We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel within convenient location which definitely deserves a 2nd visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels to your Saves list
Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Rouppe 17, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming hotel within convenient location which definitely deserves a 2nd visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is within walking distance down one straight road from Brussels International Train Station and a short walk to Grand Place, with its wide selection of bars and restaurants.

The hotel is new and the decor all round is very pleasing.

The room it's self, I would have thought snagging issues from being so new, had a few issues such as towel rail hanging off the bathroom wall. Lightbulbs in lamps not working or plug cut off, dust indicating a proper clean was not carried out before our arrival but sometime before and the room had been vacant for some time.

However, the bed was the most comfortable I have ever experienced and the room generally offers what you'd expect from a 4 star hotel.

The staff were helpful within their capacity but certainly didn't give the impression they'd be happy to go above and beyond for you as a guest. I did ask for room service (being a Saturday and our romantic anniversary break) but was told abruptly on the phone that they were short staffed so no such service can be offered.

They do serve complimentary wine, beer and soft drinks between 6pm & 9pm which was a great way of relaxing in the fantastic lounge area before dinner. However, the particular young lady who was at reception at the time made it well known by huffing and puffing, slamming and a face like thunder that she was not happy in having to serve at the bar (short staffed) and said "they" always do it to her. However, as a business owner, I know that you must try and smile no matter what the situation, it's not the customers fault. The reception was not busy and I thought her behaviour was out of order.

However, breakfast was good and the selection was more than satisfactory and I would recommend this hotel for a nice break to anyone. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    154
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
211
21
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimstad, Norway
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I booked this hotel via internet and pay according to all price appeared in the travel agent website. During my staying, I mostly thought that the hotel was very nice, clean, newly renovated, with helpful staff and good breakfast. But the impression was suddenly gone as I checked out, the receptionist asked me to pay the tourism tax that I didn't know about. I didn't mind to pay, I might have been careless when booking this hotel and didn't read the expected additional charge to pay. But the receptionist was so unfriendly and rude said that he was so sorry to hear that I didn't know about it and explained to me that it is common in all hotels. All good impression that has been in my mind, suddenly gone just when I had to check out. The tax to pay is not so much for 3 days, but the way the receptionist treat me was so surprising and become unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stopped here last weekend 7-9th Oct 12..... Brand new, well presented and run.

I am usually a fan of old school hotels big on service etc... This hotel is different. Very modern and efficiently run.

Free wifi and we were given free drinks and bar snacks each night.

The rooms are smart and would suit business or pleasure.

One thing that the capital of Europe has finally got right!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Fab hotel, a boutique experience with great extras. Breakfast was lovely - warm bread, croissants, cereals hot bacon eggs etc.

Rooms were large, clean and modern, location was perfect - 5 min walk to grand place.

Extras were really good value - free pre dinner drinks, nibbles and afternoon tea.

Would definitely recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro/Brazil
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

It's in a good location, walking distance from the Grand Place and the main train station. I stayed in two different rooms (I left Brussels to visit Prague and then came back to this same hotel). Both had toilet separated from the bathroom - what, to me alone, doesn't make any difference, but I missed A LOT a waste basket in the bathroom. The rooms have different decoration (wallpapers) that are very romantic. On TV you'll find many TV stations from Netherlands and from the non French Belgium, and I missed programs in English and especially in French, as I wanted to practice this language. My important tip: do not spent 15 Euros or so in their breakfast. On the same street, three blocks away, there's a nice boulangerie where you can have a delicious baguette, juice and a latte for 5 Euros.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very nice hotel, which was oppened spring 2012. Area is ok, l and within 10 minutes you can walk to sablon as well as to the grand place. It´s a pity, that they don´t have a proper parking spot.I will come back for sure.Very good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Book the inclusive package consisting of having extra's like high tea, drinks with hors d'hoevres and light snacks, breakfast. The check in was messy and very formal. He did forget to give us the card for electricity for the room. Was not aware we booked the inclusive package. We arrived late so could only use the drinks with hors d'hoevres and snacks. When asked for it...we got 1 glas of wine and peanuts. After he served us this he was only busy with others. Room was okay. Bed is nice. But nothing spectacular. Breakfast was really bad. No 4 stars for sure. Scrambled eggs and beacon which was could. That was the only "hot" food available. There was no replenish of the buffet so we had only some leftovers. The only thing we wanted was to check out as soon as possible and leave...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels

Address: Place Rouppe 17, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel Pillows Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.