We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History
Parc du Cinquantenaire - Jubelpark, Brussels 1000, Belgium
027377811
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 206 Attractions in Brussels
Type: Military Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History is the perfect stop for history and military enthusiasts. Located in the two northernmost halls of the Cinquantenaire Park historic complex, the museum collections comprise more than 10 centuries of military and technology history, ranging from suits of armor, antique firearms and swords to armored vehicles and airplanes. Numerous paintings, sculptures, decorations, and military uniforms bring back to life the military history of this area. Admission is free. Closed on Mondays.
Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Went there because of male friend who likes airplanes etc. The musuem is a bit old and outdated, but on the plus side it has free entrance.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    253
    63
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice plane collection of WW 1 & 2”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Belgium does not have much in history. Occupied by foreign forces from time to time. By Dutch, French and Germans. Upon entry you are welcomed by Mr. Napoleon Bonaparte's picture who was not a Belgian but lost the battle in Belgium - Waterloo. The downed planes in two wars on Belgian soil were collected and put together. Voila! they are on display. Housekeeping is poor which can be seen by the accumulated dust on the objects. Plane fans can visit to get an idea.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing collection, especially Aviation hall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

My children enjoyed the museum very much.. we did find a F16 for jet as well.. but the auto world near the museum ifs not that attractive compared to louwmen collection in Netherlands. but I'd say Army museum is must to see place in Brussels.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing museum, excellent collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I visited this museum for a while and I was amazed by the size of the collection. For me, the highlight of the visit was walking around the Aviation Hall. From seeing the ex-Sabena Caravelle erected high in the hall on a plinth to the wide collection of military and civil aviation exhibits, including a section dedicated to Sabena, complete with the front fuselage/cockpit from a Boeing 707.

Even if it's a means of sheltering from the rain, this is a 'must visit' museum for anyone visiting Brussels, especially if you have an interest in military or aviation.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I went to the museum without any expectations. But I was amazed to see the integrity and density of the exhibits. There is so much to see, understand and learn. It is one of those specialised museums, where you get sucked in because of the strength of the content. The Aviation Hall is mind boggling, and you get to see the planes which flew in WW I and many other historical war machines.
The best thing about the museum is that it is FREE. Any other city, you would easily be paying around 15 Euros for the entry. If you are inclined, you can easily spend the whole afternoon admiring the exhibits. Even otherwise, I would strongly recommend you to devote at least two hours to the museum.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.