We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Breydelstraat 20-24, Brussels 1040, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #82 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not Great”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed here on a number of occasions each stay was at best acceptable. However on my last visit the Holiday Inn failed miserably. The only rooms that I have ever been given are in dire need of an uplift and on this occasion it was the same. The TV was broken and reception could not get it to work. The "free wifi" was also not working and I could not log into it despite again contacting reception. I asked for an iron and was given one that was like something out of a kids toy set...absolutely useless. The linen on the bed was also stained. Overall very poor and will not be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear P16,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We have sent you a private message to discuss your concern further.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    154
    56
    21
    10
See reviews for
48
79
29
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We went as a group of 12 on a dive club trip to nearby Nemo 33. We wanted somewhere with easy access to the city centre for sight seeing the next day. We booked early so got a good rate and were very pleased with our stay. The reception staff were excellent and in particular Mark who gave us a great restaurant recommendation and even booked the tables for us. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were very friendly and helpful. As with other Holiday Inns I have stayed at, you get a good standard of accommodation and rooms were clean and comfortable. The metro is a short walk away and you can be in the centre in about 10 mins from there. There are also restaurants nearby (and the staff can recommend for you depending on what you are looking for). There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby and they offer a free left luggage service so you can leave your bags while you explore the city. Very much enjoyed our stay here and the warm welcome from the staff, would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Schuman for a very quick weekend visit and were greeted by Mark on reception who was wonderful, so friendly and helpful and even upgraded us to a king bed when he heard it was our anniversary! The room was lovely, bed was big and comfortable and the hotel is a short walk to the nearest Metro which gets you into town within minutes. The breakfast was quite pricey €15 for a buffet breakfast but was still nice! All in all we had a great stay, thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The location is good for EU-related business. At €125 per night I shouldn't complain but for a glorified B&B its a bit steep. Staff are friendly, the place is clean and the food is fine. The walls however are paper thin so bring some ear plugs. For a single night its fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhibs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Paulmcs

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman and for your high ratings on cleanliness, location, rooms and service.

Based on your comments we are able to improve our product and services. We are very sorry for any discomfort about your stay, please never hesitate to contact our Manager on Duty. They are always available and will assist you immediately.

Our second renovation of our bedrooms is scheduled in August 2014. 3 extra floors will be renovated meaning that 3/4 will be more hip and trendy. Furthermore we will replace our elevator completely during this renovation.

We still hope to welcome you again in Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman during your next visit to Brussels. Keep well.

Yours sincerely



Mr. Dominique Verniers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I booked a regular room but was given the boardroom with a foldout bed. It was uncomfortable and creaky. The bed was a campbed in a cupboard. The staff were unhelpful to resolve the issue. Do not accept room 106 unless you are planning to use it as a meeting room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhibs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Hummingbirdtraveller

Thank you for taking your time to write a review on Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman and for sharing your thoughts about room 106 and our staff.

I'm very shocked to read that my staff was very unhelpfull. I'm very sorry that you felt this way and will of course immediately investigate your huge discomfort. Your experience is the complete opposite on what we are striving for and I'm very sorry that we did not offer you an alternative.

Room 106 is a standard room with a size of +10 square meters compared to other standard rooms, with an extra sofa to relax in when watching the television. This room gives indeed the possibility to transform it into a meeting room and that is why the bed is different from the others, but I can guarantee you the same quality of sleep as the matras is of the same quality as in other bedrooms.

Thank you for leaving your business card with us. It gives us the possibility to provide us more details and the opportunity to improve our services and product.

Yours sincerely



Mr. Dominique Verniers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Pro:
1. Quite location, easy to access, good location
2. Room well equipped
3. good service
cons:
1. very slow and none stable internet
2. 15 Euro for breakfast (after reduction) ?

Overall: Good hotel, very reasonable choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhibs, General Manager at Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Gregory2712

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman. It's a great pleasure to notice that all scores like cleanliness, friendliness, location, rooms are put on 5/5, our staff will be honoured.

I hope your next flight went well without any problems. We hope to welcome you again in Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman.

Keep well.

Yours sincerely



Mr. Dominique Verniers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

though the flight had some problem the doors were not closing and we were all stuck at the airport with no proper service at the airport from the airline but the service we received at the hotel which was organised by the airline jet airways was great and very comforting one, though it took lot of time for them to get us at the hotel due to visa regulations , but the staff at the brussels airport were very efficient and helpful. the food in the hotel was not that great but we were happy because at least there was something to eat when we arrived at the hotel

Room Tip: rooms on third floor are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman

Address: Rue Breydelstraat 20-24, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the EU district at the intimate Holiday Inn Brussels-Schuman hotel. With just 59 rooms our modern hotel, 12km from Brussels Airport, offers you personalised service and a friendly home-from-home. The hotel's bright blue facade stands out among Brussels' gleaming European Commission buildings, and our marble Lobby is hung with vibrant Picasso prints. Metro services speed you around the city from Metro Schuman, 500 metres from Holiday Inn Brussels-Schuman.Invite up to 8 people to an informal catch-up in Holiday Inn Brussels-Schuman's naturally lit meeting room and feel free to use the PC in the Lobby. It's a short stroll to meetings in the numerous European Parliament institutions surrounding the hotel.It's just 8 minutes from nearby Metro Schuman to Brussels city centre and sights like historic Grand-Place square. Ask our helpful staff about Brussels' Villo bike rental scheme if you'd prefer to explore the city on 2 wheels. Jubelpark's Autoworld museum, housing an impressive collection of classic cars, is a short walk from the hotel.Hot American breakfasts and light meals are served in garden-facing Pablo's Restaurant at Holiday Inn Brussels-Schuman. Cool off with complimentary soft drinks after a leisurely workout in our MiniGym, and sample local fruit beers in open-plan Pablo's Bar. Wireless Internet in your Guest room keeps you connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brussels - Schuman Hotel Brussels
Brussels Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.