We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem - go visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium (Musees Royaux des Beaux Arts)

Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium (Musees Royaux des Beaux Arts)
Place Royale 3, Brussels 1000, Belgium
32 2 508 32 11
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$26*
and up
Brussels Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #28 of 332 things to do in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Considered one of Brussels' greatest museums, it houses an extensive collection of works from the Flemish School, featuring a number of masterpieces by Peter Bruegel.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“An absolute gem - go visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Firstly a confession; I have lived in Brussels 7 years and am very ashamed to say that despite this museum being in comfortable walking distance this was my first visit - however I will certainly be back!

Entrance fee for permanent collections is, at time of writing (Jan 2012), €5 for adults but I paid €8 in total to see also the Sabena exhibit which runs until the end Feb 2012 - which was excellent value.

Be prepared to be overwhelmed as in summary there is a vast array of collections to see ranging from pre-historic to modern eras (Roman, Ancient Egypt, Iranian, S.E Asia, Islamic Art, Middle Ages, Native Indian, African etc etc) and exhibits cover a huge sphere of artifacts (paintings, tapestries, metal wares, glass, scientific instruments, furniture, woodwork etc etc).

The museum has a faded charm which some may dislike but I felt it added to my experience.

Also be aware that the museum is very large and split across many halls, floors and levels - I almost missed the majority of the museum exhibits not realising there were many more halls, floors and levels after the museum shop!

Would strongly recommend the Cloister & Roman areas as both were visually impressive.

Missed out on excellent rating as the description of artifacts was in many cases brief, and some areas are in need of tender loving care beyond the faded charm I mentioned previously.

Overall to do the museum justice you need to allow lots of time but there are plenty of toilets, a cafe (which I did not try) and a large, slightly disorganised museum shop.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    208
    75
    22
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“quite disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Tried to go to the museum on Dec. 31 but was turned away at the door because it was "sold out" for the day at 2pm. The website said nothing about this and this is not surprising because it is quite antiquated. Went back a few days later to find that there was almost no 19th century art on view. No Ensor, no Khnopff, no French artists either. The lighting is dim, there is almost no information on the walls, and most of the paintings need to be cleaned. Based on the postcards available in the giftshop, they own some great work but you won't see it there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komorów, Warszawa, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

A womderful and not BIG museum where one can always find interesting exhibitions, very good access, perfect service and information, I really enjoy it every time I am in Brussels

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“average museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Well the museum is average, Magritte museum is probably more interesting but we couldn't come in because of strange rules to put a woman bag into a safe...

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
402 reviews 402 reviews
125 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
“Good collection of European artists work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The collection is housed in a beautiful building and is easy to access. You can buy a ticket just for the Fine Art Museum which is around €8 or a combi ticket for €13. They have a very good collection of European art which is tastefully displayed around the rooms, everything is well spaced out and whilst there were a lot of people in the museum because it was a wet afternoon it wasn't crowded and you could get to see everything quite easily. The Rubens room is most impressive. They allow photography as long as you don't use a tripod or flash. You can also book a guided tour or there are audio guides available. There was quite a big queue to buy the tickets but it moved quickly and the staff were friendly and professional. You can hang up your coat for free and there are plenty of toilets which are nice and clean. The cafe is also very good, we had soup and roll but they served steak and chips as well as lots of other meals. All the sandwiches were sold out but there were other lighter choices such as a small quiche and salad. The desserts also looked good. There were soft drinks, coffee or tea as well as beer or wine. There was plenty of seating but it was pretty full. Overall a good museum to visit. I have done a separate review of the Magritte Museum which comes under the combi ticket but in short I would say I really liked the Fine Art museum but found the Magritte not to my taste, the work is surrealist and if you don't like Dali then I wouldn't bother to visit Magritte.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium (Musees Royaux des Beaux Arts) also viewed

 

Been to Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium (Musees Royaux des Beaux Arts)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium (Musees Royaux des Beaux Arts), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.