We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world, but also run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Save Saved
You added Hotel a la Grande Cloche to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pl. Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 194 hotels in Brussels
Utrecht
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Old world, but also run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel rates in the center of Brussels are prohibitive and this place is comparatively decent. For the rates that they charge, the place is too run down and smells too much of mothballs. The location is great, however, and the place is clean and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    224
    63
    9
    6
See reviews for
75
158
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Have just returned from a break in Brussels staying at La Grande Cloche. Excellent location not far from the Grand Place. Good sized room, clean and good facilities. Very pleasant and helpful staff.Hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel was very centrally located and was within walking distance from Midi Brussels the main train station if u dare brave the traffic which can be heavy. Nice restaurants nearby and the great plus point is that it is near the Grand Place. Room was spacious enough and most of the receptionists were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Friendly manager, we arrived early and although the room was not ready we were able to leave our bags in the room. Convenient location for site seeing in Brussels and great for us as it was half way between Gare Midi (Eurostar) and the centre.
Breakfast was a simple buffet for about EUR 8, the room over looked a small square, with a couple of bars, no problem with noise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel was a straight road down from the Manneken Pis statue and Grand-Place. I was only in Brussels for a night and the convenient location enabled me to walk to the main attractions without much hassle.

The room I got was a decent size with a spacious bathroom but the water pressure was alright though it can be better. The hotel is still using the traditional knob and key system and the keys are rather bulky so you'll have to leave them with the reception if you're going for a walk.

On a whole I was satisfied with my stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who's on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location! We saw all the sites on foot. Although there is no bar at the hotel there are a couple opposite. Our room was very comfortable. It was a bit dated but clean and in good condition and the bathroom was nice; comfy bed too. English channels were available on the TV and there was a hairdryer.
For anyone who booked a room without private facilities, there were hairdriers on the landing and an ironing board. The staff spoke excellent English and were very pleasant.In all, the hotel was better than I expected for the price we paid. The lobby was welcoming, giving an immediate good impression. We will use this hotel again if we return to Brussels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed in a double room for one night on our way from Paris to London. The location was great, two traffic lights away from Grand Palace. It,s a about one hundred yards from a metro station. If you don't have large bags, you can take the metro from the midi train station to the metro (Annessen), only two stops. Otherwise just get a cab for 7 to 10 euros. The hotel staff were very helpful, no problem with English. The room was 'huge' by European standard, as large as you'd get at a Comfort Inn or the like in US. Moreover, the price was great compared to Paris and London.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel a la Grande Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Address: Pl. Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
#35 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel a la Grande Cloche 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel a la Grande Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Grande Cloche Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel a la Grande Cloche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.