We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel a la Grande Cloche to your Saves list
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pl. Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 197 Hotels in Brussels
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room was small but manageable. We actually had a room facing the middle or back of the building so it was super quiet, which was great since we had the windows open. All of us slept really well. It was close to the Central train station and was not far from the Grand Place and Mannequin Pis. The staff was super helpful, but breakfast was not worth the 8 Euro. We stayed 3 nights and it was fine. I would recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrbanL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kyoto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel is 10mim walk from Grandplaza.Hotel has no own parking lot and I had to drive 30 min. around the area to find my car parking place.Room is dark and small. No value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night and found the room was okay. When we walked in it still smelt of smoke and was in desperate need of airing. Apart from this we found the room clean, with a comfortable bed to relax on and an adequate bathroom. In our bathroom it took 5 minutes for the hot water to start even being warm.
The staff were quite helpful but their knowledge was not great...an example of this was somebody telling us the airport bus went at a certain time and when we got there the times he told us were completely different.
Apart from these few negative points the location was good. It was a 5 min taxi ride to the main train station and a 5 minute walk to the market square. Across from the hotel there were some good bars and restaurants which was handy for a quick drink and bite to eat.
Overall this was an okay stay especially for the value that it was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cstone12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for just one night but glad we chose it. Got a good deal thru booking.com for under $100 US. Close to the Central train station and about an 8-minute walk to the Grand Place. If you stay here try to catch a show at the nearby Music Village--it was great! Very nice and helpful front-desk staff, both the day and evening gentlemen. Comfortable, quiet rooms. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryll H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clwyd
Level Contributor
129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is on the very very edge of what might be called the tourist area of central Brussels.
Clean, decent and well run with a wide selection fbroom types...tofitball budgets. No a/c which might not suite ourvAmerican friends but a large fan stand in each room.

Staff are good and you can leave your bags ... Excellent cafes nearby so you do not need to take their breakfast at almost 8 euros a perso

Room Tip: A room at the top is best and facing the back. Small working lift or narrow stairs though
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RichardClwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked this for its low price and great location. We had no issues with safety. In fact, they lock the door from the outside (I believe after midnight) and they have someone to let you in all night. The location was amazing! We were able to walk every night to Grote Markt for our waffle cravings! It's your basic room, however we don't spend much time at the hotel. It's not glamorous but it is clean. It was everything you need, and we got a huge bathroom! Especially for Europe, it was a great size. They even still use real keys which was unique. Would love to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsbrittanymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful and were able to provide us with a converter when the one we had brought with us didn't work. The rooms & bed were comfortable and the bathroom was huge, which was a plus from the tiny bathroom we had in Paris. We were facing out towards the traffic circle and had a nice view and a great breeze when we opened the window, but at night if it was too loud, closing the window did the trick. Would definitely recommend it, as the price was great for the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.8 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#10 of 21 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
0.7 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
0.9 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#68 of 197 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aloft Brussels Schuman Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Berger
Hotel Le Berger
#8 of 17 in Ixelles
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 14 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 stars 3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a la Grande Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Address: Pl. Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
#25 Family Hotel in Brussels
#34 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel a la Grande Cloche 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel a la Grande Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Grande Cloche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing