We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Breydelstraat 20-24, Brussels 1040, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #81 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Riga, Latvia
1 review
“Convenient location, value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Location
An extremely nice location: proximity to Brussels Airport (bus stop with a ticket vending machine one block away, as well as metro station Schuman - takes less than 10 minutes to get to the city centre), many EU institutions around, several parks and museums (e.g. Autoworld), quiet at night.

Amenities
The beds were comfortable (although we asked for twin, but got double), the shower was new and clean, with all necessary bath supplies. Big plus - kettle and cups in the room. Unfortunately, there was no separate fridge, but we managed to use the minibar for storage :)
There is one elevator that is indeed slow, though we were in no hurry.

The breakfast, however, is too overpriced (22 EUR) - you can get coffee and pastry within one-two blocks nearby for less price. Yet, don't count on a decent meal - it was impossible to order pizza/pasta/etc before noon, the restaurants are either closed, or offering just tea/coffee/beer (we arrived at 10 a.m. and had to suffer until we got to the city centre).

Overall: a pleasant place to stay, with friendly staff, and cosy atmosphere. Will definitely stay there next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge - there should definitely be such.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhibs, Manager at Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Dear Miss,

We are very pleased that you chose our hotel for your stay in Brussels. I would like to thank you for your positive feedback, only in this way we can improve our level of service and our product. It is great to see that you appreciate our hotel and his amenities, and what pleased me the moust that we have created a home away from home feeling, thanks to our friendly staff. At this moment we are doing a try out with a breakfastpromotion at 12 euro per person. Also I have to mention that we provide as from last week our own menu in the restaurant. I will be pleased to welcome you in the near future.

With kind regards

Bert De Rouck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    138
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
46
68
27
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This was a great find. Although the hotel is in the business district, it's just a couple blocks from Schuman metro station so it was really easy to get to the more touristy parts of the city. About 1 block from the hotel there is a small supermarket so we were able to stock our room with croissants etc for breakfast since the hotel's breakfast was too expensive. If you make a right out of the hotel and a right at the end of the block you'll run into a nice place for coffee and pastries.
The room and bathroom were a decent size. The shower head was perched in the center of the tub so that was a little awkward. The hotel has 1 very small, very slow elevator. So be prepared to take the stairs unless you have bags. And factor in wait time for the elevator when you have time-sensitive plans.
The hotel staff members were all incredibly pleasant and helpful and their English was impeccable.
Wireless Internet is available but you have to ask for it daily and get a card with a new password that allows you access from noon to noon the next day. Odd system but wireless was fast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhibs, Manager at Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Mister,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay in our hotel. Thanks to these comments, we can make our product beter & mor efficient. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you find our staff members friendly. Our goal is to create a home away from home feeling, and it appears to work. The lift issue is solved at this moment & we are working on our breakfast & internet. I hope to welcome you again in the near future in our hotel. With kind regards, Bert De Rouck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, united kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Would recommend hotel - I wanted to stay here because I lived and worked in Brussels and it was near the EU Berlaymont where I worked. Excellent for metro and other forms of transport. The room was excellent and very reasonable price as it was a Sunday evening, but found that the breakfast - 22 euros extra, was rather pricey. Reception staff not very friendly when I spoke in French but in English a little better - obviously Flemish Belgians!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhibs, Manager at Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Mister,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay in our hotel. Thanks to these comments, we can make our product beter & more efficient. We will keep on investing in the training of our staff & are evaluating our breakfast price & content. I hope to welcome you again in the near future in our hotel. With kind regards, Bert De Rouck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

