We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stand-out hotel with useful amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brussels Welcome Hotel

Save Saved
You added Brussels Welcome Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brussels Welcome Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quai au bois a bruler 23 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 194 hotels in Brussels
Tappan, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stand-out hotel with useful amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We arrived in Brussels in the early am-naturally we could not check in but the staff at Welcome stored our bags, answered our questions and off we went to the Magritte museum. We were delighted on our return to find we were upgraded to the Silk Road room with one of the most fantastic spa bathrooms I've ever had the pleasure to use. Great shower, whirlpool tub and the king size bed was great. The breakfast in the morning had plenty of choices -- great croissants and super coffee, as well as eggs, fruit, cheeses and meats. A great pleasure to stay -- not a cookie-cutter hotel experience by any means but quality all the way. Only downside -- street noise was a little too loud in the wee hours (we kept the windows cracked open because the night air was refreshing.) Thank you to the Welcome Hoel for a great stay!!!

Room Tip: Silk Road all the way!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    474
    252
    62
    21
    14
See reviews for
106
390
57
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Welcome Hotel the first week of September. The owner has decorated each room in the motif of a country he has visited in the past which makes it a very unique and fun place to stay. The rooms are large with the usual amenities that U.S. travelers expect, decor details and pieces that are very interesting and spacious modern bathrooms. It is located in a great neighborhood with easy access to the subway and great restaurants and walking distance from many of the tourist sites of Brussels. The staff are very friendly and helpful and made excellent recommendations for local restaurants. The buffet breakfast included in the room price had a good selection of both hot and cold choices and internet access via wifi or a communal computer was free. I highly recommend this establishment which though not inexpensive is worth the expense.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Hotel Welcome three times, and will do so again when we return to Brussels.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are pleasant and unique and are decorated in various motifs such as Egypt and India. The rooms are well fitted and very comfortable.

The location is perfect. There is a subway station just across the street that you can use to go anywhere in Brussels. You are within easy walking distance from market square and a pleasant walk to the train station.

Even more important are the excellent restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel.

On our last trip, we were delayed leaving the US by hurricane Isaac and arrived late at the hotel. As a nice gesture, they upgraded our room to a full suite!

We have traveled all over Europe, and there is not a finer place to stay than the Hotel Welcome.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. The more you pay, the more room you get, but they are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We saw this hotel online with some quirky reviews. It is listed as the number romantic hotel so we decided to book it for one night. We had booked the India room & on arrival was offered the Egypt room. The manager went into great length to explain that we had the choice of choosing our original booking or taking the second option and going for the Egypt room. He explained several times that he wanted us to see India first & then go up see Egypt & repeated himself several times on how to unlock each room. We did as he had told us & on first glance we were very impressed with Egypt as it had a huge bathroom with a jacuzzi bath & a separate shower. When we went down to hand back the keys to India, only then did he care to mention that he would charge us extra for Egypt. By this time we had already moved all our bags up to the upgraded room and were too exhausted to move again or argue with him. On closer inspection the room was large, over decorated & tacky. We found the Egyptian decorations & statues creepy, the bed linen were clean but old with many holes, the bed sank in the middle & the TV remote control was chained to the wall. The amazing jacuzzi bath faucet knobs kept falling off but the jacuzzi did work well. We also felt disgusted by the sign on the lift which stated that guests would be charged 20 euros if found to have food in the room! We felt the final price we paid for the room would have paid for a lovely room in a 4* hotel where we would have felt comfortable. Overall we hated our experience at this hotel & would never stay again nor recommend anyone else to.

Room Tip: Do not choose the Egypt room, it is full of tacky, broken decorations & is just creepy. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeBrussels, Manager at Brussels Welcome Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments we are sorry that you missinterpreted the owner's bargain on the suite, usualy the difference between a deluxe and a suite is 80€ we thought you would have appreciate this incredible reduction.
Room decoration is as subjective as your comments, fair enough and we respect this, Unfortunatly we do not think that taste can conducte to such unrespectfull comments on our hotel, 97% of our customer are more than happy with our concept, we are sory you didn't enjoy you stay in our hotel
Regding food in the rooms, this is just information, as all our decoration are coming from all over the world we can not take the risk of deterioration, this is why we have a dining room at your disposal.
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for one night in the Silk Road Suite on 25th August 2012. We had seen pictures so had an idea of what to expect but it exceeded those expectations. When we booked it was rated as #1 Boutique hotel in Brussels and I can see why.

