We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brussels Welcome Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Brussels Welcome Hotel to your Saves list
Brussels Welcome Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai au bois a bruler 23 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The Hotel Welcome was an amazing hotel. Service was great as well as breakfast. We stayed in the Marakesh room and it was absolutely fantastic and beautiful. It was in a very good location and overall an amazing hotel!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    262
    64
    21
    14
See reviews for
112
414
58
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Concord
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

WE stayed here in early June. The location is perfect. Our room, the Tahiti room, was imaginative and charming. It was clean and fun. The staff helped us so much. The St. Catherine's/ Fisherman's Canal area was a great place to stay while getting acquainted with Brussels, and recovering from jet lag. Our stay was perfect, in large part, due to the Welcome Hotel and its wonderful staff. We purchased some "local" specialty beer, asked to have it refrigerated, planned to drink it in the lobby, and without asking the night manager ran next door, and got us EXACTLY the most proper glass for our beer. The breakfast is tasty. We will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Was WiFi only in the lobby?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 nights in this hotel - each night in different room :) Little crazy, but I wanted to explore more designs... Very nice designed rooms with private bathroom. Breakfast was rich even I case late. Metro station is just in front of the house - ideally situated for late returns. The hotel is located cca 5 min from Grand Plaza - around are many great restaurants and pubs. The stuff was extremely friendly and helpful - my pleasure to stay there!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights in the Silk Road suite. The problems are not with the suite itself but management practices. There is a strange policy of no-food-or-drink-in-the-room. Consequently there is no fridge and no drinking glasses provided. This is a very intrusive and distrustful expectation on the privacy of guests. A large smelly ashtray at the entrance to the hotel greets all guests. The ground floor breakfast area is dismal. Only one set of keys is provided for each room. These negatives are a pity and could easily be rectified by management.

There are many positives. Our room was a generous size with plenty of space. The decor is fun (if a tad impractical). There is a view, a good TV, free wi-fi, proximity to shops and restaurants, great bathroom and separate toilet, plenty of windows, an enormous bed and the cost is reasonable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weert, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have stayed two times in this hotel, and the rooms are extraordinary. If you are looking for a different experience hotel than the norm, this is one for you. Each room is decked out in a theme that recreates the feel and look of place and time in history, from Silk Route to Japan, India to East Africa, each room is different.
The service is friendly and easy. The hotel is in easy reach of some fine restaurants. The hotel itself does not have an evening meal.
If you go by car, the hotel also offers and covered parking place in easy walking distance.
An extraordinary hotel for a weekend visit in Brussels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Spent 2 nights here recovering from jet lag. Perfect location in Brussels to walk everywhere. Used their airport pick-up service which is a good idea unless you have been to Brussels before. Great breakfast, coffee tea available all day. After hours vending machine with snacks, & wine in it! Clean, clean, clean! Front desk very helpful with maps and directions. Would definitely stay there again. Right across the street from some of the best fish restaurants in town. 5 star with personality!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Welcome Hotel the first week of June as Brussels was our port of entry for this summer's European vacation. After a long night flying we had the hotel pick us up at BRU and by 9:30 AM we were checking in at the hotel. Chloe who is awesome, let us know that instead of storing our bags that the guest who was occupying the room just checked out, and that she could have the room ready in 30 minutes if we wanted to have some coffee and snacks in the lobby and wait a bit. Sounded like a deal to us and it gave us a chance to settle down and check our sightseeing plans for the day.

30 minutes later the housekeeping was finished with the Brussels Room and Chloe showed us the unique details of the room. It has a kids section with 3 convertible day beds and a piece of the Atonium from a referb a few years back. A separate WC and bath with jacuzzi tub with its own Manequin Pis and massage shower were between the kids room and the adult room. The adult room was decorated in a Magritte theme complete with boler hats. Fun.

Chloe was great with sightseeing tips, making sure the breakfast room was always stocked and tidy and in ensuring our transportation needs were met.

My only caution for travelers is that the Brussels room is on the ground floor and there can be some street noise as patrons of the local restaurants drive off late at night. We also had a little bit of cigarette smoke that wafted from the ashtray near the front entrance and down the hall toward our room. When we mentioned this to the evening manager he quickly moved the ashtray out of the breeze path. Which again was typical of the level of service the people at the hotel provide to guests.

Overall a very nice visit and my wife wants us to come back to stay in the other rooms.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brussels Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brussels Welcome Hotel

Address: Quai au bois a bruler 23 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Brussels Welcome Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet street in the heart of Brussels at Place St. Catherine - the old Fish Market of Brussels, 6 minutes walking from the famous Grand Place. The hotel is both unusual and surprising offering a veritable world tour for it’s discerning clientele, as each of it’s 15 rooms represents a country of the world. The rooms are uniquely decorated in the style of each country with genuine artifacts, some provided by previous hotel guests. The newly renovated rooms offer genuine comfort, each has a bath or shower room, toilet, TV, telephone, safe, mini bar, and internet access. This is the magic place which will make dream most demanding people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brussels Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brussels Welcome Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.