The bathroom was so new and clean. on the other side of big park near by there is a small shopping district i would recommend. breakfast was good selection.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhibs, Manager at Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Mister,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay in our hotel. Thanks to these comments, we can make our product beter & more efficient. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you find our staff members friendly. Our goal is to create a home away from home feeling, and it appears to work. We are happy that you liked extremely our new bathrooms. I hope to welcome you again in the near future in our hotel. With kind regards, Bert De Rouck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I had a wedding to attend in Brussels and I based myself at this hotel which is very convenient to Bus and Metro. I arrived late on a Friday night and the direct airport bus took me very close to the hotel. I had pre-booked and got a fantastic weekend rate. The room was spacious very clean and the bed was comfortable with a choice of hard or soft pillows. I had asked for a quiet room on my booking and was not disappointed. The staff were courteous and very helpful. Breakfast was worth the €22 extra per head as the buffet had a good choice and the food quality was good. All in all it was pleasant stay for two nights and I would stay there again on my next visit to Brussels.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhibs, Manager at Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Mister,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay in our hotel. Thanks to these comments, we can make our product beter & more effictive. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you find our staff members friendly. Our goal is to create a home away from home feeling, and it appears to work. I hope to welcome you again in the near future in our hotel. With kind regards, Bert De Rouck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We booked this hotel for a long weekend in Brussels and weren't disappointed.

The hotel is within 2 minutes walk of Schuman metro station. The metro station itself is rather grim looking but once above ground, the area is fine. We had got a bargain price (Euros 135 for three nights room only for two people, as opposed to Euros 450 per night room only during the week, when the politicians and EC visitors arrive! For this price, I was expecting us to be put in a tiny, very basic room but it was a decent size, light, warm, spotlessly clean and had everything we could need in it.

Special mention has to go to the reception staff, who were very friendly and helpful, finding out some information we needed without even being asked to. All spoke Flemish, French and English, and I daresay other languages too. We were able to leave our suitcases on the final day for a few hours after check out to allow us to spend more time in the immediate area, exploring Jubilee and Leopold Parks. Nothing seemed any trouble to the staff.

We didn't eat breakfast (Euros 22 per person), but found lots of little cafe bars close to the Metro station. Be aware that some of these are not open on weekend days, when business customers are not around. Il Cappuccino was a lovely little Italian restaurant nearby we discovered on the first night - great food, service and ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor as the traffic noise from the street below can be quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhibs, Manager at Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Mister,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with the travellers. Thanks to your input, we can improve our product, or motivate our staff.
It is really a pleasure to read that you find the reception staff of Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman pro-active. Remarking the needs of our guests is one of their main goals.
I hope you had a homefeeling in our hotel and would be pleased to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Bert De Rouck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and it contributed to make our stay in Brussels very successful. The underground station is right next to it, the bus from/to the airport across the street It is quiet, extremely clean, the room was spacious and the reception staff attentive, friendly and helpful. We were lucky to have a window with a view of a quiet garden courtyard.The greatest possible value for your money! Satisfaction guaranteed!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhibs, Manager at Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Mister,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with the Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman. Thanks to your feedback we can make our product better, improve our level of service & motivate our staff to continue. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are glad to give you the home feeling in our hotel. i hope to welcome you again in the near future. With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman

Address: Rue Breydelstraat 20-24, Brussels 1040, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of the EU district at the intimate Holiday Inn Brussels-Schuman hotel. With just 59 rooms our modern hotel, 12km from Brussels Airport, offers you personalised service and a friendly home-from-home. The hotel's bright blue facade stands out among Brussels' gleaming European Commission buildings, and our marble Lobby is hung with vibrant Picasso prints. Metro services speed you around the city from Metro Schuman, 500 metres from Holiday Inn Brussels-Schuman.Invite up to 8 people to an informal catch-up in Holiday Inn Brussels-Schuman's naturally lit meeting room and feel free to use the PC in the Lobby. It's a short stroll to meetings in the numerous European Parliament institutions surrounding the hotel.It's just 8 minutes from nearby Metro Schuman to Brussels city centre and sights like historic Grand-Place square. Ask our helpful staff about Brussels' Villo bike rental scheme if you'd prefer to explore the city on 2 wheels. Jubelpark's Autoworld museum, housing an impressive collection of classic cars, is a short walk from the hotel.Hot American breakfasts and light meals are served in garden-facing Pablo's Restaurant at Holiday Inn Brussels-Schuman. Cool off with complimentary soft drinks after a leisurely workout in our MiniGym, and sample local fruit beers in open-plan Pablo's Bar. Wireless Internet in your Guest room keeps you connected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brussels - Schuman Hotel Brussels
Brussels Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Brussels Schuman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.