Staff were very helpful and spoke good English. Complimentary wifi which reached our room above. Lovely bathroom with whirlpool bath and very spacious bedroom. Views to the front over Quai a bois a Bruler, which was historically a quay with fish market, now largely paved over. View of St Catherine's church which is being spruced up at present.

A very short walk to St Gery, shopping roads, the Beurse, Grand Place- all in all very well located. We walked from Gare du Midi in about 25 mins.

Breakfast was buffet style but we were pleased to find cooked breakfast (self service) on offer too. We have already recommended this hotel to various friends and commend it to you too.

Room Tip: Didn't see the other suite but if you can splash out for the Silk Road suite I doubt you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Booked a room here on the recommendation of a friend who stayed here a few years ago. While the manager was extremely polite and helpful, the room was seriously sub-standard. We had been booked into Saigon. Although described as a "standard" room, it was far too small for two people, for two nights. There was literally a bed, and a small table with a kettle on it. And to get to the bed was a squeeze! The bathroom was decent, although I spotted several public hairs that had not been cleaned out of the shower.

We asked to move to another room and unfortunately the hotel was fully booked. Although the mananger insisted that the room was standard for European hotels, it was by far the smallest room I've ever seen in a hotel. In fact we ended up checking out (and foreiting our money for two nights, which the hotel refused to refund) and staying in a room four times the size, called Le Dixseptieme, around the corner, for not much more money.

Room Tip: Avoid Saignon. In fact, don't bother with any "Standard" room - they are all very smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeBrussels, Owner at Brussels Welcome Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is nice to hear that you finally found a suitable room for you.
The size of our standard rooms is mentionned on each website and is respecting all offical standards.
If effectivelly size is a personal notion, our standard room are much appreciated by lot's of non european travellers.
At the moment of your booking the choice to have a larger room was open but a little more expensive. You decided to book the lowest rate available the non refundable rate for standard bedroom, unfortunatly the condition of this rate type are clear and this is the reason why it is much cheaper.
As you didn't accept my "free of charge" offer to change into a deluxe room for you second night and you decided to change hotel, you did not get the chance to experience our deluxe room. Just for information all our deluxe room are equipped with Jacuzzi.
All our rooms are cleaned by professionals and checked by the housekeeper and myself. I am sure the comment about the cleanliness was only related to your dissatisfaction and not to the real state of the room - fair enough
I am sorry the experience in our hotel has not met your expectation maybee avoiding boutique hotel might be a good tip for your next trip to Brussels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Never having to been to Brussels we really didn't know what to expect...our introduction to this great city began at the airport where Sophie from the Brussels Welcome Hotel greeted us as planned. On our drive Sophie gave us lots of info about the area and we arrived to find our room (India) ready for us. Our 4 night stay with her and Michael was so comfortable, we felt we were among friends. We started each day with a more than ample breakfast to fuel us for sightseeing. We totally enjoyed being in a "neighborhood", away from the busy tourist areas. We always felt completely safe in and around the hotel. There were plenty of choices for dinner if you want to stay close bye, or walk the short distance to the Grand Place area. We would definitely recommend this fun and comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: We chose a delux room, wanting AC and a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brussels Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brussels Welcome Hotel

Address: Quai au bois a bruler 23 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 194 hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Brussels Welcome Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet street in the heart of Brussels at Place St. Catherine - the old Fish Market of Brussels, 6 minutes walking from the famous Grand Place. The hotel is both unusual and surprising offering a veritable world tour for it’s discerning clientele, as each of it’s 15 rooms represents a country of the world. The rooms are uniquely decorated in the style of each country with genuine artifacts, some provided by previous hotel guests. The newly renovated rooms offer genuine comfort, each has a bath or shower room, toilet, TV, telephone, safe, mini bar, and internet access. This is the magic place which will make dream most demanding people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Brussels Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brussels Welcome Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.