We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in a great location ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 9HOTEL CENTRAL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added 9HOTEL CENTRAL to your Saves list
9HOTEL CENTRAL
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Rue des Colonies | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Centrale Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Attraction tickets
Ranked #16 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Modern hotel in a great location ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in July 2014. We found the location was excellent with the central train station a few steps away and the royal place a five minute walk. The hotel was modern, comfortable, and clean. The ac was awesome in the heat that we experienced. We found the 15e breakfast a bit expensive and opted not to eat it. We can't speak to the quality of the breakfast but went to a cafe nearby for a croissant and coffee and paid a fraction of the cost. Nevertheless, we really enjoyed this hotel and would highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    106
    25
    4
    6
See reviews for
13
164
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a great hotel. One of the ones where you walk in & you know immediately that you've made a good choice. It's very cool; wonderful contemporary design, nice open plan reception & common areas on the ground floor, and the rooms have a delightful chic simplicity (and plenty of room - even in the "basic" room).

The bed was huge and the sheets delightfully soft (I didn't love the feather pillows, but I know many do), and the room was quiet due to double-glazing so despite being a light sleeper, I slept like a stone! We had a first floor room facing the main road, and I struggle to understand the earlier reviews that mentioned a lot of road noise - there was none (in fact the only noise that disturbed my sleep was the neighbouring rooms closing their doors in the morning).
Nice toiletries in the bathroom.

Helpful service from front desk (restaurant tips etc), although the checkout was slower than I'd like, but I won't take a point off them for that.

The location is ideal - right next to central station (ideal if you are coming from the airport, not so good if you are coming from the Eurostar), and it was a short 5 minute walk to the Central Market.

Overall, probably the best hotel we've stayed in this year & certainly excellent value. We would choose this hotel again in Brussels.

We paid just over €100/nt for a Classic Double & booked on the day via Expedia (annoyingly Expedia didn't collect the €4.50/nt city tax so we had to get the card out again to pay €9 at checkout. Work it out Expedia!)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Perfect location. Only steps from Brussels Central station, and a block or so from central Brussels. Very clean. The staff were very helpful and nice. We noted a few reviews complaining about the noise and asked for the 5th floor to avoid it. Slept very well with no noise on Friday and Saturday nights. The room was large enough and very bright. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were not sure what to expect when we arrived at 9Hotel Central in Brussels, but we were very surprised and pleased!!
The building itself is extremely modern but wonderfully equipped with all the modern aids that you will require during your stay, no need for your partner to take up space with her huge hairdryer, it is all there! We had a Classic Room and there is absolutely no need to upgrade to a higher grade room if you are only there a couple of nights. The bedrooms are very comfortable with a huge and extremely comfortable bed, complete with your own security safe deposit box, a real bonus!
We took breakfast on the first of our three day stay. The breakfast itself is what it says on the tin, a small selection of hot food, scrambled egg and sausage and all the cold continental selections that you would expect. I think the rate for breakfast is 15 Euros per person, we had a train to catch so decided not to gamble on finding a café before boarding our train. There are as we found a lot of choice outside in cafés should you want to eat outside.
The Hotel is wonderfully located, literally five minutes from Central station and very close to the Grande Place itself. We travelled from Brussels International Airport from aircraft to arriving at the Hotel was under an hour! Next door is a great bar called “The Office” which is great for a drink and they have some good beers.
The staff at this lovely Hotel is a complete credit to the Hotel, Hassan on the desk was just wonderfully helpful as were all the other staff that we had contact with.
There is some building work being done on the road facing the Hotel, so you may wish to ask for a quieter room, however, we had no problems and our room overlooked the work in progress!

Do not waste your money on a big chain Hotel but enjoy the individually of this great Boutique Hotel, which has some lovely and unusual touches!

Room Tip: As mentioned in my comments, there is building work in progress on the opposite side of the road fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed two nights in this hotel when I was in Brussels for a business trip last week. I was greeted in a friendly and professional manner on arrival and checked in without issue, same situation when I checked out.

I loved my room, with the brick feature wall, comfortable bed, bright and clean bathroom and quiet air conditioning. It was on the second floor at the front of the hotel, but there was no noise from the road outside.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, the location is great and it the cost of the room was reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great location within one block of waffle-scented train station, quiet a/c room with sleek design and comfy bed. Small but modern bathroom with nice toiletries, a hair dryer, AND a magnifying mirror, thank you. Free wifi, flat screen tv on wall. Lift holds 8 people, staff is nice and friendly. Delicious breakfast spread in sunny brick wall room and way cool Swiss coffee machine gives lattes with push of button. Can walk down to shop/restaurants around Grand Platz; walk over a block to cathedral, and up a block to Grand Palace grounds. Reasonable rates and good value return for the $. We would definitely stay at 9Hotel Central again. Not sure why anyone (unless very spoiled) would need anything more!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Was staying 1 night at the hotel. Booked the clubroom, however got a free upgrade to suite. I love the design of the hotel, those brick walls and clean minimalistic interiors. The rooms look the same as on the hotels webpage.
The room was very spacious, large king-size bed, clean, with complimentary refreshments (2 bottles of water) and some tea and coffee. Wi-Fi connection is fast and stable. Although next to a frequent road, the night was quiet.
The hotels location is superb, as you are close to the main railway station (Centraal) and a few steps from the Royal shopping gallery (Saint-Hubert) and the center of Brussels (Townhall). There is also a metro station next to the hotel.
The hotel has no restaurant, but there are many other options in the close vicinity. It serves only breakfast, which was good, nothing special, but also nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 9HOTEL CENTRAL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9HOTEL CENTRAL

Address: 10 Rue des Colonies | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Centrale Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 9HOTEL CENTRAL 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the museum district and 50 meters away from the Cathedral, the 9HOTEL CENTRAL is an ideal place to stay for business or pleasure in Brussels.Behind a typical Belgian architecture, the 9HOTEL CENTRAL welcomes you in its new casual and elegant spaces.A musical lounge, a business corner and a co-working space are available for you all year long. Our lifestyle hotel has 47 comfortable and elegant Loft-style rooms. Our rooms feature big flat screen TV with a wide range of national and international channels, free WIFI, individual air conditioning, private bathroom with a shower or a bath, eco labeled hospitality products and slippers to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your 9HOTEL CENTRAL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centrale Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9HOTEL CENTRAL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.