We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jacques Brel Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Jacques Brel Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
Rue de la Sablonniere, 30, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stay there for the first time and I loved It so much that I came back for a second stay. The rooms are really comfy, good matress, clean and big. They have free internet (always a plus) and breakfast is great. The staff is always willing to help and they are soooooo nice!!! Totally recommended...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    58
    29
    3
    8
See reviews for
9
20
41
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The bar man tried to charge me more than what I had agreed to online when I got there, I disputed it, and he said I can take it up with reception in the morning, which I did. It was fine after that.

The room was a twin. It was roasting! Which, luckily for me, suits me down to the ground, and I forgot my pjs, so it was just as well. The room was very basic, kind of odd with tiles. Nothing much wrong with it, but not the cleanest feeling. The first night (of two) there was a banging noise from something outside my window all night long, which kept me awake. I didn't hear it the second night, though that may have been because I was exhausted.

Breakfast was ok, typical continental I suppose.

The biggest issue for me here was the fact that there was no wifi, except for when you're on the ground floor. I couldn't believe this. It's really an issue the hostel needs to take care of.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed in this hostel with a couple of friends during our school trip to Brussels. The hostel has a very good location the stuff was really friendly and helpfull and the common areas were nice as well. What I really liked was the bar/restaurant; especially the breakfast.
The rooms were OK:-) I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here this summer during an interrailing trip and it was the first place we stopped off. As my first hosteling experience, I was pleasantly surprised by the place. On arrival staff were friendly, helpful and keen to tell us more about the city. The building was large and the rooms were comfy and equip with decent showers.
The highlight for me was the downstairs bar which also sold food late at night. They stock a really nice selection of Belgian trappist beers as well as your standards such as Leffe, Duvel and Jupiler. There was an outside courtyard area where you could sit and drink which was lovely on warm summer nights.
Overall, a delight to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed in this lovely hostel during my short visit to Belgium in October 2012. Its very clean and convient hostel near to all major tourist spots in Brussels.
Rooms are big;having clean bathrooms. Breakfast served in the morning; its typical European breakfast. They charged me for 22 Euros for one night (check in 3 PM-Check out 11 AM) including breakfast; so its nice deal.
Also; its good staying option even if you are travelling with family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Unfortunately we stayed at Brussels only for one night, between 04 to 05 oct 2012. We would have loved to stay more at this youth hostel. Its in an amazing location, close to Botanique metro from where you can zip across the city to all major attractions.
Belgian people are very friendly and this reflects in the service provided by the staff. All the receptionist and staff in the breakfast room are very friendly. This hostel property is very nice and clean. There is a nice veradah to lounge outside. The reception area is big and is a great place to meet fellow travellers. The bar seemed decent, but we were short on time to lounge around.
There was a good variety in the breakfast provided and it was wholesome, breakfast room was bright and cheerful. We loved our room, however it was on the other side of the building which was not connected by elevator and we had to carry our luggage all the way up, even the room was a duplex, so that meant one additional flight of stairs to carry luggage, however the room was beautiful, it was huge and exceptional.
Kitchen facility for self catering is pretty good as well.
Dont forget to pick up the free map from the reception area, its amazing – full of local recommendations, witty quotes and knick knacks.
Stay here and you wouldn’t regret your decision! I am definitely coming back for more...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The location is not really close from the center but at least it is in a safe zone.
The receptionist in that time didn´t speak English (I think he didn´t really want it) and he was forcing us to speak French, language none of us spoke! I mean, come on...it is an INTERNATIONAL HOSTEL, why the heck you have people like this, who he didn´t want to so a small effort to help the customers out?

Anyway the rooms where clean and acceptable. The toilettes at least were not shared and you can really rest and sleep here.

I maybe come back here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jacques Brel Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacques Brel Youth Hostel

Address: Rue de la Sablonniere, 30, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 87 Specialty lodging in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 min walk from Brussels' Grand-Place. Nearby, you'll be able to take a picture of the Manneken-Pis.The hostel is located on the Place des Barricades, a nice neoclassic square, where Victor Hugo stayed.From the hostel, you can easily reach the European Parliament, and if you'd rather go for food pleasures, the famous Belgian chocolate makers and local breweries are waiting for you! If you're tempted by fashion, you can easily go to the Dansaert-Saint Géry neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Jacques Brel Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacques Brel Youth Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.