We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms superbly decorated, but not fully functional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brussels Welcome Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Brussels Welcome Hotel to your Saves list
Brussels Welcome Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai au bois a bruler 23 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Rooms superbly decorated, but not fully functional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are beautifully decorated. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is decent. Hotel manager is nice, funny and WiFi is fast. My only complaint is that the rooms are a bit small and the bathroom lacked a place to put things. Overall, a great experience in a lovely city.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    272
    66
    23
    15
See reviews for
118
435
60
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Usa
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

...we had booked a stay of 5 nights earlier this month. We had arranged for them to pick us up at the airport which worked out great. We were given the India room which was decent size as was the bathroom. While the decor was interesting we found the room a little too cluttered. Also to get into the bathroom it was necessary to step up on a threshold that was high enough so that I , at 6 feet tall, had to duck to get into the bathroom. We also found the lighting in the bathroom inadequate. We also were aware of street noise at night. The free wifi was very good & the included breakfast was fine. Great location for restaurants & an easy safe walk to the main square & other sights. Our 3rd day there I learned a significant change in our flight schedule home made it necessary for us to leave after 4 nights. I was surprised & disappointed to learn they had to charge me for the 5th night we had booked even though we would not be there....something about their cancellation policy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeBrussels, Propriétaire at Brussels Welcome Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your compliments.
It is true that when you made ​​a contract with another person, There are conditions. In both directions!. In this instance, or you or we are not responsible, I can only advise you to redirect you to your travel insurance or the airline that changes your holiday without your consent.
and most of all, it was a pleasure to welcoming you
Best regards
Michel Smeesters
Ps: One of my employees is agree with you : he is 1m 90 and he says that all the doors are too little in all the houses he visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We only had one night in Brussels, and were so glad we stayed at this hotel! The location is wonderful, such a nice neighborhood with many restaurants nearby. You felt like you were in Paris. The Metro station is right down the street and very convenient. We had the "Istanbul" room, which was a real experience - we loved the decor. It is so nice to get out and experience other hotels that aren't like the chain hotels in the U.S. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and everyone we talked to at the hotel was friendly and very nice. We would go back, and hope to someday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The location of this hotel is superb. Right next to St. Katherine Cathedral and to great restaurants across the street and the neighboring places in which you will also find nightlife. However, three things distinguish this hotel. First, Chloe is a wonderful hostess. As soon as you check-in she provides a guide-quality explanation of the city and landmarks. The staff in general are truly hospitable. Second, each room is decorated according to destinations around the world. Really, out of the ordinary in a good way. Third, the hotel is affordable compared to other options and breakfast is included. We consider this a traveler's hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very nice hotel. well decorated, nice location. personnel is very helpful.service is nice. very close to city center. thanks to all hotel management. you can stay there if you want to stay at nice and gorgeous hotel in Brussuls city center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Welcome Hotel is very conveniently located -- two metro stops (about 5 minutes) from Brussels Central train station and the nearby SQUARE convention center. You can also walk there is about 12 minutes. The hotel is in a nice part of the city with lots of nearby, cozy restaurants. The staff is helpful, the breakfast is pretty good, the free WiFi works well, and the room is small but comfortable. However, if you are a PETA member or just object to the senseless killing of animals, ask not to be in the Congo room -- the leopard skin stretched on the wall above the bed will send you over the edge. And the decor in this room is a bit of a horror show -- an African motif that calls to mind the "George of the Jungle" cartoon show, including pictures from colonial times in the Belgian Congo. If you want a hot shower, forget it. At best, the water is lukewarm. One evening, the water never even got that warm. If you can put up with the funkiness, the Welcome Hotel is pretty good. Just be prepared for all of its quirks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeBrussels, Propriétaire at Brussels Welcome Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sir,
I want to thank you for all your compliments.
It is true that you can not please everyone in all areas, but it seems to me that bringing the authentic African Art (the parts in the room are original) to an horror show is a little contemptuous for people who mades these parts. It is true that we have installed a new system of co-generation (which should give us hot water in an ecological way) that gave us concern. But we are fighting for the comfort of our guest and our technicians have finally discovered the flaw!. thanking you again for your compliments,
Yours

Michel Smeesters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Recently spent three nights in the "Morocco" room. Spacious, clean, comfortable and charming. Nicely located near a metro station for easy access to train station. Restaurants nearby. Room could have a little more light.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brussels Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brussels Welcome Hotel

Address: Quai au bois a bruler 23 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brussels Welcome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet street in the heart of Brussels at Place St. Catherine - the old Fish Market of Brussels, 6 minutes walking from the famous Grand Place. The hotel is both unusual and surprising offering a veritable world tour for it’s discerning clientele, as each of it’s 15 rooms represents a country of the world. The rooms are uniquely decorated in the style of each country with genuine artifacts, some provided by previous hotel guests. The newly renovated rooms offer genuine comfort, each has a bath or shower room, toilet, TV, telephone, safe, mini bar, and internet access. This is the magic place which will make dream most demanding people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Brussels Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brussels Welcome Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.