We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Natural Sciences

Museum of Natural Sciences
Rue Vautier 29, Brussels 1000, Belgium
02/627-42-38
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Museum of Natural Sciences like an insider
Top Rated
$25*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #13 of 334 things to do in Brussels
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Kids can’t enough of dinosaurs, so take to the biggest dinosaur gallery in Europe, the Museum des Sciences Naturelles. Star attractions include 30 fossilized Iguanodons discovered more than 130 years ago, along with a host of other dinoasaurs guaranteed to fascinate kids of all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This museum has a spectacular collection of real dinosaur skeletons. Sometimes it is crowded with schoolchildren but it is no a problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    216
    48
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Really excellent for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We took my son there (3.5 y.o.) and he loved the dinosaur bones. The main attraction is a collection of iguanadons that were accidentally discovered in a mine (and assembled incorrectly, but that's part of the fun). Overall, a great museum in a fascinating, architecturally interesting building. Very close to Luxembourg train station

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Museum for all ages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a huge museum with a number of great dinosaurs as well as all other animals, insects, etc. We went on a Friday morning and it must have been a school field trip for a number of schools. The kids were having all sorts of fun, there are many hands on exhibits for them to investigate. The big kid in me had fun too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best dinosaur exhibit around for all ages.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit this year and we are coming from Germany. It is awesome for kids of all ages. You could spend an hour or more in the dinosaur exhibit alone, however if you don't tire out easily, the rest of the museum is nicely laid out and there are spots to take a rest if needed. There are lockers available with a 1€ deposit so you don't need to haul around your stuff. There's also a little cafe with munchies and Segafreddo coffee. Parking is sparse at the museum and expensive however you can park for a couple of hours free along the street nearby. I've parked at Place Jourdan which is in front of the hotel Sofitel and walked through the nearby park to get to the museum. Parking there is max 2 hours for 3€ although I think it is free on Sundays. I've also parked along the street in front of the European Parliament building. You need the blue parking dial for that one because they ticket and it is 15€ for each one. There was a car with 2 tickets! So be warned!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A great museum lots to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a great museum just behind the euro parliament.

There is a wide range of exhibits from very old stuffed animals, to dinosaurs, to the story of evolution, to Eco messaging, to rocks and minerals.

A lot of the newer exhibits have English notes by them as well as French and Dutch, however the older exhibits do not.

There are a lot of interactive aspects, however only about half were in working order which was a real shame.

Make sure you watch the short animated film on evolution, although we warned that the tune will stick in your head for days!

It is a large museum and can be a little confusing so keep referring to the maps by the stairwells to make sure you see it all

The cafe was ok for a drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Natural Sciences also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Natural Sciences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Natural Sciences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.