We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astrid Centre Hotel Brussels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Astrid Centre Hotel Brussels to your Saves list
Astrid Centre Hotel Brussels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place du Samedi 11 | Zaterdagplein, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, quiet, comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

On a recent business trip to Brussels, I didn't remember to book my hotel until the night before. I found the Astrid Centre Hotel, which had availability, a decent rate, and was in the center, very close to the line 5 metro, which is where I needed to be. I was a bit apprehensive about the mixed reviews on TripAdvisor, but decided to give it a try.

I found absolutely nothing to complain about. The front desk staff was very courteous. I arrived at the hotel jet-lagged at about 10am. Although the usual check-in time is 3pm, and the rooms were still being cleaned (many guests had not even checked out yet), the staff promised me the first available room, and I got my room at 11am. I was able to get some sleep before my 2pm conference. My 4th floor room was in the back, facing a courtyard, and was very quiet (except for a neighbor's occasionally barking dog). The room was a good size, with two beds, a desk, TV, and safe, and a shower that worked very well (not always a given in Europe).

I did not try the breakfast that was available for EUR 12.

I did purchase internet access, which cost EUR 10 for 24 hours. A slight inconvenience was that I had to physically walk to the front desk to pick up the internet id and password; for some reason, it could not be done over the phone or on the internet. Since I knew about this fee ahead of time, I had mentally included it in the price, so I was not bothered having to pay it.

The hotel's location is very central, less than 2 minutes walking from the Saint Catherine's metro stop, and close to downtown restaurants and bars.

I would not hesitate staying there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu J, Responsable commercial at Astrid Centre Hotel Brussels, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Peter,

We would like to thank you for your stay with us and appreciate you took the time to share your opinion about the hotel.

We would be happy to welcome you again for your next visit in Brussels.

Best Regards,

Mathieu JACOB
Sales é Marketing Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    100
    104
    52
    36
See reviews for
21
133
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Terrible, terrible desk personnel. As an example, I had to print my boarding card for the trip back home. The computer in the lobby had an internet connection on payment, and that's (borderline) ok.
Too bad that, after having said what I needed the computer for and having paid, it turned out the printer was out of service... and for the first time in my life, out of dozens of business trips, the desk refused to print a single page of paper as they were "not authorized" to.

I consider such a thing as missing a basic element for a structure that wants to have business people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

nice hotel , very good location - in the center of the city ( 5 minutes of walking to main streets )
very basic hotel , there's no "wow" when you are entering the lobby and the room , but it has all that regular traveller needs - clean hotel , in the right location
breakfast really sucks
but the rest is ok
including the stuff ( very nice )
if you want to feel like a king - go looking in 5 star hotels , but if you are looking for basic hotel - that's the place to be

Room Tip: choose the room that will not face the road because it can be little bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The location of this hotel is the only positive thing to say really. Check in was busy, patience is required! We got a great deal and if I had paid any more I would have complained as breakfast is not included in the price! I really wouldn't rate this Hotel as a 3star which is claims to be. The room was very out-dated pillows were so thin they were practically non-existent. The room was decorated with a harsh red colour and the bathroom sink was green........very odd colour combination! Would not recommend and would not stay here again. You had to leave your key at reception if you were going out , but because reception is so busy, it was an ordeal! We asked for our room not to be cleaned and it was. Strange place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The location of this hotel is good - easy walking distance to the Metro, city centre and restaurants and in a safe area. The price is also good, but I'm not sure if it's worth the quality. The hotel has no character and a generally unwelcoming feel. The beds are extremely uncomfortable. The staff are not particularly friendly either and the hotel has an irritating policy of making you pay one night at a time - i.e. you cannot pay for your entire stay at the end of your trip but must pay each day individually. Furthermore, they charge €10 per day for an internet connection that doesn't work. Even after I complained that there was no wifi signal (my colleagues had the same problem) they refused to refund the internet charge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malang
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

It's one of the cheapest hotel I've ever booked in europe. I stayed for 1 night for approx 25euro. I choose the cash n sleep program because I just need it for sleeping (it's the best option if you only need a place to sleep). The reception was quite busy so need a little patient on this one, the room was quite nice (a modest style) and enough facility to take a shower and a night stay. You can have breakfast by walking around the hotel because it's close to the center. Don't forget to take the picture in the beautiful church nearby the hotel. But becareful with the nomads around the square.
I would recommend this hotel than a hostel to stay in brussel with privacy.

Room Tip: The room with the view of the church is nice. And ask the staff if you want a map or hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunndalsora, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Nice hotel for the money. Located near senter, difficalt to find little street at once, but if you ask about St.Catherina square, it*s very easy after that. Walking distanse (15-20 min) from Sentral stastion (og Nord stastion), must pay city tax, breakfast not included and expensive - 12 eu, but just outside - 3-5 locations wich provided breakfast to every taste and from 2 to 12 eu. Not fashionable, but clean, have no problems with personell, if you book buss tour - pic-up service from the hotel.

Room Tip: Not next to elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astrid Centre Hotel Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astrid Centre Hotel Brussels

Address: Place du Samedi 11 | Zaterdagplein, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astrid Centre Hotel Brussels 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Astrid Centre Hotel Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astrid Centre Brussels
Brussels Astrid Centre Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astrid Centre Hotel Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.