We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galler Chocolatier

Galler Chocolatier
Rue au Beurre 46, Brussels 1000 , Belgium
02 512 29 03
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 56 shopping in Brussels
Type: Specialty Shops
Attraction Details
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stopped here while walking around Grand Place as a result of Rick Steves' recommendation, and we were not sorry! We enjoyed a tasting while we were waiting, and we bought several packages (and wish we'd bought more!).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Royal treatment for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

As you stand at the entrance of Galler's shop, you notice they are different. Everything is simple yet look luxurious. This is the brand (or one of them) the Belgium Royal Family prefers. Now you step into the door and you can smell chocolate like in many of the other chocolateries in Belgium, but something is different: you do not smell sugar. And it is because Galler's chocolates are less sweet than any other brands we tried (and we tried a lot in 4 days in Belgium). You are right away welcome into the store by a very friendly clerk. As we never tried their chocolates yet, we can get one EACH for free. We go for the pure dark 78% with nothing else. Wow, to die for. You can feel the pureness of the chocolate as it melts in your mouth and the flavor stays in your palate for a long time. We are in heaven.

We buy few more to try different ones. They are all excellent, although our favorite is the white chocolate praline with almonds. Perfect balance of the chocolate, sugar, and almonds. This is strange for us as always our favorites are dark chocolates, so believe me when I say it is good. For few minutes both in the shop and eating our chocolates, we felt like Royal Family.

Note that Galler only export to few places (check their web site), so do not miss the opportunity if you are in Belgium. They do not use any syrup or artificial ingredients. If you get any chocolate with fruit, the real fruit is there together with the chocolate. And while it is not in the cheap side, they are not the most expensive ones, but they were indeed the best (that we tried).

We came back to buy a box to bring back home and we are dreaming of when we are going to eat them. Yummm!!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great selection of chocolate caramels and white chocolate chocolates!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The service was friendly and informative, even provided a sample!

I'm a huge fan of white chocolate especially with chocolate ganache, caramel and praline - and this chocolatier has it all.

It's VERY VERY good!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
159 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“The Face Said It All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

There are places that offer free samples to try to get you to buy something new, and there are those which let you sample KNOWING that the product is so good that you WILL buy, it's just a matter of what you will buy! That's Galler Chocolatier on the Grand Place in Brussels.

We had walked by early in the morning as the shops were just opening up. It was threatening rain and lights in the chocolate shops were so colourful and warm it was hard not to stop right then. Coming back later in the evening, I sent my boys ahead (I was lace shopping) to pick the ONE chocolate shop that was going to get our business. They picked Galler Chocolatier and so in we went. The chocolatier described her chocolates and then offered samples. The milk chocolate and coffee truffle took my son's breath away ... it was obvious by the wry smile and the light in his eyes. Clearly, we exited with a lovely bag full of these delights. And THEN we walked across the way to the other shop I had already picked out for my treats.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Rich and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I came here after reading the reviews regarding how perfect the chocolate is. The reviews were right. We spent over an hour trying to find this place because our Trip Advisor app (download/no internet version) stopped working. The one for Paris worked fine which was odd. Anyways, if you have this same issue the shop is located in the Grand Place, about 20 feet to the left of the history museum (if you are FACING the museum). If you pass Elizabeth's Waffle stand you have gone too far. You HAVE to go here. The customer service was great. The gentleman who encouraged us to taste a couple of samples before we purchased was very attentive and knowledgeable. We purchased the mini batons and a sample box. I don't think you can purchase these online to get shipped to the states so buy them while you are there. Don't forget to take them on your carry-on NOT your checked bags.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galler Chocolatier also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Galler Chocolatier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galler Chocolatier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Galler Chocolatier to your Saves list