We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinosuars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Natural Sciences

Museum of Natural Sciences
Rue Vautier 29, Brussels 1000, Belgium
02/627-42-38
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Museum of Natural Sciences like an insider
Top Rated
$25*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #13 of 332 things to do in Brussels
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Kids can’t enough of dinosaurs, so take to the biggest dinosaur gallery in Europe, the Museum des Sciences Naturelles. Star attractions include 30 fossilized Iguanodons discovered more than 130 years ago, along with a host of other dinoasaurs guaranteed to fascinate kids of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
443 reviews 443 reviews
343 attraction reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
622 helpful votes 622 helpful votes
“Great dinosuars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It was a bit tucked out of the way, hidden behind the EU parliament building. Well worth the visit though. It was great seeing such a large number of iguanadons in one place. Amazing that they were found all together in a coal mine. We spent over an hour just in the dinosaur hall. We didn't get to see any of the rest of the museum, as we were satisfying the thirst for dinosaurs of our daughter. The cafe didn't have an immense choice, but just enough to keep us going.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    215
    48
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great for kids, fantastic dinosaur room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great place to visit with kids. The museum aims at a young audience, but grown-ups will have a good time here too. When it's hot outside there's a bit of a musty smell, undoubtedly from all the stuffed animals, but then again you should be outside with those weather conditions anyway..

Make sure you visit the dinosaur room, which is amazing. And don't forget the display of insects with lives species all the way in the back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great collection of Dinosaurs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We visited the Museum last weekend and had a great time viewing all the Dinosaurs. The Museum is very clean and fun for everyone. We spent over 2 hours walking round and found it insightful and informative.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarschot, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“excellent day out with kids on a rainy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

You got kids that love dino's? (don't they all?) If so, gotto go. Very large collection of dino skeletons (including Pachysephalosaurus, tyrannnosaurus, Stegosaurus,...). Also many hands-on exhibits (making fire with stones,...) that kids just love. Our 5 year old was super excited, and that's all that counts to me!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“More than just animals...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Well hidden, yet renown Brussels museum for all family to spend excellent 3 hours. In fact, its hard to cover it during one visit, so expect to be back! Excellent facilities, reach exhibits with comments in 4 languages, lots of space to accommodate all visitors and yet to play hide and seek!
Although permanent exhibition is great, please take a note of a theme exhibition in the lower level. It could be worth a separate visit.
Downsides: hard to park nearby, while museum parking lot is good for early birds only. When its hot outside ( yes, we do get a few sunny days in Brussels), the aircon is not sufficient in a few rooms.

Just go and see it anyway, your kids will love it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Natural Sciences also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Natural Sciences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Natural Sciences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.