We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel. I recommend staying here.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel - Brussels

Save Saved
You added The Hotel - Brussels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Hotel - Brussels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38, Boulevard de Waterloo, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #10 of 194 hotels in Brussels
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Hotel. I recommend staying here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lovely entrance. Check-in reasonably easy, though generally front desk was not the best. I seemed to get served quicker in my suit than in my shorts!
Room was a newly redecorated one and is really lovely. Great views and lovely coffee machine and tea in the room. Shower had a problem but sure will be fixed. Bed very comfy and everything i needed, included lots of plug sockets and wi-fi that actually worked well.
Downside - one can still hear renovation work going on but this won't be forever and the doors of the rooms slam shut, so on both mornings I was woken very very early.
Breakfast was pretty good. Hot food was badly cooked and scrambled egg pretty disgusting but a nice selection of cold food and unlike many hotels they actually serves good orange juice and not the fake, watered down stuff.
The gym and spa is very over-hyped and in relaity the gym is sparsely equipped and the spa very small and there is a sauna, with cool views and a steam room, which was out of order.
My impression of the staff was mixed. I had meetings all day in the temporary bar area upstairs and despite being charged lots for drinks (€5 for water), the staff made every effort to make as much noise as possible, be it hoovering, clattering plates and general noise. I was not happy on check out to have been charged for items that i didn't sign for in the bar and this spoiled what was a good stay. One word of advice, if you have important meetings and want a place to meet people, this hotel is not ideal whilst the renovation is ongoing. The reception area and lounge/bar/restaurant on the 26th floor are too noisy and staff very inconsiderate.
I am sure this hotel will be great when renovation work is finished. The staff just need to work a little more on being customer friendly.

Room Tip: go high for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    530
    390
    115
    48
    23
See reviews for
74
445
37
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we stayed at the hotel for one night but it felt like we were on holiday for one week! the staff was very kind, the room was overwhelming (panorama), and the service was great. and not to forget the relaxing sauna with the large view over brussels. we had a great time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Their lobby is bit torn up at the moment for remodeling, but it really didn't cause us any problem. The hotel and rooms are gorgeous. Very clean. Extremely comfy mattress and bedding. Room a bit snug, but typically of Europe. Complimentary water, lemonade, and beer in the room fridge. Breakfast in their temporary 26th floor restaurant was great and with good views. 10min walk to museums, 15min to Grand Place. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBrusselsManager, DotCom Manager at The Hotel - Brussels, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear ARL2601,

I'm very happy to read that you would stay with us again, and I hope you will!
It's my pleasure to inform you that our new lobby is now open, and as of September we will also unveil the new restaurant & bar, and we are very excited about it :-)

Kindest Regards,

Kelly Wouters
DotCom Manager
The Hotel. Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stay in this hotel when it was run by the Hilton,it was Good that time but now under the Hotel Manegment become very good, I got free upgrade for bigger room also the breakfast free, but most Important is the WiFi not only free but very good the signel very strong all over the hotel I tried the Lounge in the 26th floor where you can get very good view over brussels.
The room very good, and very comfortable specially the interior in white color, even the bathrooms.
The staff very helpfull and they did there best to help.
Go for it don't think twice Because I will go for it again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed in a Deluxe room on the 23rd floor with a magnificent view of the city. The room was spectacular. Contemporary, very high end and everything in 'fashion' theme. On the same level there is a large fitness area and a small but cosy Spa.

We especially enjoyed the great service (one bartender in particular was just amazing) and the food/drinks at the top floor bar. As the hotel is building a new restaurant on the bottom floor they arranged a temporary restaurant there. The breakfast we got was (again) spectacular and high above what you might expect in most 4-star hotels.

The Hotel is currently renovating and finishing a large part of the building. The nice thing about this, is that you hardly notice this as a guest. One may only imagine what the experience will be like once everything is complete...

Overall there is just nothing bad to say about our stay. Every single aspect was perfect and we hope to go back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This new hotel has a great location, near the Sablon, and only a 15 minute walk to the Grand Place. The rooms on upper floors have great views. Large windows and window seat is a nice touch. Modern minimalist design from lobbies to hallways to rooms is consistently high style and elegant. Bed is one of the best I've enjoyed in a hotel. Warm and unobtrusive service. Public spaces and rooms kept clean. Now for the down side: Ground floor restaurant is under construction, so lobby is tight until construction is complete. Temporary restaurant on the 26th floor has great views, but will become a function room after lobby level restaurant is completed. Here is the big flaw: the standard rooms do not have a dresser, or any functional drawer space for clothes. Only a small armor for hanging garments. But for folded clothes, underclothes, socks, etc, there is nothing. I called the front desk and the concierge came to assist, and he was at a loss. He suggested out my garments on the sofa and on my two end tables. When I made a dissatisfied face, he suggested I move to a suite (triple the price) because they have dressers. After making some additional bad suggestions, he then suggested I remove the glassware and mugs from the coffer/drink cabinet above the mini-bar fridge, and use that for storing clothes. That was actually a good suggestion, and it worked, but one shouldn't have to go through those machinations in a luxury hotel, standard room or not. While we are quibbling, here are some other things the room is missing: Folding suitcase stand, alarm clock, ironing board/iron, bathroom scale, waste basket in the room (only one tiny one in the bathroom), bathroom towel rack, q-tips in the bathroom. The hotel gym and spa are nice, but the steam room is still under construction, and not usable yet. The sauna has one of the best views in the city. But there are also practical things missing from the gym: No adjustable workout bench, no clocks in the gym, no towel return basket in the fitness room. The spa is missing some practical items as well: No trash basket in the men's locker room. No clocks in the men's locker room or in the spa/sauna. Not good to lose track of how long you've been in the sauna. There are certainly many good amenities, such as robe/slippers, high end toiletries, etc. But it is not good enough to get only half the things right, and forget about the other half.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor possible, because the views will be spectacular. My room was on the 16th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBrusselsManager, DotCom Manager at The Hotel - Brussels, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your very helpful feedback. You are mentioning some things that we already discussed internally and are planning to set-up, but you also provided us new elements definitely worth looking into! Our General Manager Johan Joris will get in touch with you personally for a follow-up.

Kindest Regards,

Kelly Wouters
DotCom Manager
The Hotel. Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malahide, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had an amazing 3 night stay in The Hotel. Our deluxe room on the 24th floor was luxurious and had a fantastic view of the city. Access to the Panorama room is a real treat as you can help yourself to all the free wine, champagne, beers, soft drinks and yummy snacks you could want. Staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great with easy access to all the attractions either on foot or on the metro. I can't wait to return to this hotel. Loved it!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room if you're staying midweek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBrusselsManager, DotCom Manager at The Hotel - Brussels, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Alidk,

So nice to read you will return, we already look forward welcoming you again!

Kindest Regards,

Kelly Wouters
DotCom Manager
The Hotel. Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel - Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel - Brussels

Address: 38, Boulevard de Waterloo, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 194 hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel - Brussels 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is changing Brussels.One of the most exclusive and fashionable addresses in Brussels. A superb combination of city views and excellent accessibility.What's more, The Hotel is upgrading its rooms and services to change the way you stay in Brussels. Enjoy relaxed luxury and sophisticated services that get better every time you visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Escapio, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel - Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel - Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.