We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for one thing, iguanodons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Natural Sciences

Museum of Natural Sciences
Rue Vautier 29, Brussels 1000, Belgium
02/627-42-38
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Museum of Natural Sciences like an insider
Top Rated
$25*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #13 of 333 things to do in Brussels
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Kids can’t enough of dinosaurs, so take to the biggest dinosaur gallery in Europe, the Museum des Sciences Naturelles. Star attractions include 30 fossilized Iguanodons discovered more than 130 years ago, along with a host of other dinoasaurs guaranteed to fascinate kids of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Duncan, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Go for one thing, iguanodons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is overall a C or C+ natural history museum, but what makes it worth your time is the accidental discovery in a Belgium coal mine in Bernissart in the late 1800s. While working across a clay deposit to another coal seam, miners discovered dinosaur bones.

At a time today when many dinosaur specimens are known only by one example or even one fragmentary example, at this museum are nine nearly complete Iguanodon specimens on display.

Beneath the display on a lower floor is a physical recreation of how they were found in the floor of the coal mine.

This is reason enough to see this museum. Unfortunately the bones are posed on a now, known to be incorrect posture, but still very impressive to see so many excellent examples.

My advice is to go if you want to see the Iguanodons, but if you are not into dinosaurs skip this museum.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    216
    48
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Was an nice experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

It was a nice educational experience on animals past. It could probably benefit from being interactive

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exposition on Baby Animals”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

So apparently there is a nice exposition going on in the museum about baby animals which should be great for kids. It's a pity that we didn't get to see it due to a very inefficient management of this museum.
Before heading to Brussels, I checked the website. It said that the exposition could be sold out but there is no way of knowing this since there isn't anyone who picks up the phone nor is there any mention of this on the website. It is also impossible to buy tickets online. They do say that you can buy tickets for a certain date but only in the museum itself. So what you have to do, if you wanted to visit this exposition, is: go down to the museum, book a ticket for a certain date and come back on this date. How inefficient!! What if you live abroad? Or simply do not have all the free time in the world to head down to a museum to just buy tickets?
We decided to risk it … silly us. We went to the museum with two kids who really wanted to see some baby animals but alas, sold out. So we decided to do the regular tour of the museum, which was really stuffy and old fashioned without any real good interactive activities for small kids. They should take a trip to the London Museum of Science or the Museum of Natural History in London where there are actual dinosaurs in stead of only bones and skeletons to get some tips!
At 5.30 PM we left and decided that we would buy some tickets for the exposition on baby animals to come back on a later date, because we had heard good things about it. The museum only closes at 6 PM but the cashier told me cold blooded that we were to late. The cash register had already closed and it was impossible to buy tickets after 5.29 PM!!! Can you believe this??? In this day and age … so if we would like to go to the baby animals exposition we would have to go down to the museum once more, buy tickets, before 5.29 PM of course, and then come back again. I think I'll find something else to do with my time!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great dinosaur exhibit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The dinosaur exhibit was amazing -- tons of fossils, large and small, and they are displayed really well. Definitely worth the trip if you like dinosaurs. The rest of the museum is corny and isn't really worth seeing though.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London & Birmingham UK
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
135 attraction reviews
Reviews in 186 cities Reviews in 186 cities
531 helpful votes 531 helpful votes
“Average But With Great Dinosaurs!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The dinosaur exhibition and baby animals temporary exhibition (small extra fee applies) are fantastic, but the rest of the museum isn't worth the trip. It's a shame that they have to charge so much for admission, when the equivalent ones in London & Tring are free.

The downstairs part doesn't have any exhibit signs in English (only French and German) and looked a bit like the last refresh was in the 1970s. Stuffed animals and an explanation of taxidermy anyone?

It is a big disappointment for families like us with small children. There is zero effort here. In London, young people get backpacks and an explorers kit! They need to do a lot more - especially with such high admission prices.

Another problem were the signs to get into the place. We walked from the Metro station and the signs ran out as we got nearer. We spent ages wandering around trying to find the entrance. They seemed to have spent their effort instead on putting up signs saying things like "The Museum Isn't Here!" rather than helping tourists to find it!

The café was very good. Great food, inexpensively priced with friendly and efficient staff.

I've given an "Average" rating for the museum overall, but if it was just for the dinosaurs it would be higher.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Natural Sciences also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Natural Sciences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Natural Sciences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.