We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A CONVENIENT, PLEASANT PLACE TO STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Save Saved
You added Hotel a la Grande Cloche to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pl. Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 194 hotels in Brussels
Canberra
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A CONVENIENT, PLEASANT PLACE TO STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The welcome, for a quite late arrival, was very reassuring: "We have been expecting you, Mr. R....". The employment of mature aged males as receptionists is an excellent idea and those I encountered during my stay gave good advice and directions.

My single room was small, even for one person but adequate for my needs. It was pleasantly but not stylishly decorated. The bathroom was adequate.

The breakfast was of a good quality though there is a somewhat boarding house feel to the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    224
    63
    9
    6
See reviews for
75
158
53
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swieqi, Malta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in late November. It is centrally located. Room was adequate for 3 adults whilst bathroom was large. Breakfast was served from 07.00 to 10.00 and was quite good. Staff was very helpful and when we needed to have our breakfast earlier than their scheduled time, they found no objection to accommodate us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here ... I booked a single with private bathroom for under 100E. I booked online and wasnt sure what to expect but thought the location was good.

The square the hotel is in is lovely

Well it is an old building and odd hallways but my room was great!! The bathroom alone was as big as the whole room I had at pension bella artes in san sebastian lol. Very roomy.

The floors seemed to slope a bit which felt odd ... but then the building has been there some time.

The area is very safe and active... such a quick easy walk to the amazing buildings of the grande place...

great little shops along the way

I walked from the train station...an easy walk but as a single female I felt a bit uneasy in the area by the station... Brussels is the first city I felt a bit wary in... but... nothing happened.... people were friendly... if you have luggage tho..take a taxi.... the train station is very large so of course there are 'interesting' people around it

The hotel staff were very VERY helpful and nice ... the room had extra touches like the coffee and sweets

very clean


it is a bit dated but i would rather this than paying 250E for a wax box in a poor location


This is a great hotel in a great location


great service and the bed was SUPER comfy !!!!



:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A la Grande Cloche is located just 10 minuts walking far from the Gran Place and 20-25 from Gare du Midi, the biggest train station in the city. The surrounding area to the hotel is quiet and with a lot of restaurants, coffees and shops very near. The hotel is a little bit old, but very comfortable. There are some rooms with share bathroom and others with private bathroom. The rooms are spacious and clean. The recepcionist and all the staff working there are very friendly and they speak fluently many languages.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

- Dated but clean and spacious room and bathroom
- Room windows opened to the square but was reasonably quiet
- No AC and the room can get a little stuffy
- The 2 elderly gents manning the reception were friendly and helpful. Can't say the same about the young chap. Perhaps he was having a bad day (or 2)
- Free wi-fi
- Close to the main Central train station
- Close to Manekin Pis and Grand Place
- Close to laundromats and supermarkets/grocery stores
- Breakfast is extra but value for money
- Across the square a couple of cafe bars serve decent food and excellent beer
- Stayed 4 nights
- Might not stay again as we did not feel safe walking to and from the train station after dark

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room was small but manageable. We actually had a room facing the middle or back of the building so it was super quiet, which was great since we had the windows open. All of us slept really well. It was close to the Central train station and was not far from the Grand Place and Mannequin Pis. The staff was super helpful, but breakfast was not worth the 8 Euro. We stayed 3 nights and it was fine. I would recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel is 10mim walk from Grandplaza.Hotel has no own parking lot and I had to drive 30 min. around the area to find my car parking place.Room is dark and small. No value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel a la Grande Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Address: Pl. Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Brussels
#35 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel a la Grande Cloche 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel a la Grande Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Grande Cloche Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel a la Grande Cloche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.