We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep coming back - again and again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brussels Welcome Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brussels Welcome Hotel to your Saves list
Brussels Welcome Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai au bois a bruler 23 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Keep coming back - again and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

Welcome - my favourite hotel. Having travelled around the world in this particularly charming hotel for the past 15 years during my frequent stays in Brssels, I keep coming back - again and again. I have stayed in most of the rooms - from the splendours of the Silk Road and Egypt to Bali and India, always enjoying the exquisite decoration and beautiful textile colours. Moreover, in summer time you can enjoy your private balcony from Bali and Tibet.

The combination of these ancient-style interiors with the top-class modern bathrooms is seducing. Tha bathrooms are all different, many of them with jacuzzi bathtubs and twin wash-basins. Everything shining with perfect cleanliness.

The breakfast is excellent, well suited for all tastes. Is served in a wonderful breakfast-room open on to the lively Place Sainte-Catherine with all its famous fish restaurants. A special pleasure in December when you can watch the Christmas Market just outside the windows.

This hotel really deserves its name - WELCOME. I always feel welcome and AT HOME in this extraordinary friendly atmosphere. Michael, Sophie, and their staff are doing their utmost to help and please their guests, in a very personal way.

Moreover, Welcome is perfectly situated in the centre of Brussels, with a central Metro line practically at the door.

Since I travel a lot, I love to stay in a place where I feel at home, enjoying comfort and personal charm. So I will be back - again and again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    285
    69
    23
    16
See reviews for
123
454
62
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

The hotel is situated near the heart of the city. The rooms differ from the standard values in their exotic decoration, while the modern bathing rooms and excellent beds guarantee a high standard of comfort. The personnel was really helpful, this is a family hotel at it´s best. The breakfast was wellorganised and all the ingredients fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in 'Thailand' and really enjoyed it, from the painted sunset ceiling to the Buddhas, headpieces and general decor. Had a look in the Egyptian suite too which was stunning. Vincent very helpful as were other staff on duty and breakfast was great. The hotel is positioned right by the Christmas markets. Would recommend to anyone who appreciates something a little different.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

The first thing we noticed upon checking in to the Istanbul room was an overwhelming "spice-market" smell. This smell was so strong that we had to open a window to air the room out. After complaining to the staff, we were told the maids spray the scent to give the room an "authentic" feel, even though it was enough to make you gag. In addition, the sheets were covered in hair, there were holes in the comforter and the brown blanket had white stains on it. The bed itself was incredibly uncomfortable. Luckily the free breakfast was very good, including a coffee machine which helped us get over our fatigue after our poor night’s rest. The location was very good, but I would recommend any hotel in Brussels over the Welcome Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

This hotel is more like a B&B than a 3-star Brussels hotel. On that basis it is not bad, but I though I would get a more upmarket hotel for $135 euros per night. But that is probably Brussels pricing. On the plus side, it is centrally located, the bed was comfortable, the shower was great and the breakfast was fine. My problem was with the hole in the bedspread and the motheaten mosquito net covering our bed in the Congo Room. Staff were OK but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh,Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

I stay at the hotel 2 or 3 times a year when in Brussels for business or pleasure. I’m been coming to Brussels for the last 9 years and this hotel is one of three I normally choose from; the other two are being the Marriott downtown & Executive Apartments. I stay almost a third of every year in hotels so when I find a hotel I like and feel comfortable with I stick with it. Pros: Great owners/staff, room rates, location, free wireless, good breakfast, unique decorations (6ft ancient Chinese solder, airline seats, etc), clean, 100ft from the Metro, plenty of nearby restaurants nearby. Cons: smaller rooms, limited work space, no elevator to the last floor, small lobby, no bar. Is this hotel for everyone, no, especially if you like everything to be the same whether you’re in Brussels or St Louis, I like it because of the pros listed above and look forward to the next time I stay there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I simply cannot say enough about this hotel. From the location to the service, it was by far one of the best placed I've stayed in Europe. I stayed there two nights and then a third night a few days later as I was traveling to a few cities.

I stayed in both the Tahiti and Bali rooms, and both were FAR larger than nearly any other room I've stayed in across Europe. Both of them had an amazing mood to them, and the beds and bathrooms in both were superb. The Bali room offered a fantastic view of the area, and the neighborhood was both quiet and safe in the evenings.

The hotel is in easy walking distance from the Central station, and is only a few stops on the Metro from the Midi station. There is easy access to both parts of the city (upper and lower), and the hotel is quite easy to find. Walking back from the center of town around midnight, I did not for a moment feel uncomfortable in the surroundings.

The staff were possibly the best part of this hotel. Whether it was helping me with directions, questions on local culture, or simply a bit of conversation, they were all fantastic. Truth be told, the morning I was to leave for the airport, there was a general strike, and the owner was kind enough to drive me himself so I would not miss my flight home. This in itself captures the overall attitude of the hotel and staff.

Add on a great price that includes both WiFi and a good breakfast, and there is no question that whenever I return to Brussels, I will be staying here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brussels Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brussels Welcome Hotel

Address: Quai au bois a bruler 23 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brussels Welcome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet street in the heart of Brussels at Place St. Catherine - the old Fish Market of Brussels, 6 minutes walking from the famous Grand Place. The hotel is both unusual and surprising offering a veritable world tour for it's discerning clientele, as each of it's 16 rooms represents a country of the world. The rooms are uniquely decorated in the style of each country with genuine artifacts, some provided by previous hotel guests. The newly renovated rooms offer genuine comfort, each has a bath or shower room, toilet, TV, telephone, and internet access. This is the magic place which will make dream most demanding people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Brussels Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brussels Welcome Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.