We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Save Saved
You added Hotel a la Grande Cloche to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pl. Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 194 hotels in Brussels
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fairly average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed here for only one night and it was not especially memorable. Upon our arrival we were greeted very brusquely; not rude but not welcoming. Our room was clean for the most part except that the bathroom floor hadn't been swept and there was hair everywhere. The beds were quite comfortable and the hotel itself was fairly quiet. The street was not but that was to be expected as the hotel is on the edge of a large traffic circle. It was about a 10 minute walk to the Grand Place and the walk was okay as long as you stuck to the main streets. Overall it was an okay hotel in an okay location with okay service... average all around.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    224
    63
    9
    6
See reviews for
75
158
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
clwyd
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A good value hotel with a wide choice of rooms and prices offering a close but not too close easy walk to the Grande Place and other sites

Excellent multi lingual staff and a good choice of eating places etc near go hand

Will keep your bags in storage and close to the tram line just two stops from the Hare de Midi. Lle rhesymol iawn agos ir canolfan hanesyddol. Croeso cynnes iawn yma bob tro

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is well located between Gare Midi and the Grand Place. All shopping areas are also in easy walking distance, well, in winter, its cool (-8 deg C) for walking.
The check-in by a young man was straight-forward and pleasant enough. There is an elevator which is better than pulling luggage up 2 floors.
The room (No:33) faced the square and street and got the setting sun which was nice for winter. In summer, it would get hot as there was no air-con in the room to cool things down. All room facilities worked well and there is free wifi in the room but tended to cut out at times
The walls are a bit thin and we could hear coughs, sneezes and hair dryers going off at 8am from the next room. That was the end of a planned sleep-in!
We were only there for 1 night and when we walked out at 9.30 the next morning to go for a quick walk and check out at 11am (the check-out time), an elderly guy in the front office was very persistent in trying to get us to pay up and vacate the room immediately. In the end we paid up but refused to vacate the room till we came back from our walk. This was really disappointing to be harassed like this. In all our hotel stays in Europe on this trip, this is the only time something like this has happened. Wont be coming back here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We only stayed one night as it was our last night in Brussels. It it is not very close to either the Centraal or Midi Station if you want to walk but it is a short cab ride away from either station. It is about 10-15 walk to Grand Place (another 5 to the centraal station).

The triple room was a good size with a desk area, double bed and single bed. There was a toilet room and a shower/sink room within the room as well, both were spotless as was the room itself. The room we had was very quiet as it was at the end of the hall and not facing the street. There is also a lift which is very handy when you have alot of luggage.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The welcome, for a quite late arrival, was very reassuring: "We have been expecting you, Mr. R....". The employment of mature aged males as receptionists is an excellent idea and those I encountered during my stay gave good advice and directions.

My single room was small, even for one person but adequate for my needs. It was pleasantly but not stylishly decorated. The bathroom was adequate.

The breakfast was of a good quality though there is a somewhat boarding house feel to the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in late November. It is centrally located. Room was adequate for 3 adults whilst bathroom was large. Breakfast was served from 07.00 to 10.00 and was quite good. Staff was very helpful and when we needed to have our breakfast earlier than their scheduled time, they found no objection to accommodate us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here ... I booked a single with private bathroom for under 100E. I booked online and wasnt sure what to expect but thought the location was good.

The square the hotel is in is lovely

Well it is an old building and odd hallways but my room was great!! The bathroom alone was as big as the whole room I had at pension bella artes in san sebastian lol. Very roomy.

The floors seemed to slope a bit which felt odd ... but then the building has been there some time.

The area is very safe and active... such a quick easy walk to the amazing buildings of the grande place...

great little shops along the way

I walked from the train station...an easy walk but as a single female I felt a bit uneasy in the area by the station... Brussels is the first city I felt a bit wary in... but... nothing happened.... people were friendly... if you have luggage tho..take a taxi.... the train station is very large so of course there are 'interesting' people around it

The hotel staff were very VERY helpful and nice ... the room had extra touches like the coffee and sweets

very clean


it is a bit dated but i would rather this than paying 250E for a wax box in a poor location


This is a great hotel in a great location


great service and the bed was SUPER comfy !!!!



:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel a la Grande Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Address: Pl. Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
#35 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel a la Grande Cloche 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel a la Grande Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Grande Cloche Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel a la Grande Cloche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.