We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai Du Hainaut 33, Brussels 1080, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best hostel I've stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hostel is unlike any out there, I stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm which had massive lockers for your back pack, 2 bunk beds & 2 single beds.

It has a built in Bar, well equipped kitchen, key card access, excellent private bathrooms & the staff are more than willing to help you out.

I felt very safe & the atmoshpere is really friendly.

Top marks on value for money & great location, if I knew MEININGER hotels were like this it's all I would have booked.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you to give us back your opinion about our Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read what you said and we hope you will come back soon to enjoy again the MEININGER experience.

Greetings,

The MEININGER Brussels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    255
    63
    20
    10
See reviews for
134
80
85
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We decided on this hotel mostly because the room had bunk beds unlike most hotels with two doubles. (why don't more places do this). This is basically a youth hostel that has expanded the room types to serve families. The room fit us and breakfast was perfect. There was the added advantage of the kids hearing so many languages as the youthful backpackers mingled in the lobby. The staff was inconsistent. All of them some a number of languages. Some were quicker to elaborte on an explanation than others. The neighborhood is so so. There are lots of shops just to one side in a neighborhood that is predominately Muslim. No food available as we visited during Ramadan, but nice area to feel safe walking around with my kids while we waited for my husband to join us. The area just across the canal was more tourist focused and we were in the gateway to city central. Just a few min walk to the main square. We did witness a bit of an incident between this neighborhood and the more tourist focused neighborhood across the canal. A woman in shorts and tee shirt screamed, men ran through traffic to come to her aid she got away quickly as 6 to 8 men were there in a flash. This Christian mom strongly disagrees that the immigrant community makes this less safe area. Really my only negative on this place was the sound within the room. Other rooms could not be heard at all. However, the window did little to block sound from the outside and the bathroom in the room acted as an echo chamber. You could hear how many times a person rolled the TP in the bathroom. Too much info. Until other hotels get it and put in separate beds, this is definitely the best hotel options for families.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you to give us back your opinion about our Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read what you said and we hope you will come back soon to enjoy again the MEININGER experience.

Greetings,

The MEININGER Brussels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Travelled with 2 friends and chose this hostel based on the top rated reviews on Hostel Bookers. We booked a 6 bedroom mixed dorm with private bathroom and got room 007, ground floor.

The hostel actually is very big with several floors, a canteen/breakfast room, bar, lounge area with TV and an outside area at the entrance with deckchairs and umbrellas.

Located between 10-15 minutes walk away from the city centre. You can actually walk from the Gare Centrale (15-20 mins) to the hostel very easily. Just walk down the hill from the station, through the city centre, past mcdonalds, straight down from there you will see a large canal and dual carriage way. Cross the canal and turn left walking with the canal on your left=hand side. Soon you will reach the hostel -trust me, you cannot miss it.

The hostel staff were very friendly and welcoming, check in time is at 3pm and there is luggage storage facilities you can use for you early birds.

The room we got was very clean, shower room was seperate from the toilet and sink area so handy for sharing and having not to wait. There's lockers in the room already (bring your own lock), equipped with a TV as well. The beds however, we had to make our own on arrival but there are cleaners daily. The beds itself are very comfy with your own light, plug and tiny shelf.

The local vinicity - there ain't much but there's a few shops that sell drinks and snacks, etc which aren't cheap. I suggest you walk further towards the city centre and make a right turning just before you reach McDonalds. You will see a Lidl on that street - great for cheap drinks and snacks.

The hostel do a breakfast buffet for around 8 euro (between 6am-10.30am). Mostly bread and ham, some fruit, cereal, tea, coffee, etc. A little expensice for what it is but there's not much choice we could find around the local area. Europeans aren't big fans of breakfast we discovered.

No complaints about this hostel really. Sometimes they do hired events so may be quite noisy at times but the sound proof doors help a lot. The room doors however slam shut and are VERY loud. Not ideal for early people leaving the room and then waking up others.

The hostel has a mixture of families and groups. There is free wifi, you can pick up a piece of paper at the reception whcih gives you the password allowing 5 days access.

If I am ever in Brussels again, I will be sure to stay here again.

Room Tip: Not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Rebecca,

We would like to thank you to give us back your opinion about our Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read what you said and we hope you will come back soon to enjoy again the MEININGER experience.

Greetings,

The MEININGER Brussels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This is a great hotel Not great for you people who want 5 star concierge service, or a gourmet breakfast. Its spartan, and very funky, but in every other way outstanding. Big rooms with comfortable beds (3 of us shared a 6-bed room), incredibly inexpensive (if you book early - our return visit next week is costing double), and the location is great. A short walk to the grand place, and lots of restaurants and shops just across the canal. I would definitely return here with my family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you to give us back your opinion about our Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read what you said and we hope you will come back a third time then just to enjoy again the MEININGER experience.

Greetings,

The MEININGER Brussels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

If all you want/need is a clean bed this is the place for you. I was in a 10 bed mixed dorm and the room and attached bathroom was clean and well set out. And to be honest that is really all you need.
BUT....
The lockers in the dorm rooms can't actually be locked.
The wi-fi is sketchy at the best of times and sitting in the hallways/reception doesn't always improve it.
Room key issues (I had to get mine re-programmed everyday of my stay)
The laundry was out of order my entire stay
They advertise a kitchen but really it is a fridge and a microwave. No plates/cups/utensils so I couldn't make a cup of tea with my own teabags (didn't even bother trying to make dinner) etc
Breakfast is overpriced (skip it and get a coffee+pastry deal in the city for 3 euro)
The line for check-in and out is quiet literally out the door at times with only 1-2 staff assisting guests.
Staff in general aren't very friendly/helpful and can often be found walking/standing around smoking doing nothing in particular instead of assisting guests. Warning they don't like being asked basic questions and seem to think guests are stealing oxygen.

Room Tip: I think they would kick you out if you made any special requests
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you to give us back your opinion about our Hotel.

We are sorry to read what you said about us (the staff) and we just want to invite you to come back just to see that this is not happening normally.

We do take care of our customers and this is why we are still in the top 15 of the best Hotels in Brussels.

But we want to apologize for this, and we really hope you won't give up and continue to get some faith in us for your next journeys.

Greetings,

The MEININGER Brussels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Although i was in brussels for one day and it was dirty and stinky

I loved this hotel

It is not in the middle of the main tourist locations which is good because it was nice and quiet

The breakfast was decent not thing to brag but good enough

Thanks
Jose

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you to give us back your opinion about our Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read what you said and we hope you will come back soon to enjoy again the MEININGER experience.

Greetings,

The MEININGER Brussels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Are only difficulty was deciding to take the subway or Tram to find the hotel....use the tram as is stops closer. Staff friendly and multi-lingual! 4 adults in a double with a bunkbed. Room was huge. Bathroom Facilities clean and large! Has it's own bar on site. Was a reasonable (10Min) walk to the Grand Place and other attractions. Even though many college age students were staying here the rooms and facility was very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Customer,

Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you to give us back your opinion about our Hotel.

It was a pleasure to read what you said and we hope you will come back soon to enjoy again the MEININGER experience.

Greetings,

The MEININGER Brussels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center

Address: Quai Du Hainaut 33, Brussels 1080, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
How exemplary: situated directly next to the Canal Bruxelles-Charleroi, the MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center is run on a carbon-neutral basis! Until recently, this red-brick building, a former brewery in the city centre, was used as an exhibition space for art; since May, 1st 2013 we provide 150 comfortable 3-star rooms with 719 beds over 4 storeys. Thanks to excellent local transport connections, the city's sites can all be reached quickly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.