We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not the loveliest area though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Brussels Centre Midi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Brussels Centre Midi to your Saves list
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Jamar 25 29, Brussels 1060, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not the loveliest area though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel was very reasonably priced, had tea and coffee facilities, nice beds and a nice bathroom. Staff were pleasant. It's very close to the Eurostar terminal so if you are getting a train in the morning then it's idea though not so pretty for exploring Brussels.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Directeur général at Mercure Brussels Centre Midi, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hello,


Many thanks for your little message.

For sure the area is animated,it is close to an International train station, but realy not the wrongest area,I can assure you.

Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,


Chris Joosten
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    108
    32
    8
    4
See reviews for
55
88
14
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Upon check in I was given a room which was not clean, chocolate bars papers on the floor plus old newspaper bathroom was so dirty that I asked to change the room

I also asked for an Iron as I had a job interview the next days I was told 10 mn , 2 hours later after coming back from dinner I had to ask again

Was given another room and decided to have a bath , saw some hairs floating so I drop the idea and had a shower, bath would not have been possible neither as the cap/plug was not waterproof

The worst part of my stay for a hotel that I paid 120 € is when I finally got the Iron , this was a made in china useless device with which you couldn't even Iron at all

Went to reception and I was told by a student after he finishes his private call on his mobile and wearing a vest three times his size that other clients don't complain

Was unable to iron my short and suit and went to the interview in a pair of jeans and T shirt

Avoid this hotel this is definitely not within Mercure standard

Room Tip: avoid this hotel if you can Pullman much better and slightly more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Directeur général at Mercure Brussels Centre Midi, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear sir,


Many thanks for your message.

I am surpised to read this,I am sure that if you asked for me or my assistant we could have found a very good solution on the spot.

Please contact me you will be our guest.

Kind regards,

Chris Joosten
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms were spotless and well equipped and the hotel gym was great. For the hotel alone I would give it 4 stars.

The location is ideally located for the train station and conference centres, but not for couples.

My wife and I were disappointed by the area and felt a little uneasy. Although the walk to the centre is only 20 mins, you have to walk through a very uncomfortable myriad of men staring intensely. The area has a very strong Arabian, Turkish feel where couples are really seen in public, mainly large groups of men.

There is very little Belgian culture around the hotel. We struggled to find a cafe for breakfast and had to walk over a mile.

Fine for a business visit, but not ideal for couples.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Directeur général at Mercure Brussels Centre Midi, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hello,



Many thanks for the compliments of our newly build hotel.

The area of an international railwaystation is animated,lots of people,lots of nationalities but nothing wrong.

Kind regards,

Chris Joosten
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week for my first work trip to Brussels. The majority of my colleagues stayed near Grand Place, and while I was envious of their location, they were envious of my hotel room. The staff are professional, friendly and attentive and every time I sought their assistance, they exceeded my expectations (ironing board not in room, addressed in less than two minutes. Additional coffee cups requested for guests visiting; coffee cups,coffee, milk in little milk jugs, sugar, and biscuits all delivered to the room quickly. ) Secure car parking is available under the hotel, easy access, and in April 2014, it was 20 Euros per night for parking. The rooms are well equipped and very spacious. Ample bathroom consumables provided and replaced daily. It was clear the hotel has only just very recently opened, and some of the small finer details are incomplete (no guest hotel guides in the room for example), but all in all very good. So why not excellent? Three reasons; like another reviewer commented, I was surprised at how much noise came through the walls from other guests, and location. While convenient by the Midi station (which has shopping including many breakfast places and a small supermarket (Carrefour), the area was not flash and returning from the centre of town late at night left me feeling a little uneasy (not that anything happened), and on Sunday early afternoon when the market was on, the hotel was IMPOSSIBLE to find! Bottom line, if the hotel was closer in to Grand Place I'd definitely stay here again, or maybe I'd use the metro to get around a little quicker - those that say it is a ten minute walk... Hmm, it is 1.6km (1 mile) taking the most direct walking route to Grand Place, and while I am pretty fit, it definitely takes longer than ten minutes.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Directeur général at Mercure Brussels Centre Midi, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hello,


Many thanks for your message.

We made some arrangments to reduce a lot noices from outside the room.Because we are next to the railwaystation it is only 1 minute to the metre to go in town,or of coarse by foot,it is a nice little walk that is quicker by foot than by car...

Every sunday there is a beautiful big market just in front of the hotel,it a super vieuw but we are a little bit 'in the middle" of it..

Hope to see you soon,

Chris Joosten
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Right by the Midi station, with a 10-minute walk to the city centre, this hotel is good value for money. It is clearly very new and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful.
Breakfast is not great. Turkey bacon is pretty horrible at the best of times, and the other hot offerings are not brilliant.
However, there is free fast WiFi, and use of a sauna/jacuzzi, although I didn't use it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Directeur général at Mercure Brussels Centre Midi, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,


Merci de votre message.

Nous avons entretemps fortement travaillé sur le petit-déjeuner.+/- 170 produits.C'est le petit-déjeuner le meilleur de la zone avec comparablement le prix le plus bas.

Venez nous tester.

Bien à vous,

Chris Joosten
Mercure Brussele Centre Midi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Hotel Mercure Midi new hotel next to station Midi you can easily walk to the city centre (10min) or just take the metro (5min). Hotel is quiet and with big clean rooms. On Sunday there is a big market in front of the door with fruits and all kind of other stuff. They have a mini spa in the hotel for free and it's perfect to relax after a long trip or after a city walk. I can really recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Directeur général at Mercure Brussels Centre Midi, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Hello,

I am happy that you had a very nice stay.

Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Chris Joosten
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

It is a brand new hotel and that shows in the rooms, which are spacious and comfortable. However, there are some minor and major glitches. The minor ones are that the fitness room is very small and has no controls for the music that was coming at high volume from the speakers. And the street in front of the hotel is a bit dodgy. The major issue is the room and the soundproving. I could hear the television from my upstairs neighbour and when the hotel guest in an adjoining room came in well after midnight it sounded as though he/she entered my room. Did not try the breakfast.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris J, Directeur général at Mercure Brussels Centre Midi, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,


Merci de votre message.

Nous avons fait un gros travail sur les diffèrent points.Notre petite maison s'amèliore de plus en plus.

A bientôt,

Chris Joosten
Mercure Brussels Centre Midi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Brussels Centre Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brussels Centre Midi

Address: Boulevard Jamar 25 29, Brussels 1060, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brussels Centre Midi 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Brussels Centre Midi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Brussels Centre Midi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.