We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of it all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Moon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Moon Hotel to your Saves list
The Moon Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de la Montagne 4/bis | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of it all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

The hotel was in a great central location. You walked out the front door and down 1 block and there was Grand Place. It was also close to the train station, but the walk involves a pretty steep hill when returning to the station so take that into account if you have a lot of baggage you'll be dragging. The decor in the room is a little tacky and the bathroom was very small, but it was sufficient. There isn't an elevator and the room did not have A/C, which was not fun in the middle of August. The day clerk was very helpful and spoke fluent English. They also had no problem storing our bags for a few hours on the day of check-out.

  • Liked — The central location
  • Disliked — No A/C
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    78
    76
    16
    17
See reviews for
18
76
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sigthomps
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

This hotel was perfectly situated above restaurants and shops, and just steps away from the Grand Place and the central train station. Our favorite element was having a room above the street activity, with the sounds of diners, musicians, and a street fair lulling us to sleep for a short nap in the afternoon.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and we appreciated the sense of security that was provided by the front-desk landing: in order to gain access to the rooms, one has to pass the desk before continuing up the stairs.

We experienced no drawbacks and absolutely loved the hotel, but others should be aware that the rooms are economically sized, and the
only way to reach them is by climbing the stairs.

  • Liked — The location was perfect.
  • Disliked — Be prepared for the close quarters!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

Fantastic, seemless all round service. Everything was great. Room was clean, staff were particularly friendlly and helpful, while the location couldn't be better. Super Value too.

Qasim

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2007

The location is perfect (although the charming Place Agora below can make the front rooms somewhat noisy at night), and the room, although small, was adequate. but the young man at the desk did something no one has ever done at any hotel I've ever stayed at: carried my bags up two flights when he saw I was dismayed to find no elevator AND THEN REFUSED A TIP! For the rest of my three-night stay, he and other staffers provided me with invaluable information about the neighborhood (restaurants, laundromat location, etc.) that made my few days in Brussels easier and more fun.

  • Liked — Location, staff, price
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
403 helpful votes 403 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

The hotel is adequate but my experience was fine with no problems at all. The hotel is a little hard to find, as pictures I saw had me looking for a large building when what I should have been looking for was a name above a doorway. Check in staff was friendly and helpful. The room was small but clean with an ensuite bathroom. The location couldn't be better for a tourist, and it really is only meters from the Grande Place. Breakfast was coffee, several kinds of juice, a few kinds of cheese, several breads, and cereal, and all is self-serve as well as all you care to eat. Don't believe other reviews on the Internet about the poor breakfast. The price is a little high, but this is so close to everything, including nightlife, that a few extra dollars are well spent. Lots of stairs, as all of the rooms are two and three floors from the street.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Difficult to fine and expensive
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2005

This hotel has a great location on a pleasant square between the central train station and the Grand Place square (only a few minutes walk to either). It was clean enough, but quite overpriced for what you got.

Our room was tiny and had logistical problems (couldn't open the cupboard at all because it was too close to the night table, the TV stand had gash marks from the bathroom door crashing into it, etc.) We are aware that hotel rooms in Europe tend to be a little smaller than what we're used to in North America, but this room was definitely smaller than average for Europe. (All the other hotels we stayed at during this trip had way bigger rooms.)

It was very noisy at night and in the morning. There was no remote for the TV. Breakfast was below average -- just juice, coffee, croissants, and rolls in a tiny noisy room where people literally had to climb over each other to get around. Even worse, on our second day there the rolls and croissants were gone by the time we got there so we didn't get anything to eat at all. This was 45 minutes before the end of breakfast, so it's not like we arrived at the last minute. We asked the staff if more food was coming and they said "No" and didn't seem even slightly concerned about that.

Overall, I was not happy with this hotel and would not stay here again. It's passable for a 2 star if they lowered their rates, but as it is it's WAY too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Hotel

Address: Rue de la Montagne 4/bis | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Moon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your The Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moon Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.