would recommend this one as secure and convenient.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This B and B couldn't be in a better place--a few blocks from the Grande Place and the Sainte Catherine neighborhood, and steps away from cafes, bars, and the Manikin Pis.

Our room was decorated in an eclectic style, very comfortable. The room overlooked the Marche au Charbon, a fairly busy street, but the windows had been retrofitted with sound-proofed windows, and there was no appreciable street noise when they were closed. The wi-fi signal was strong and data transfer speeds were comparable to what we have at home.

We were on the top floor, a half floor above a nice common room, with a dining table, microwave, supplies to make tea, etc, but we didn't see anyone using the room during our stay.

Breakfasts were wonderful, with much to choose from: meats, breads and other baked goods, yogurt, cereal, fruits, and lots of great coffee. The proprietor, Theo, was extremely nice and made sure we had anything we wanted to eat. He had lots of suggestions for things to do and places to eat, and he also provided a Frenchman's view of Brussels and Belgium.

Locks, both for our room and the exterior door, were a little fussy, and you're at the mercy of fellow guests to properly lock the exterior door, since it doesn't lock on its own. (A few times we returned home at the end of the day to find the exterior door unlocked.) The neighborhood didn't seem at all unsafe, but it's something the management might consider changing.

No doubt about staying there again on our next trip to Brussels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Large rooms, free (and decent!) Wi-Fi connection, very friendly staff, fantastic breakfast: loads of choice (meats, cheeses, croissants, pain au chocolat, breads, jams, fruit, yoghurt, eggs... the list goes on!).

Overall, a lovely stay in a good location: 5 minute walk from the main square and right next to Moeder Lambic - a fantastic Belgian pub with a substantial variety of beers. Despite the proximity to the pub, the b&b is quiet at night and we slept well - bed was very comfy too!

Only thing I would say is that the stairs are VERY narrow and steep but the b&b advertises this on their website. It's not really a problem as they help with luggage but I probably would't recommend the b&b to anyone who has difficulty walking or tires easily. It was absolutely fine for us though.

One other thing was that when we arrived, we rang the bell three times and had to wait for about 10 minutes for an answer. Not sure if this was just because I didn't press the bell hard enough or for long enough - but worth bearing in mind to hold the bell down for a good few seconds to make sure someone hears it.

Otherwise absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

good location, friendly staff, confortable room, clean toillete

Room Tip: number 3 - the best shower ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is an immaculate B&B, well insulated against the sound of the city, and 5 minutes walk from the main square. The welcome was warm and the service at breakfast was personal, warm and friendly.

Breakfast was a particular delight, with the best croissants and pains au chocolat I've ever had in a hotel/B&B.

The steep and narrow staircase could be a challenge if you are carrying "excessive weight" - your own or in cases.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

LIKED

The privacy of having your own key.
The bathroom - large bath.
Lots of wardrobe space/large room.
Large, comfy bed.
Air-con.
Location was excellent.
Breakfast was great.
Room is comfortable and basic.
Map and info in room.
Brussels!

DISLIKED

Room smelt quite stale (cats) had to be constantly aired.
Room still being cleaned when arrived despite giving arrival time.
Staff were efficient but not particulary friendly.
Stairs were really steep and winding - although we knew there were stairs these were extreme stairs!
No shower - only a showerhead in the bath that was quite awkward for hair washing etc
Lighting exceptionally poor...I wear camouflage make-up and hard to apply in the almost-dark.

Overall, would recommend for location and budget but don't expect any frills. It was comfortable but nothing like the photos suggest.

Room Tip: Choose the lower floors!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Downtown-BXL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown-BXL

Address: 118, rue du marche au charbon, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Downtown-BXL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown-Bxl Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown-BXL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.