We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do in Brussels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SANDEMANs NEW Brussels Tours

SANDEMANs NEW Brussels Tours
Henegouwenkaai 33 | Sint-Jans-Molenbeek, Brussels 1080, Belgium
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$19*
and up
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Meet your guide in front of the tower of City Hall on Grand Place/Grote Mark. Offering free walking tours in 18 cities accross Europe, the Middle East and the US, SANDEMANs NEW Europe Tours is Europe's premier walking tour provider, and offers free tours of Brussels daily.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must do in Brussels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I chose to do the walking your and were not disappointed. After thinking the city was a little boring (sorry PJ) we were amazed at the history which Brussels had to offer! PJ is an amazing tour guide and provided us with an in depth personal history of Brussels. Without doing this tour we would have left Brussels thinking it was a boring ugly city. PJ showed and told us things we would never have known! Must do in Brussels to truly understand this great city and it's people!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,177
    146
    26
    16
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Why wouldn't you do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The walking tour was great, definitely enriches anyone's experience in the city. I had the pleasure of having Belinda as a tour guide. She was great and I could tell that she was very passionate about what she was doing. Also went on the Beer Tour run by PJ. Very fun with lots of surprises ;) You learn everything you need to know about beer and drink lots of beer, what else could you want?

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best tour we ever get”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were just two days in Brüssel and so decided to get the Sandemans free tour we also knew from other cities before. But we were suprised to get one of the best tours we ever had. PJ was awesome! Best tour guide ever! So passioned, emotional and so refinded. When we left Brüssel we knew, that we wouldn't have enjoyed the city so much without PJ, because he telled us so many about his city! Just increbible!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Disappointing Walking Tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We have booked Sandemans Free Tours in many European cities and have always enjoyed our tour. This was the exception. Our tour started very late and our tour guide was very average. He has only lived in Brussels for one year so he was not as knowledgable or as passionate as past guides we had had in other cities. He was difficult to hear and didn't seem enthusiastic about guiding us around this beautiful city. The worst part was the break halfway through the day. We were supposed to stop for 10 minutes to get a drink but the break instead lasted 50 minutes. Members of our tour sat down for lunch and didn't realize or weren't informed that we needed to keep on schedule. Our guide should have gathered them after 10 minutes and either should have advised them to come along or to catch up with us at a different point. They made the rest of us wait while they leisurely enjoyed their meals. We then chose to leave the group because we had other places to see and we never would have gotten there since we were almost an hour behind schedule and our time in Brussels was limited. One reason we use these free walking tours is that we learn a lot about the cities in a short amount of time. I was very disappointed in the time we had with the tour and feel like I wasted my day.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark Q, Guest Relations Manager at SANDEMANs NEW Brussels Tours, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Smampeu,

Thanks for joining the tour. I am very sorry it wasn't up to the standard you expected having visited us in other cities. I can understand how not seeing some of the key sites you expected to see, and waiting around in a café would make you feel as though you wasted your day.

We sent you a private message to try and get a little more information about this, as we'd clearly like to make sure that we learn from this experience. If you do get a chance to write back to us, that would be greatly appreciated.

I hope that given your previous positive experiences with us, you will give us another chance to confirm, as you say, that this was an exception to the rule.

Kind Regards
Mark, Sandemans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant'Elia, Lazio, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Senna the best!!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This tour is amazing and Senna is the best tour guide I have ever had. He was nice to all of us and never boring. I learnt a lot about Brussels and followed him also in Bruges the next day. I recommend to everybody who goes in Brussels to do the tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SANDEMANs NEW Brussels Tours also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to SANDEMANs NEW Brussels Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SANDEMANs NEW Brussels Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.