We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FunKey Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brussels
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
FunKey Hotel
Save
You added FunKey Hotel to your Saves list
116 Rue Artan, Brussels 1030, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Taichung, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is the best hotel in our trip. Great accommodation, friendly staff and nice food. The room is very comfortable and nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
35
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Staying here has set an entire new standard of service for me. The entire concept is absolute genius - very fast high speed free wifi and a welcoming and casual atmosphere. Felt almost like staying at a (very clean) friends house. All day snacks and breakfast available. To top it off the owner is extremely friendly and hospitable and even offered me a free ride into town one evening because I was unable to find a taxi. The only minor drawback was that the beds were a little narrow.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanau, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I'm totally thrilled. Very kind people and a relaxed, familiar atmosphere.Nice and colorful rooms and a large breakfast. Situated in a quiet surroundings with very nice old houses and a good bus connection to the city centre. Highly recommend for an extraordinary stay in this beatiful city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Funkey Hotel is kind of alternative in a good way!! Staff was very welcoming and really friendly and helpful!! We stayed in the pocker room which was really clean and funky! Breakfast and snacks are always available but be aware that they go fast..! Location is not ideal but there is a bus just a 3minutes walk which takes 15minutes to town centre.. I would stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I went to this hotel just before Christmas time to enjoy a couple of days away from the UK. We were delighted by our stay!
First if all, the hotel is full of lights and colours, and it feels like a grand space which was turned into a hotel, rather than a hotel building.
When you arrive, the staff is amazing, nice, ready to help, but also not pressurising you into going to your room... It's all about what you feel like.
Then you are walked to your room. A simple mobile is given to you, it allows to open your room door, BUT also to ring any number in Belgium, and send text to the staff if you need some information. We were looking for a jazz bar to go to at night, and one of the member of staff texting us in the day when she found something appropriate. It was great! I think the best traveling advice always come for the people who are there, they know these little things.
There are a lot of restaurants around the hotel where you can have good, but the hotel has food available 24/7 which means that you can bring something to eat, and then top it up with the amazing home made soup, etc.
Also, in this hotel, even if you booked the cheapest room, if there is an other room (more expensive) available, you are automatically upgraded. Isn't that fantastic?
Finally, the key advantage of this hotel for me is that it is far enough from the centre to be quiet, but close enough to allow you to be in the town centre, by bus, in 20min. And the taxis are around 15/20€ which is reasonable.
All in all, we absolutely loved this hotel, and I hope to get back to Brussels just to stay there!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great hotel. Staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful throughout our whole stay. Nothing seemed to be a bother to anyone. Our room was massive (although I think we got upgraded - otherwise a small room is big enough for 3!). About a 40 minute walk to the centre or you could get a bus which was just 2 minutes from the restaurant. Unlimited food and drinks which was perfect and Phillip was even kind enough to drop us off at the station on our last day!

Thanks Thomas, Alice and Phillip!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

the hotel is easily accessible with the bus line n 61 from North train station. I come to bruxelles quite often for businnes and the Funkey stands out for the colorful decor ( not too much, just nice to change from the boring standard setting of most hotel), the free access to wifi and kitchen, the resourcefull and bright owner ( just ask him where to eat in the area).
another plus point the presence of common spaces for eat, socialize and play.

Room Tip: for a long stay ask for the rooms 1 to 3 of clubs, as theay are very big, luminous, and have a veran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to FunKey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FunKey Hotel

Address: 116 Rue Artan, Brussels 1030, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and visit us at the FunKey Hotel! We offer 35 rooms and all inclusive (high speed WiFi, drinks, breakfast, snacks, calls in Belgium). Each room is en-suite and each room is decorated with a different board game. We are in a great location close to the European Quarter with easy transport links all over Brussels.We also have a huge range of games available at reception so why not come by and challenge us to one of them? We look forward to welcoming you at the FunKey! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FunKey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.