We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like this authentic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Dixseptieme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Dixseptieme to your Saves list
Le Dixseptieme
25 Rue de la Madeleine | Brussels, Brussels B1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Like this authentic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

While on business I do like to stay in this hotel. The pricing is depending on time of the year. I defintive like this hotel over the next door Novotel. So no Accor points when I saty here;)

Probbaly by coincident the boiler did breakdown last week during my stay.No shower for me that day...The staff was very professional and offered compensation. Excellent breakfast in this classic hotel.

Room Tip: The old part is really nice. The new part is also good. If you want a superb stay, stay in the old p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    78
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
37
107
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Le Dixseptieme is very central and as a result, you need to take into account that with all of the 1 way streets it can be both difficult to find with your GPS and then quickly unload luggage; be French about it, stick your ground and calmly unload luggage. Best parking is Grand Place, about 500m away.

Interior is calm and typical of newly refurbished hotels taupe, browns and creams....all very generic McPlain Wrap. Staff was on the whole friendly but reluctant to speak English or Dutch except the staff member on the 30th of December who checked us out....Brussels is after all a little slice of Paris in the low countries. I must point out that we mixed up our dates and they did not charge us for the 1st night when we didn´t turn up but with a bottle of champagne costing 90 Euro a bottle, they made up for it. `

The room (Wouters) was on the 3rd floor in the "new" part of the hotel, down some rather slippy polished steps in the poorly lit courtyard (recommend doing something about this). On the whole this "junior suit" was OK but the paint work was very scuffed as it really required a refresh. The suit part consisted of a nice seating area down 3 steps at the end of the room with a sofa and TV which is a good addition to the room. The bathroom was very very small and the toilet was similarly compact. The room had minimal atmosphere but acceptable.

The room was not cleaned well, clear layer of dust on the tables. We discovered a pair of jeans in the cupboard reinforcing the fact that the room was not cleaned regularly. Bathroom had mould and this is something a refuse to accept from a property with a 4 star rating.

Breakfast was typical of these "bed and breakfast" hotels, don't expect 4 star service; this runs to the complete lack of lunch and dinner or snacks. Use it only as a B&B. There are restaurants around the hotel of various quality.

Overall, this hotel is acceptable as a certrally located B&B; you pay for the central location.

Room Tip: Take your own bottled water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location can't be better. A few steps from everything. The hotel is beautiful, it was decorated with class for Xmas, avoiding the flashy red colours. The suite Magritte was large and pleasant, with a kitchen ! The bathroom could be better if the plumbing was working smoothly.
The staff is limited, so the place feels a bit lifeless. And the winter rates are a real bargain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We wanted a hotel right near the Grand Place, because unfortunately we would only be in Brussels one day. Le Dixseptieme had such nice reviews, and a long history and Grand Hotel type, so we chose this hotel. From the very beginning (making reservations from America) everything was better than fantastic. Their reservation people were enormously helpful via emails, and when we got there, the concierge was pleasant, efficient, knowledgeable and kind. Our suite in the historic section (we were three people) was amazing. We had a huge living area with dining table, TV, computer hook-up, and lots of comfy chairs and a sofa. The separate bedroom had plenty of room and a great large queen-type bed. The bath was also just perfect. Breakfast the next morning was in a delightful room and the selections were many and delicious. We had a short walk from the hotel to the Grand Place. And, if this was not enough, the hotel is right next to a Neuhaus Belgian chocolate shoppe. The only thing bad about this hotel is that we couldn't stay a whole week -- it was that lovely. We would recommend Le Dixseptieme to all travelers to Brussels!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for two days in July 2012 and were very happy with Le Dixseptieme. There are both traditional and modern wings of the hotel. We chose the traditional wing and had a comfortable set of rooms up under the eaves. In addition to the generously sized bedroom/seating area, there was a small "office" space with desk and phone, and a well equipped bathroom up a short flight of stairs. There was also a sleeping loft, accessible by ladder that, if we'd been traveling with a teenager, would have been a big hit. (If we had traveled with small children, we might have chosen the modern wing.) We had a small balcony as well, no view, but handy for checking the state of the ever-changing weather conditions. The public rooms are handsome, the breakfast was generous, the honor bar was convenient at the end of a busy day and the staff were reserved but very helpful. The location is terrific, easy walking distance to the Central Station, just across from Galeries Hubert and near Grand Place and Rue de Boucher "restaurant row." We would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the traditional wing are accessible only via a short flight of stairs. In fact, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is very conveniently situated if you want to walk around central Brussels or use the railway station to go to other cities across Belgium. It is quiet and cozy, though a bit oldish. The breakfast is ok, but do not count on the restaurant for dinner or lunch. Anyways, there are lots of places for eating and drinking around.
The rooms are small, but clean and fully equipped with everything you might need. take an apartment if it's within your budget... All in all, we were happy staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were only there for a 2-night stay on our way to Paris, but loved this hotel. Our room was in the "new" building and was actually a suite with a step-down "cave-like" media room with couch and large TV. Adjacent to that was a very large, luxurious bathroom with oversize spa tub. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was quiet, the staff helpful, and very good breakfast included in the price. Great location. Two minute walk to the train station to get the train to Brugge for a day trip. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: New building, 1st floor, room to left of elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Dixseptieme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dixseptieme

Address: 25 Rue de la Madeleine | Brussels, Brussels B1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Le Dixseptieme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dixseptieme Brussels
Le Dixseptieme Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Dixseptieme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.