We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels to your Saves list
Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Rouppe 17, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night. Good location on square in relative rough neighbourhood.
10 min walk to centre, station. Street noise and airplanes during night bit irritating.Very friendly staff. Very clean,odourless room, no bath but only shower, extra shelf in bathroom would be handy when staying for longer periode. Very good, large and wide bed. Breakfast no too much choice but what's on offer is very tasty, good quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    154
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
210
21
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Amazingly comfortable beds and great staff who are always very helpful. I also stayed one night at the Sheraton which was terrible compared to the wonderful sandton pillows. The hotel is walking distance from Brussels midi station and also grand place

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

This was an unusual hotel style, quite quirky. The surrounding location was not very appealing however don't let that put you off. It was a straight forward 10 min walk from the midi station, and again 10 from the central square and other attractions. Apparently close to metro aswell although we did not use. The hotel has a boutique style, was well kept and very clean. Nice bar area and breakfast restaurant. Room was fine nicely decorated, although bathroom too small for our preference with no shelf for storage. Having said that for one night it was fine. Breakfast was nice all self service but fresh and well presented.
Service was ok. Not very forthcoming generally, having said that the receptionist did enquire for us at the restaurant opposite for an available table, which we appreciated.
A few strange things, the corridor lights are motion sensor, fine if they came on, but had to walk a few metres in pitch black, not easy! Also all the useful leaflets and info on the city are downstairs not in a public place, found when leaving! And we didn t feel comfortable with the luggage storage situation, they did keep for us in open reception area, but no ticket system or anything, therefore I would question the security, particularly in the area the hotel is located. Overall the stay was fine for a short stay, probably would not return to the city, but would recommend the hotel if you are looking for a small boutique style hotel with good location and don't mind limited services.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at the hotel recently and it is in a very good location to the main Brussels square (about 5 - 10 minutes easy walk). The hotel is comfortable however the street can be noisy. We had to leave the window open to cool the room down and therefore we experienced all the traffic especially the garbage trucks in the morning.

Staff were friendly and the hotel definitely has a very modern look. Parking is approximately 200 metres away. In summary - very good location and neat, tidy hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We booked this hotel based on the reviews of other guests for my 40th birthday as a weekend away treat to see Lang Lang in concert.

On arrival we were happy with the hotel. Lovely welcome by the staff who were pleasant. The hotel looked clean and nice and when we got to our room we where on the first floor overlooking the square which again during the day was lovely (but noisy at night)

The hotel is right on the edge of a run down area where it didn't feel safe at night with people constantly looking at your bag and the feeling if you had to have your wits about you. Again you have to walk through this area to get to Brussels Midi train station which during the day is no problems but beware at night!

The following morning the breakfast was disappointing, following previous reviews of an "american breakfast" we were disappointed to find it was a continental breakfast with one staff member (male) doing his best to be friendly and run the breakfast whilst another member of staff just wandered round letting him do it. And for a 4 star claim plastic flowers in plastic vases on the tables is not what you expect.

On our return from a day trip to Bruge, which we highly recommend, we asked the staff for a coffee and were told no as she didn't know how to do it. The same member of staff again refused us a hot drink when we returned later that evening just after 11pm following a concert at BOZAR stating that the bar was closed, this being a saturday night!

All in all the first impression was good but it has been let down by poorly trained staff and also its location.

I personally wouldn't rate this as a 4 star hotel but more a 3 star at this time.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterHesp, General Manager at Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Karl H,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your impression at the Pillows Hotel. I read your remarks with great attention and am glad you had a nice welcome, but saddened for the negative memory you keep of the rest of your stay. I am deeply sorry that the bar service wasn't at your convenience. Your constructive remarks retained my consideration, as we now changed to a better trained bar team in order to serve you better in the future and avoid this situation.

I would gladly welcome the opportunity to reverse this and hope we can offer you a better image of the Pillows Hotel on your next visit to Brussels. Thank you again for your appreciated feedback, that can only ameliorate our quality of service.

In the hope to hear from you, I remain at your entire disposal.
Peter Hesp - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Lovely clean hotel, beds are very comfy & room a fair size. However have been deeply annoyed tonight when at 11pm we asked for a hot chocolate and was told categorically no, both in the bar & for in the room with no explanation, poor customer service.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel is clean, comfortable and beautifully styled. It's located about 10 minutes from the grand place and very convenient to Brussels midi station which is really convenient for trains to Amsterdam, Bruges and beyond...
If you arrive at the midi station and the taxi drivers insist that it's only a 2 minute walk, ask nicely if they will drive you - with bags it's closer to a 15 - 20 minute walk through and average neighbourhood.
Back to the hotel, it's everything you may want for a short stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels

Address: Place Rouppe 17, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.