We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few hours well spent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History

Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History
Parc du Cinquantenaire, 3, Brussels 1000, Belgium
027377811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 332 things to do in Brussels
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History is the perfect stop for history and military enthusiasts. Located in the two northernmost halls of the Cinquantenaire Park historic complex, the museum collections comprise more than 10 centuries of military and technology history, ranging from suits of armor, antique firearms and swords to armored vehicles and airplanes. Numerous paintings, sculptures, decorations, and military uniforms bring back to life the military history of this area. Admission is free. Closed on Mondays.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A few hours well spent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Filled with militaria going back to 18th century. Has a cool aircraft hangar and some tanks too. Went with my family. Kids loved it. Really interesting - gives the Imperial War Museum a run for its money.

If your in the area go.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    319
    83
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
925 reviews 925 reviews
315 attraction reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Bursting to the seams with cool military exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This museum is very very large with a huge variety of military exhibits. The beginning of the museum with all of the Belgian uniforms is kinda boring. Pro tip - just to the left of the entrance is the medieval exhibit. You can never go wrong with swords and armor and stuff like that. In the back of the museum is a special exhibit on WWI. It's awesome. Pro tip - it costs extra with a ticket you buy at a desk at the exhibit. Worth the money. Highly highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This review is in two parts as I found the military part cumbersome and although very large and extensive I found it was based far too much on Belguim and not much much about the rest of the other nations which I was not really interested in !
The aircraft one is very very good ,I think it is the best one I have ever visited ,the range of aircraft is quite fantastic , I think they have covered just about ever make and model there is ,you can even sit in the pilots seat of a fighter jet which was very much in demand the day we visited you need plenty of time to see everything properly ! Everything is free admission!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Well funded and organized”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Been a few times and each time I discover a bit more. The current World War I exhibit is a telling piece of what Belgium had to go through over 4 years of misery for both its civilians and its soldiers.

Many of the other older exhibits in the museum are only explained in French or Flemish so an audioguide may be recommended for more serious historical buffs. There are also many other very cool historical pieces and the place is wonderful for young families to explore when it gets too wet or hot outside.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio deJaneiro, Brazil
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Impressive museum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Very interesting showing diferente things.
We liked it. We are not people who adore weapons, but in this case it shows you a bit of history.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History also viewed

 

Been to Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.