We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go for the mannekin pis costumes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of the City of Brussels (Musee de la Ville de Bruxelles)

Museum of the City of Brussels (Musee de la Ville de Bruxelles)
Grand-Place, Brussels, Belgium
02-279-43-50
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$27*
and up
Ranked #52 of 206 Attractions in Brussels
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Specialty Museums, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Museums
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“go for the mannekin pis costumes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

i went here with one goal only -- to see the manneken pis costumes. they are on the top floor and the displays were great. a lot of the costumes are on little manneken mannikins, and others are displayed in drawers that you pull out. the costumes were great and made me wish that i had seen some costumes in action. i also wished the display room was larger, as it was a bit cramped. i bet people would love to see an entire museum just with this little dude's costumes.

also on the top floor was a photography exhibit by Cas Oorthuys. i know nothing about this
photographer but i am a total sucker for old black and white photos and thought several of the photos were just stunning. if you are already paying 4 euros to get into the museum, might as well spend one extra euro to go through this exhibit. it doesn't take long but i really enjoyed it.

i skipped the other floors. if you are a history buff, then you may enjoy these but otherwise i thought they were a bit of a bore.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    91
    50
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Something for the kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The entrance to this museum is across from Town Hall. This museum houses the vast collection of over 650 costumes donated to Manneken Pis from all over the world, some from visiting heads of state. Be sure to watch the video showing visitors reaction to this naughty peeing boy...hilarious. After seeing all these costumes I was really disappointed that after several visits to Manneken Pis on several different days he was not wearing any of his unique costumes.

Adults will enjoy the displays of the history, maps and models of the city during the 13th and 19th centuries . There is also some tapestries, paintings, carved altarpieces, sculptures and porcelain.

Cost: 4 euro for adults, 1.50 euro for children and 3 euro for seniors.

Open: Tues - Sun 10 am - 5 pm.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katelara
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Manneken Pis Costumes make this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We walked through this museum during our outing in the Grand Place - it was neat to learn some history about Brussels - but what sticks out to me the most were the Manneken Pis costumes - they are definitely a sight to see - it is amazing the intricate work that went into making these outfits.

We paid 4 Euro to enter and then 1 Euro for the "special" exhibit.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Great museum for the history of Brussels complete with 3-D maps demonstrating the development of the city. There is a great computer demo of tapestries and some very nice examples. The best room display room was that of the Manneken Pis dressed up in costumes from around the world. If you are an English speaker, don't waste your Euro on the photography exhibit. While everyone else gets headphones, you get a single sheet of paper that is not very informative.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Outstanding small museum... and Mannekin Pis costumes to boot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Located in the Grand Place and facing the City Hall, the entrance to this Museum was largely hidden behind concert seating which looks a permanent fixture of the square. But this really is a museum to visit to discover the history of Brussels, and see a different side of the Mannekin Pis.

The museum is in a beautiful building. High ceilings, stained glass and rich wall panelling indicate just how rich Brussels once was. The museum is spread over three floors each as interesting as the other.

The ground floor groups a number of objects from the city's history... from architectural artifacts, to silver, religious iconography and wonderful tapestries. Not too much but just enough to give the visitor an idea of what the city has been famous for over the centuries.

The second floor tracts the development of the city from a small village along the Senne to the heart of the European community today. Two large scale models show how the city looked in the 500s and then the 1700s. Take a moment to read the accompanying guides to the models which point out specific places in the models, their historical significance and then what is in that place today (perhaps the original building or maybe a carpark). Paintings depict the city throughout the ages.

But the top floor is the most fun. Did you know the Mannekin Pis sometimes wears costumes? There have been over 350 costumes designed for this most famous of Brussel's attractions by a variety of sponsors over a number of years. National costumes are worn on national days... for instance the Luxembourg outfit was worn by Mr. Pis that day itself. There are space outfits (from Nasa), hockey outfits (from Montreal Canadians) and even surreal costumes (from Magritte). Way fun. They say no pictures but I had my iPhone!!!

Finally, if you're there before the end of 2012... pay the extra Euro to see the Cas Oorthuys photographic exhibit on the top floor. Oorthuys was a Dutch photographer who took pictures of Brussels between 1946 and 1956. This photo essay whittled down from several thousand pictures show the human side of Brussels as it struggled to rebuild after the war through a vibrant modern city of the 50s. Great shots.

PS... don't be put off by the website which is frankly crap.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of the City of Brussels (Musee de la Ville de Bruxelles) also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the City of Brussels (Musee de la Ville de Bruxelles)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of the City of Brussels (Musee de la Ville de Bruxelles), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.